We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's Perfect. Stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Canadian Girl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's Perfect. Stay here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed at The Place for our one-year anniversary for a week and it was perfect. After initially seeing the place and staying the first night we were crossing our fingers that there would be a cancelation so we could extend our stay.

Location: Perched in hills overlooking Sairee beach. Easy 10 minutes walk or 2 minute ride into town. We rented a ATV (quad) which made bopping around the island a breeze. Away from any noise or parties.

Service: Wonderful. Guy and Bex obviously really care about their guests. They have thought of everything you could need or want.

Amenities: Infinity pool = Amazing. Guy and Bex have gone the extra mile adding several special finishing touches such as: a stocked fridge/goody basket, iPod dock, robes, massive movie/tv show collection on hard drive, water filter, personal cell phone, flashlights etc...

Overall a truly special hideaway on a great island with tons to do. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPCE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    16
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
752
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stumbled across The Place whilst searching for accommodation on Trip Advisor and decided to google it... after we'd seen the first couple of pictures it was one of those "OMG...we NEED to stay here moments"!!!

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of our Thailand trip after having 'roughed' it in basic style beach huts for the majority of our holiday. Bex and Guy were absolutely amazing hosts and really have thought of everything. From the mobiles they give you with their numbers pre-stored, the filtered tap water, an emergency first aid kid, i-pod docking stations and the freshly laundered dressing gowns. It is very rare that something you've seen on the internet lives up to it's reputation once you see it in real life but this really had the WOW factor..and some!

The views are absolutely incredible and it's in such a tranquil setting. At night time you can hear nothing but the chorus of crickets and the odd Gecko here and there which are such relaxing sounds. We were also lucky enough to catch an absolutely amazing thunderstorm which we watched from the cosiness of our bed which again, was to die for...it was the first time we'd seen two pillows each all trip!!

Guy also went out of his way to hep us mend our broken suitcase and really is a knight in shining armour! After getting picked up from our previous accommodation, he appeared out of nowhere on his motorbike just to say "hi" and gave us a bottle of Evian each in the boiling heat - absolute life saver! He also took the time to come down to the pier with us when we left which is such a nice personal touch and again, was beyond helpful when we arrived.

We couldn't honestly recommend this place enough. 100% pure paradise!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma19782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

My husband & I stayed here for 4 nights in May '11 - to celebrate my 30th birthday. My husband had booked this all & I didn't know where we were staying until we arrived in Koh Tao and were met by Guy.
He had booked based upon Trip Advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. His words to me were "I didn't think the place could be as good as the reviews said it were" - "it was alot better"!!
The villa's have the perfect setting...close enough but far enough away from the centre. They are really well equipped - so much so that you never have to leave. Extensive selections of films, ipod dock, tv games etc & everything you need to chill out in the sun!

Guy & Bex were fantastic hosts and went the extra mile to make sure we enjoyed our stay.
We also did a day's diving which they arranged for us.

In summary.....I would love to return to Thailand...and would definitely come back to stay here & would most certainly recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday in the islands!

Guy & Bex - This was the perfect end to our holiday in Asia! Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine_JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

I have to say that i really had think about whether or not write this review as part of me wants to keep this magical island, along with 'The Place', just our little secret!

We spent 5 nights at The Place in May of this year. From the moment we stepped off the ferry greeted by a smiley-faced Guy, to our reluctant departure we were swept away by how perfect our getaway was. As we were doing our open-water PADI course we didn't spend too much time in the villa over the first 3 days but we did catch the amazing view from our patio every morning and relaxed in the beautiful room at night. With a big King-sized bed, LCD TV (stacked with movies by the way), comfy sofa area and a somewhat exotic bathroom the villa made our stay very comfortable and relaxing.

Guy and Bex have truly captured the essence of Koh Tao in their stunning villas. Thanks for a wonderful stay guys. We'll be back.....!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YaniandNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

The only bad thing that we can say about The Place is that we couldnt stay longer, unfortunately they were booked up.

Guy and Bex provide a 5 star service and make you feel super special. They have thought of absolutely everything from providing you with your own mobile phone to contact them for anything, you even have your own driver Mr Bear who picks you up and takes you anywhere for about 300 Baht. Make sure you get the Chef from Barracuda to come up and cook for you, yes thats right you can have your own private chef. People on the Island say that he is probably the best on the island so well worth it!!

Also have a private massage, this is beautiful whilst overlooking the amazing island of Koh Tao.

We really could go on about this place but dont want to say too much as others may flock there and I think its much better to keep this a hidden hideaway thats not even visable on maps!!!

Thanks Guy and Bex, we will see you both next year.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adamilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

Its taken me while but i felt like it was only right to wax lyrical about The Place. My missus and I spent 10 days in Villa 1. The Villa is perfect really, the bed was super comfy and the view was something else, the plunge pool was excellent, the tv system..... everything was great. What would make the whole thing that tiny bit better was for some speakers to plug your ipod into so you can listen to your music on the deck!
Koh Tao as an Island is what i wanted from a 10 day break. I particularly liked the cabaret show which showed off the beautiful array of Thai LADIES on the Island. The Island also has great restaurants, lots of things to do....we did a boat trip round the island with snorkelling and cliff jumping and the works. Recommended!
Guy and Bex are super sweet, Guy rang me up to see if we wanted any beers picking up for us because he knew the walk up the hill could be challenging with a crate of beers, little things like that go a long way with me, and that is just one example.
Make sure you rent a scooter and drive up the hill, great fun especially with someone on the back, will you make it? wont you? great fun!
We will be back!
Jon + Hattie

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baboonery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theplacekohtao, Owner at The Place Luxury Boutique Villas, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Hi Jon and Hattie

Thank you so much for your fantasitc review. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

You'll be glad to hear that we now have an ipod dock in both of our Villas so the next time you come you'll be able to drink those beers with some music!

See you both again soon.

Guy and Bex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

Thanks to Guy and Bex we've had an unforgettable honeymoon at The Place.

Simply everything was fantastic, from the private pool with awesome views, a cosey and huge bed, lovely kitchen to an even more lovely bathroom.

But you not only get lots of privacy, you also get an iphone docking station, a large flat screen TV with an on demand HD box showing the most up to date movies and a private mobile phone in case of any urgent requests. All for free!

Oh and by the way: the pickup from and to the pier is also for free.

Simply put: there was absolutely NOTHING to be not happy about.

Thanks again for an unforgettable stay!!!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tog_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
2.6 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Place Luxury Boutique Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Place Luxury Boutique Villas

Property: The Place Luxury Boutique Villas
Address: 15/4 Moo 2 | Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Place consists of nine luxury boutique villas, all with private infinity pools, that offer you total privacy and complete relaxation. The resort nestles charmingly in the hills above Sairee, close enough to be convenient for restaurants, bars, shops and the longest beach on the island, but far enough away to savour the tranquillity and refreshing breeze that comes with being in the hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Place Luxury Boutique Villas Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing