We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to take your OW dive certificate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sairee Cottage Resort
Ranked #7 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed 6 nights in bungalow, and it was just great. The resort is located just outside the main party street so you can sleep quiet away from all the noise. Our instructor Neil was the best and with an awesome group we had a great experience!

Room Tip: If you go for the more expensive bungalows you might get a bit softer bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjahaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 632 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

The room was great. nothing fancy but great for the price. Perfectly located. its central to all the bars,restaurants, and shops but off to the side so that its quiet at night. My wife and I checked in and didnt put on shoes for 3 days. the dive shop is the best!! we took our advanced open water course there. Our instructor, Amanda, was the coolest!! (and easy on the eyes, sorry, i dont mean to be creepy but she was cute, sue me.) She was super helpful and made us feel comfortable and safe on all the dives while also teaching us a ton of stuff. The other dive instructors were a blast! after we completed out course there was a raucous night out with all the instructors and students. super fun! dont let any of them convince you to drink the "Carpet Bomb", though. deadly stuff. All the staff were very helpful. I can not recommend this place enough!!! we will be returning!

Room Tip: the blue cottage was just right for two people. get the ac.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morgansh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed in Sairee Cottage for 15 days, a nice place to stay on Koh Tao, probably even the best in my opinion. Started with a try-dive on which David T was my instructor. He did a great job, as I took the Open Water course after that experience. OW was given by Nat, and Lionel of course, both great guys.
The cabin we had was great and clean, had everything we needed. Staff is very helpful and you can even drink a beer or a local cocktail with them at night. I recommend this place to everybody and I'll definitely come back here for my advanced diving certificate and meeting great people again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was an excellent resort but didn't receive such a review due to its downfalls.

I stayed with my boyfriend in the a/c poolside room. My parents stayed in the room next door. The walls between the rooms are so thin that I could here my parents having a conversation at normal speaking levels. I could also hear the people on the other side of us. WIFI doesn't work all the time (cuts off around 10pm till the morning). Although it didn't bother me the noise from the path outside is very loud. Extra info: When at the pool food and drinks from their restaurant cannot get charged to your room.

Other than this the resort is beautiful and there is a buffet breakfast at the place next door (20m away). The rooms are clean and staff is more than helpful! :)

Room Tip: Get the poolrooms at the back (less noise)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights over New Year whilst doing our open water PADI. We had to have one of the white rooms by the poolside as all the bungalows were fully booked except for the most basic free ones with no air con. The poolside rooms were quite pricey - around £40 per night with a dive discount (breakfast not included.)

The positives:
Room was comfortable if on the small side, comfy bed, TV (not that we watched it!) and a fridge with complementary water each morning.
Location central on Sairee beach, everything you need in very easy walking distance.
We found the food at Sairee Cottage restaurant good, service was slow but this was the case everywhere on Koh Tao - it's just a chilled place! Nice place to hang out and watch the sunset over the beach.

The negatives:
Room didn't get cleaned or even swept the whole time we were there (nearly a week!), no fresh towels and no safe. We wouldn't expect the room to be cleaned every day necessarily, but being a beach resort sand gets everywhere and a mid-stay clean would have made a big difference.
The central location means you get a lot of noise - motorbikes, people out drinking, and a staff cockrel that roams the resort and woke us up at 4am, 5am, 6am, 7am... every single morning!!!

The affiliated dive school and instructors were great, although neither of us were able to finish the PADI course (I'd recommend doing a fun dive or at least a pool dive before committing to the PADI if you're nervous). We loved Koh Tao and Sairee beach, and will definitely be back, but I doubt we would stay at Sairee Cottage again and I wouldn't recommend staying there unless you're diving with them. If you do stay, try and get a bungalow as these are better value for money.

Room Tip: The poolside rooms aren't worth the extra money - get a bungalow if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenfromBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Lucky I have signed up in the Sairee Cottage diving club, where I first started my 4-day open water course with Uncle Neil. I had a great time with my teammates. We had a basic training in the first 2 days and 4 different location dives in the next 2 days. Neil is always very patient and so funny. That really made us relax and enjoy a lot. Though I am not a native English speaker, I could understand 95% following Neil's lively explaining.

I would recommend to take the diving course in Sairee Cottage more than to live there. I will go back in several months to take the advance OW course!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bing Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The hotel was basic but we knew this upon arrival, what we didn't anticipate was the level of noise coming from the rooms next door, very thin walls didn't help.the rooms don't have a safe and the wifi cuts off at 10pm (local time) there seemed to be a part going on next door to us from 2am until 5am, I didn't sleep a wink, tried to inform the receptionist who seemed to laugh it off and said they would be checking out. The next night came and they were still at it, luckily we managed to speak them to tell them to tone it down. Although it was a little quieter you could still here basic conversations due to the thin walls. At 3000 baht per night it was quite pricey.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattRowe27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,531 reviews
1.6 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sairee Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sairee Cottage Resort

Address: 10/1 Sairee beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: $14 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sairee Cottage Located in the middle of Sairee beach surrounded by tropical garden and beautiful Sairee Beach. We offer different type of room that suit all budget such as .. Bungalow start from 700 THB Standard bungalow Garden room Triple room bungalow Family Bungalow Beach front Bungalow Poolside room Resort Facilities 2 Main Swimming pool Sairee Cottage Restaurant Butter cafe and bakery Butter Ice cream ( Gelato ) Pool bar day bed playground parking area etc.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sairee Cottage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sairee Cottage Diving Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing