We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sairee Cottage Resort
Ranked #7 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The resort has accommodation in various priceranges. We chose the beachbungalow, which was the most expensive: 2000THB per night. For aircon you need to pay an additional 500: ridiculous! The - very basic - bungalow is located on the beach and has a beautiful oceanview and a nice deck with a hammock. The back of the bungalow is situated right next to the street, which made sleeping nearly impossible: scooters and drunk people pass by until the early morning. Terrible when you have to get up at 6.30am to do some morning dives. The diveschool was really good. Well organised and with a nice staff. We still remember Rachel's laughter :-)! The restaurant was really gorgious! Great food and great to hang out, relax and watch the stunning sunsets.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (632)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 632 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2012

My friend did a diving course here, so we got our room free (even though I wasn't diving!). We had one of the basic terraced bungalows towards the back. Good room, nice little balcony bit out front too. Slightly annoying thing was that the bathroom wasn't completely enclosed to the ceiling (seems common in Thailand), so privacy was a little hard. The restaurant is okay, we mostly went next door as the staff were far nicer. Overall, great place to stay, just be careful with the restaurant! (my friend loved the diving course too)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Our objective while in Koh Tao was to get our diving certification. We couldn't have been more happy with Sairee Cottage. Because we booked a room to coincide with our Open Water course, we were given a discount. Even after paying a small fee to upgrade to air con, it was pretty reasonable.

As for the allegedly "rude" woman working the desk...she was nothing but nice and accomodating to us. We were actually surprised, given what we had read prior to arriving.

The room was nice and clean. The location of the entire complex is fantastic...a few minutes' walk from restaurants and bars. The in-house restaurant, however, was great, with cheap meals and reasonably priced Chang.

As for the diving, it coulnd't have been better. Laura was our instructor, and she was the best. She took our group and helped us put aside any fears we had. She was patient, approachable and confident...all the qualities you'd want in an instructor. She taught us the confined-water skills and before we knew it we were on our open-water dives.

We had looked forward to getting our Open Water certification in Thailand, and we weren't disappointed in Sairee Cottage. In fact, we spent the next two months recommending Laura and Sairee Cottage as we made our way south through Thailand, then Indonesia, Australia and New Zealand.

The combination of cheap prices and the chance to learn to dive in some of the clearest waters in the world makes Sairee Cottage a great choice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ja228299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

My friend and I did a fantastic 4 day open water course at the Sairee Cottage Diving. Our instructor Sarah Flynn-Campbell was really great at teaching us all the theory and diving skills in the water. I actually felt a bit nervous about going diving but Sarah really managed to make me feel relaxed and comfortable in the water. A great thing about diving at the Sairee is that the diving groups are pretty small so you pretty much feel that you are having your own private instructor. When my friend and I did the Open Water course we were actually the only two guys in the group which made it possible to have things repeated whenever you wanted. It really was a fantastic world down there with loads of corals and fish. So if you have ever had the slightest thought about going diving, don’t think any more. Go dive. NOW.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed here for 2 days in February while visiting Koh Tao. The property is definitely beautiful and well maintained. Food at the resort restaurant was good. We had great service from all staff we dealt with. We stayed in the beachfront bungalows and it was spectacular. We visited neighbouring properties. Some were decent but some others I wouldn't dare staying at. You're definitely making a good decision if you come here. Close distance to a beach bar. In the vicinity of stores, restaurants, tour operators. A decent 20-30 minute walk on paved walkway to Centre town/pier.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeenThere01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The Diving instructors at Sairee cottage are all very friendly and helpful. My friend and I were a bit nervous about diving, but our Instructor Sarah Campel (whom I would like to recommend!) made it a breeze by making our dive experience safe, fun and exciting. When you dive at Sairee cottage, you do not get crammed into giant teams, we had one instructor for two persons. My friend an I visited Sairee Cottage and the stay there was very pleasant. The standard of the rooms is very reasonable for the price and we found them to be very much in tune with the Koh Tao atmosphere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mads B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Loved my stay! Stayed here for a couple of dive courses and enjoyed it! I would recommend this place if you want to have good dive instructions and I cool time!

Thank Levijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,531 reviews
1.6 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sairee Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sairee Cottage Resort

Address: 10/1 Sairee beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: $14 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sairee Cottage Located in the middle of Sairee beach surrounded by tropical garden and beautiful Sairee Beach. We offer different type of room that suit all budget such as .. Bungalow start from 700 THB Standard bungalow Garden room Triple room bungalow Family Bungalow Beach front Bungalow Poolside room Resort Facilities 2 Main Swimming pool Sairee Cottage Restaurant Butter cafe and bakery Butter Ice cream ( Gelato ) Pool bar day bed playground parking area etc.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sairee Cottage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sairee Cottage Diving Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing