We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good diving and good prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sairee Cottage Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sairee Cottage Resort
Ranked #5 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good diving and good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

We have stayed at the Sairee Cottage 3 years in a row, when in Koh Tao. My husband took his diving cert June 2011. The instructor, diving and location were great.

The prices are good especially if you combine diving cert. The cottages are basic with hot water, fridge, tv and aircon or fan. One year we stayed in a cottage right on the beach and we didn't need aircon due to the breeze. It was a bit noisy though so maybe a cottage further in is more advisable.

Good bar/reastaurant which is right on the beach.
The staff in both the restaurant and reception are very friendly and give good service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    177
    54
    32
    18
See reviews for
48
246
63
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

We didn't stay at Sairee Cottage so I can't comment on the accommodation. However, we did our PADI Open Water course here which I really enjoyed. Our instructor was pretty excellent and all the other instructors / dive masters were really friendly, knowledgeable and helpful too.

Sairee Cottage definitely has a good vibe about it!

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ganesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ban Ko Tao, Chumphon, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

My boyfriend and me took SSI Open Water course and we had a great experience..the classroom was really cool and we had our first practice in the sea and not in the swimming pool which is great...our instructor was really good and friendly and we had a lot of fun...we got 5 nights free in the basic bungalows, which are quite ok and are set in a beautiful garden 15m from the beach...the restaurant serves excellent food for a very decent price....the only thing we didn't like was the fact that after we finished the course we wanted to chill out for a couple of days before we went diving again, but our bungalow was soon "booked...however this is a diving oriented island and I would say most if not all diving places work like that...and yes, as someone already mentioned the girl at the reception is really rude and wouldn't even let us leave our backpacks at the reception for a couple of hours until we find new accommodation....but other than these minor inconveniences I would definitely recommend the place :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelingecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at Sairee for 5 nights and booked a bungalow along with an SSI Open Water Course for the first week of our honeymoon. The bungalow was nice- very basic with hot water and AC but with a comfortable bed and nice porch- it was well worth the 800 THB/night discounted rate we received. It was quiet clean and comfortable- the property was well maintained and the dive shop and school were brand new- all in a great location in Koh Tao walking distance from the night life and restaurants. The Sairee Cottage restaurant had recently been remodeled and the food and service were excellent- it was one of the nicest places on the beach for a drink or meal! Looking at other dive resorts on the islands... Sairee offers the best of the best and at great rates.

The SSI course was a great experience as well. We got lucky with a class of 4 and great instructor... and even had 3 Dive Masters go out with us for our first confined dive. The entire crew at Sairee were really helpful and positive and took us on some great dives... although the visibility conditions weren't always the best since it was storming a bit. I got to dive with my husband for my final 2 dives and we brought home a great video and lots of great memories.

I would highly recommend Sairee to anyone visiting Koh Tao... whether for diving or just a few days on the island for snorkling, massage, and relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hip_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

First of all, the diving there is very nice, the teacher I had was very nice too. But thats about it. We rented a room for 1700 bath a night and ended with 1700 mosquito bites a night. All jokes aside, I had 100 bites and my girlfriend at least 50. It is ridiculous. Couple of days we didnt get any hot water and front desk girl is rude. Im not someone who complain about hotels, but for me to have a hard problem to get hot water, getting bite 100 times by mosquito and having to deal with a rude receptionist, doesnt make me feel like going back at all. If it wasnt from the diving, my rating would be at Terrible. Im in another part of Thailand right now trying to recover from all those mosquito bites lol. Im sure you can find a good diving staff anywhere else at the same price with better quality.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodfella101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Booked 3 bungalows here for a group trip right after the new year. They were all nice, basic bungalows in a beautiful garden setting, just off the main "yellow brick road" in Sairee Village. Half our group did certifications and half did try dives and everyone has great experiences thanks to the dive staff that went out of their way to make sure we had a good time.

My partner and I were even lucky enough to have Sarah take us out for essentially private instruction which was a really nice way to get our Open Water Certification as she was a friendly & patient instructor and laughed at all of my stupid jokes. My partner unfortunately fell ill towards the end of the process and was unable to finish, however Sarah wrote her a detailed referral that she can take to a dive school further along in our travels without having to start from scratch.

All in all, an awesome experience and would recommend to anyone looking to dive for their first time or get a PADI or SSI certification while in beautiful Koh Tao.

Room Tip: Garden bungalows are cheaper, beautiful setting, and removed from the main road, so there is no nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeswisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

I booked my stay here in Koh Phangnan and payed 9000 Baht (approx 180 english) and got a ferry over to Koh Tao, taxi to/from piers, Fan bungalow (basic but very clean and in great location) and an PADI open water course. Unbeatable value in my opinion.
Scuba group was a little big (6 people - although they would of done it with only four of us had we asked), and visibility was poor (3-5 meters) but instructor Neil was the perfect dude to learn how to dive with, I wish I had time to do my advance divers while I was there.
My girlfriend could not finish the course and was only charged for what she done, which I thought was very nice of them and just shows the friendly nature of the resort.

Room Tip: Backpackers will be more than fine in a fan bungalow, if you are on holiday, maybe look into paying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJno41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.9 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
0.5 mi away
Koh Tao Cabana
Koh Tao Cabana
#11 of 135 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sairee Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sairee Cottage Resort

Property: Sairee Cottage Resort
Address: 10/1 Sairee beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sairee Cottage Located in the middle of Sairee beach surrounded by tropical garden and beautiful Sairee Beach. We offer different type of room that suit all budget such as .. Bungalow start from 700 THB Standard bungalow Garden room Triple room bungalow Family Bungalow Beach front Bungalow Poolside room Resort Facilities 2 Main Swimming pool Sairee Cottage Restaurant Butter cafe and bakery Butter Ice cream ( Gelato ) Pool bar day bed playground parking area etc.. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sairee Cottage Diving Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing