We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay food, convenient location”
Review of cafe del sol

cafe del sol
Ranked #21 of 181 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, French, Pizza, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: cafe del sol is the first french restaurant since 1999 in koh tao. Pizzas, steaks and grilled fish specialities, Cafe del sol is well recognized for its excellent food. It's a hot spot for gourmet lovers from around the globe, Cafe del sol is an earthly paradise of pleasure and taste. The french/italian chef puts his 20 years of experience at your service at reasonable prices.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Okay food, convenient location”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

The meal we enjoyed was okay, nothing special. Expect European cuisine at reasonable prices. Location downtown is a big plus. Friendly service.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Giant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    248
    102
    30
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
170 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice place for a tastefull bite”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Nice place for a tastefull bite, open all day. Friendly staff and quick service. We had a nice diner at Cafe del Sol, the only disapointment was the wine. But it's hard to find a nice bottle of wine in any restaurant around Koh Tao.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KristaTheNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
94 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Friendly and always busy”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

By far the most switched on and friendly staff on Koh Tao! We enjoyed our breakfasts here every day; the menu is extensive and the staff are really efficient.
The place is always full with a cosmopolitan atmosphere; great for people watching. The pizza and pasta were tasty too.
Just up from the main pier in Mae head! Recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janeywhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is just after the island pier. A place of great laid back atmosphere with many divers and back packer customers. If have time to kill waiting for your boat ride this is a place to relax and have a drink. We had a pizza which I think is really good but the seafood spaghetti is a little bland.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PiiJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A garlic lovers paradise”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We both ordered the American Pizza which was delicious, however "chef" please moderate the amount of garlic you use it overpowers all the other flavours. We continued to taste the garlic all the next day.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DaveSchnauzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed cafe del sol also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to cafe del sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing