We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accomodating”
Review of cafe del sol

cafe del sol
Ranked #20 of 191 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: cafe del sol is the first french restaurant since 1999 in koh tao. Pizzas, steaks and grilled fish specialities, Cafe del sol is well recognized for its excellent food. It's a hot spot for gourmet lovers from around the globe, Cafe del sol is an earthly paradise of pleasure and taste. The french/italian chef puts his 20 years of experience at your service at reasonable prices.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Accomodating”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was very impressed, they made me a vegetarian pizza with no cheese on it and it was superb! Tried a lot of the veggie stuff and it was all very tasty and decent portion size.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dory342833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    260
    105
    30
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good for Some western food”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had lunch there was good, awesome collection of juices and smoothies.
Pizza was a bit undercooked or not so western.
But worth a place for any pastas and sandwiches.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not one good thing to say about the place....”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went here as it was recommended to us in our hotel handbook, it said 'excellent food, excellent service' so we decided to give it a go. Also there aren't too many restaurants near the pier... My girlfriend ordered a vanilla milkshake and they bought her banana but we just let it go because their English was poor. Then she ordered chicken and chips, probably the most basic thing to order and they bought it out with mash. When we told them they had got it wrong they accused us of being in the wrong and eventually took it back with an attitude. She eventually got it back cold with chips after I had finished my meal. Both our meals were disgusting and flavourless and for what it was, very over priced. There was also ridiculously loud building works going on in the restaurant which made it very unbearable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Cupcake1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertoKohTao, Propriétaire at cafe del sol, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
hello,
I appreciate your comment and thank you let me know so I can Still improve the service and quality of my restaurant.
in future please contact the manager
to settle the problem immediately than post a comment.
99% of my clients are very happy to eat here and it is not always easy to find perfect staff speaking english same you as in a small island like Koh Tao
please accept my apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best in Koh Tao”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I went to this cafe while on holiday in Koh Tao. I ordered some spaghetti and a seafood pizza for my wife. The pizza was amazing, best in Thailand, and the spaghetti was top notch too. The waiter was extreemly curteous and bought us some appetiser. i even noted that the toilets were clean, which is always a nice change in Thailand. Overall my experience at this restaurant was excellent and I will invite my friends there in the future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhys C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Expensive but tasty”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This place is not cheap but it does have some good food. I recommend the vegetarian salad and the vegetarian pizza. Free wifi also.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank filmchick81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed cafe del sol also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to cafe del sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing