We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were in the Hotel not the hostel”
Review of Khun Ying House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Khun Ying House
Ranked #29 of 79 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Which was great (can't comment on the hostel) at the end of Sairee Beach so quite quiet but really close for breakfast/dinner/beer to go walkabout.
The room was ok - interesting arrangement where the walls of the bathroom don't reach the ceiling, so you have to be 'good friends'. The rooms all seemed to have a double and a single, which would have been quite cozy!
It was relatively cheap on an expensive island, so although we haven't paid this much since Bangkok 1100baht was probably ok, ensuite and A/C, fridge, water etc. The wifi was good until the last day when it seemed to give up the ghost, though possibly only for us as a helpful lady (poss the owner) came to the room to show that her smart phone was working, but hey, we were leaving.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 145 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Very good place to stay, very clean, bunk beds don't squeak and good location. The owner was very friendly and helpful, he gave me a bed as soon as one became free while everything e;se on the island was completely booked. Would stay again more than happily

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 623james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I had a room with A/C and a private batch room. It was clean, quiet. And the room had a Fridge and TV. There were communal cooking facilities, but I never used.

The staff were friendly and everything they organised went exactly as planned.

The location is good, and a short stroll from the happening part of town.

I never saw the hostel part, I think it is a short stroll away.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happychildhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I spent six nights at Khun Ying House. It is in a great location at Sairee Beach, close to 711, restaurants, bars, massage places, medical clinic and diving schools but located in a quiet part of town. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms and bathroom were very clean. We were very happy and would stay there again. The only downside was the private rooms do not have air-conditioning.

Room Tip: Choose a lower floor to eliminate noise from the stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

it was so close to the beach and lots of restaurants, the staff were really friendly and everything was clean and comfortable!! we shared a bathroom and it was always clean and the staff were very attentive!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginatoumazou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fantastic hostel, clean rooms with good air con and a locker, plug and light each next to your bed. Bathrooms always clean also. Hostel owner very friendly and helpful and all for 300 baht. When he couldnt put us all together ina dorm one night he found one in the hotel next door for us for the same price. Close enough to Sairee beach but not on strip so lovely and quiet at night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked this but when we arrived we were in a section named Good Dreams. The dorms were immaculate and each bunk had its own light and socket. The beds were sturdy so you couldn't hear the person above moving around. The air conditioning was excellent but at times maybe too good as some people were cold. The bathroom had both hot and cold showers and were clean. The 'lockers' weren't great but seemed secure enough and our beds were changed as and when we asked. The hostel is close to everything going on but it could do with having a social area for people to mix.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabbiKKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0 mi away
Good Dream Hostel
Good Dream Hostel
#27 of 148 in Koh Tao
46 reviews
0 mi away
Gecko Republic Jungle Hostel
0 mi away
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
#38 of 148 in Koh Tao
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Pranee Guesthouse
Pranee Guesthouse
#31 of 148 in Koh Tao
54 reviews
0 mi away
Infinity Guesthouse
Infinity Guesthouse
#7 of 79 in Koh Tao
100 reviews
0 mi away
Koya Guesthouse
Koya Guesthouse
#38 of 79 in Koh Tao
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khun Ying House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khun Ying House

Address: 15 / 19 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range: $15 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Khun Ying House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Khun Ying House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing