We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean place overall”
Review of Khun Ying House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Khun Ying House
Ranked #31 of 81 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Very reasonable prices, clean with air con, good showers and bathrooms, reading lights and lockers [supply own lock] with a small bar/breakfast cafe adjoining. The only issues are the location [down a bumpy dirt track off the main road] and the ... clientele that such cheap prices attract. I stayed only one night so avoided being woken up at half 4 in the morning again. The rooms could be safer as anyone can come into the dorm, day or night, which indeed they did, day and night. Comparing this internationally I'll say it is average, but probably very good for what you get in Koh Tao and Thailand.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, avoid the dorms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krazypath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 145 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2012

For the price they charge - they are definitely worth it. We paid around 300 baht per night for a dorm bed.

The beds were comfortable (far more comfortable than others on the island!). The toliets and rooms were always clean. The showers only offer cold water but that is to be expected on Koh Tao. There are holes in the bathrooms in which people can see through to the other bathrooms - this isn't a big deal unless you're a guy using the urinal.

The staff were reasonably friendly, and there's a little cafe next door that plays movies late at night. They also supply big lockers inside the rooms in which to put your valuables.

It's location is fantastic - it's literally 3 or 4 minutes walk to the beach and shops. If you're after a cheap dorm room - go here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwheezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We spent just one night here after arriving quite late from the delayed lomprayah ferry. The taxi driver took us here. The price was good and the room was fine. The owners are very friendly. The location is perfect, being near the beach and in Sairee village. The beach though, was disappointing with garbage everywhere.
We enjoyed our night here.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Was 350 baht for our stay during high season. Stayed in one of the dormitories which were very clean. The beds were comfortable and sturdy and you had a little reading light above each bed. The bathroom was cleaned regularly and had hot water.
Location was very convenient. About 1 min from the beach where everybody hangs out. Manager was very helpful with sorting out tickets and to give advice on where to go.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Only 300 Bhat ($10) per night and this hostel is brand new. The beds are sturdy and the lockers are big enough for the important things. The bathroom was perfect and frankly looked like one that would be in a Cape Cod cottage.

Only improvement would be to add curtains to the beds (which I told them!) because the little night light lamps in each bed are actually quite bright. They were constantly adding features to the room and little cafe while I was there, so perhaps this will get done.

Wifi is strong and fast. Laundry is a good price and was done well. Staff is helpful, while not entirely friendly, but that may have been the language barrier.

Very close to the main 7-11 in town. Very important because you visit that place at least once or twice per day!

Don't book travel through them though. I booked my night ferry two days in advance and paid more and DID NOT get a bed and had to sit on the floor. My friend booked through one of the agents in town a few hours before and they actually made the effort to book a bed for her and she paid less $$!

If I go back to Koh Tao, I'm staying here!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emfletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Well located, quiet and comfortable. Could do with some maintenance, but nothing mayor. Toilets were always clean, and service was very friendly and helpful. Kitchen doesn´t have much equipment so don´t expect to be able to cook something for yourself, but having all these cheap restaurants around, you don´t need to. Water was put in the room every day, which is a plus!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MairanJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank mael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0 mi away
Good Dream Hostel
Good Dream Hostel
#24 of 157 in Koh Tao
52 reviews
0 mi away
Namhasin House
Namhasin House
#21 of 81 in Koh Tao
29 reviews
0 mi away
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
#39 of 157 in Koh Tao
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Pranee Guesthouse
Pranee Guesthouse
#32 of 157 in Koh Tao
57 reviews
0 mi away
Gecko Republic Jungle Hostel
0 mi away
MAR24 Koh Tao Hotel
MAR24 Koh Tao Hotel
#15 of 81 in Koh Tao
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khun Ying House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khun Ying House

Address: 15 / 19 Moo 1, Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range: $18 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Khun Ying House 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Khun Ying House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing