We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great diving!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goodtime Adventures, Koh Tao

Goodtime Adventures, Koh Tao
Ranked #11 of 89 Tours in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: SCUBA diving, Rock Climbing, Abseiling, Cliff Jumping, Hiking, Trapeze, Boat Cruises, UV night diving and snorkelling and Watersports - all under the same roof! Looking for some serious fun? Then Goodtime Adventures is for you! A one-stop-shop for adventure on Koh Tao, we are the only SCUBA dive centre that operates speedboat diving right off the beach. We offer instruction from try dives to pro level through both SSI and PADI, with maximum group sizes of four to ensure your comfort and safety. We are also the only Rock Climbing school in the Gulf of Thailand providing introductions, courses, beta and equipment hire. As well as single activity courses, we offer adventure combination tours with a range of our fun-filled activities all packed into half and full day itineraries. On location is the Goodtime Beach cafe and bar, offering western, Thai and Burmese cuisine, weekly BBQ's, film nights, quiz nights, curry nights, slack lining and sunset specials. Also on site is the Goodtime Beach Hostel offering a range of accommodation from luxury private AC rooms with beachfront balcony to AC dormitories.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great diving!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

One of the smaller shops on Koh Tao which definitely shows in the number of people and the ratio of insturctors/divemasters to customers on the boat. We never had more than 5-6 divers including instructors on the boat and you might well and up with doing a dive with just one instructor/Dm and nobody else. They also try to pick the dive sites and schedules to stay away from the crowds - which is definitely one of the most important things for diving on Koh Tao;)

What's also pretty cool is that they teach you new stuff even if your not doing a course. Course wise they teach you much more than they would have to to meet PADI/SSI standards to pass the course. So you actually learn quite a lot from these guys which definitely made me a better diver!

People wise they're also great and you can see that they are really enjoying what the are doing - which unfortunately can't be said about every dive shop/instructor. So apart from the diving we also had a great time on the boat as well as ashore.

I was diving with Linzi, Alex, Cam, Darran, Graham and Denis and they are all cool and skilled DMs/instructors. And once Adam has finished his DM he'll be as well;) So whoever you're diving with, you won't be disappointed!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MeikZehGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charly S, Manager at Goodtime Adventures, Koh Tao, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Awww, thanks for the lovely review. We loved having you as part of the family over the last couple of weeks.

We deliberately have mostly instructors on our dive team, and our divemasters are trained in-house so they are well versed in the ways of the Goodtimes! We think that just because you're not a paid up student on a course, doesn't mean you can't learn things so we're glad you liked that. I've passed what you said on to the rest of the team.

Thanks again for the great review, and particularly as you joined trip advisor just to review us!
Take care and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    811
    48
    5
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Baden-Württemberg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Frikkin' Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

What do divers wish?

- nice dive sites
- guides that know them to show You the best stuff
- flexibility
- few "others" in the water
- good vibe

What did we get?

- all of above and more =)

You really feel how much fun all the staff members have doing their job.

The small speedboat got us fast and easy to the sites we liked. The guide - fundiver - ratio never went over 1 on 3, so I felt secure and improved my diving skills big time due to all the good tipps and advice.

Climax: I met the big blue spotty fish - Whaleshark!

Special thanks to my instructors: Linzi, Dan, Cam, Dennis & Graham

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Conrad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charly S, Manager at Goodtime Adventures, Koh Tao, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thanks for your great review. It was a pleasure to have you dive with us over the last couple of weeks. I've passed your comments on to the rest of the team too. The big spotty fish was definitely a highlight for us too..... but there were lots of memorable dives with you guys.

We're glad you liked the smaller groups we have. Aside from just safety, for us it's also about giving you the best experience we can regardless of your level of training.

Happy diving in the meantime and YOU'RE frikkin' awesome!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Far from a 'dive' this is a great company”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Having planned our PADI open water with Goodtime Adventures we spent a good deal of our time on Koh Tao lounging around the GTA HQ which doubles as a restaurant-come-beach bar. The whole place has a great vibe and staff, the smaller groups that they cater for means that you really get an intimate experience when it comes to your diving instruction.

Our instructor Deano, what supremely helpful and a great laugh to boot - teaching us all of the skill and theory with a great attitude and aplomb. We got to do a shoreline dive within the first few hours of learning about the equipment, and all our subsequent dives were extremely enjoyable.

The staff's enthusiasm never seemed false and the food on offer (whilst somewhat dear) was all very good. Try the hot wings challenge for a fiery experience, or, more agreeably, the huge burger after a good couple of dives!

My friend and I also booked rock climbing with GTA which was run by Dave, an extrmeely accomplished climber. The climbing offerend some great views and a fun drive to boot, catering to a range of difficulites but tending towards beginnner (though this probably depends on the experience of the group).

There was always a good vibe at GTA in the evenings and they were very partial to some slacklining or other fun activities after a days diving.

All in all, a great companmy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank TimH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charly S, Manager at Goodtime Adventures, Koh Tao, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thanks so much for reviewing us. It was great to have you guys here and we're glad you enjoyed it. We love our beachfront location for exactly the reason you say... student divers can experience what it's like to dive on the first day of their course swimming off the beach right in front of the shop.

We're glad you enjoyed the climbing too. It's great to get to do something different on an island mostly known as a diving mecca. You really did get to do it all!

Thanks again for the review and we'd love to have you back with us again soon.
Take care and happy bubbles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing diving experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Just finished a few days of diving with Goodtimes and had the BEST time ever! Took the advanced course with Linzi, what a fantastic instructor. Went out diving with a number of the dive masters, who were all great, starting with thorough pre-dive briefing all the way through to thorough post dive briefing. Really impressed with everyone's enthusiasm for diving and extra effort to ensure we had the best experience. Apart from the awesome staff, felt extremely lucky as we zoomed past the massive boats to find our own private dive locations, with Max 4 divers in the boat (2 per master) or often just the two of us, plus dive master. Epic dives limited only by our air consumption. Felt like we were hanging out with great old friends who just love to dive. Thanks so much to Lindzi, Charly, Sara, Tim, Cam and Matt for making this an unforgettable experience! Plus the food in the Goodtimes restaurant is awesome. Try the Burmese Sampler!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwinsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charly S, Manager at Goodtime Adventures, Koh Tao, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for such a positive review, its great to hear you had such a good a time with us. We pride ourselves on taking a more flexible approach to diving, and the benefits - less divers, different dive sites and nice long dives - are just as enjoyable for us as for you! You were a pleasure to have on the boat - and in the cafe afterwards for our regular social sunset sessions. We love it when our customers become part of the Goodtimes family, and we get the chance to know you as people as well as divers. Congratulations on your advanced certifications, and we hope to see you back on Koh Tao at some point in the future. Until then, safe travels and happy diving :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So glad we found Goodtime!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had an awaome time at Goodtime! Both instructors and dive masters were great, they made us feel right at home and it was a great place to hang out after the dives. When we go back to koh tao we will definatly choose Goodtime Adventures again! /Sean & Alex

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charly S, Manager at Goodtime Adventures, Koh Tao, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for your review. It was a pleasure to have you with us and we're delighted you enjoyed the course. I've let the dive team know your comments - it means a lot. Thanks again and we're looking forward to seeing you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodtime Adventures, Koh Tao also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Goodtime Adventures, Koh Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing