We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but keep your receipts and don't ask for extras”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant
Ranked #69 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Ok, but keep your receipts and don't ask for extras”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at DD Hut for some days during our tour through Southeast Asia. The bungalows are a convenient 3 min. walk away from the main beach of Koh Tao situated on a small hill, most of them futuring sea view and a veranda with hammock. We stayed in a room for 400 THB and since we initially planned to stay longer, we got a great and truely flexible rate from the owner.

While our stay there altogether was definitely enjoyable some things just left a nasty taste. As an instance, when we asked whether we could eat at the bar overlooking the sea because the music in the restaurant was too loud, we were told this wasn't a problem but we had to pay a deposit for the plates since we had to serve food and drinks our own...?!

Unfortunately, the staff refused to pay back our key deposit at check out since we lost the receipt and they claimed that we didn't pay the deposit - nothing to prove from our side until now, but everybody else better keep the receipt.

We give a four star rating since we've been pretty happy in the beginning and they try hard to satisfy their guests. Never the less, those things simply shouldn't happen and to avert the suspicion one might profit from eventually lost receipts a duplicate kept by the hotel as usual in other places would probably make sense.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveltheworld34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    36
    13
    9
    25
See reviews for
15
47
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Varying style of rooms from budget to almost extravagant.
Clean and airy.
Only negative - when we took 3 rooms for the following day and paid deposit the price structure had changed when we got there. To be fair it worked out almost the same but there were about 20 mins of confusion until it was sorted.
Restaurant on site had closed for 2 months as it's the low season but with it being only a 10 min walk to Mae haad and 5 to north sairee this isn't a problem
Laundry we had done their smelt amazing

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yellowboxfish10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

Pros :
Good value for A/C bungalow close to water
Great food at resuaurnt
very chilled out atmosphere
Off the main tourist area so much more quiet but only 10 min walk to pier

Cons :
Bathroom a little average but ok by Thai standards

Conclusion :
After 2 weeks and 5 hotels in Koh Tao this was the most relaxing.
Good food,nice little community feel and friendly staff make staying here fun.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dodgy-Davey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wuerzburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Stayed in this little bungalow resort for one week. The rooms, restaurant and food was realy nice, not talking about the view at the sunset. Especially the personnel was very nice, this is why I felt like writing a review for this place. If u wana enjoy ur stay on Ko Tao: go to DD Hut.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ellimy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Koh Tao
0.1 mi away
AC 2 Resort
AC 2 Resort
#10 of 75 in Surat Thani
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#5 of 140 in Koh Tao
618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Simple Life Cliff View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Koh Tao Beach Club
Koh Tao Beach Club
#12 of 140 in Koh Tao
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Koh Tao Regal Resort
Koh Tao Regal Resort
#51 of 77 in Koh Tao
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant

Property: D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant
Address: Maehaad Beach | near Sairee Plaza, Koh Tao, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your D.D. Hut Bungalows & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing