We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but beautiful...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seaview Resort and Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Basic but beautiful...”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in August. I have to say that I find some of the reviews below slightly misleading as, although it is a pretty resort, it really is quite basic.

We stayed in one of the bungalows and, although they look beautiful in the pictures on the website, they really are just wooden bungalows with minimal facilities.

The resort itself is small and the staff are friendly. We ate breakfast in the restaurant each day and had one evening meal there, all of which were good quality.

Neil, who seems to be mentioned a lot in the reviews below, is a decent guy. However, I can't say that I felt he went "above and beyond", he just does his job. Some of the other reviews make him out to be an absolute hero! Maybe we caught him on a bad couple of days as he often gave me the feeling that I was asking ridiculous questions!

Anyway, the resort itself has a good location and you can walk into town in about 25 minutes. We did this a couple of times and walked back once - this is pretty scary, especially at night, so make sure you have a light/are wearing light coloured clothes so you can be seen by the cars/bikes.

Koh Tao itself is a lovely island and the snorkelling trip we went on was fantastic as it gave us an opportunity to see different parts of the island.

We also hired a motorbike whilst we were there and that was also a great way to explore.

I am not sure if I would stay at the resort again as it was a little too basic for the price we paid (which incidentally was the same as in Koh Phangan, but our resort there had a pool!). However, it was a pretty place to wake up in the morning and it was good to be away from the main strip of Sairee Beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlous85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    38
    21
    16
    11
See reviews for
19
107
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We ended up staying here just by luck, and has to be one of the best accomodation I have ever stayed in. As soon as we got out of the taxie the workers insisted to carry our bags, then when we got to reception they had a local fruit drink waiting for us.
For 1500 we got an amazing sea view bungalow with our own bathroom and balcony. It is only a fan room but to be honest you don't really need AC . Considering we paid 1200 at another resort along the main beach which wasn't nearly half as nice I would happily pay the extra 300 to have this room again!
There are some really nice restraunts just a sort walk along the beach and some really cool chilled out bars as well.
I would defiantly stay here again if I was to come back again and will be recommending to all my friends and family.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorenzgeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Though the group of bungalows is nice, we have been disappointed as we booked a superior bungalow that was completely different from the pictures we saw on hotel website. We stayed at bungalow n.11 that needs to be restructed (over all the bathroom) and was really old and decadent.

It's 15 minutes walking from Ao Leuk beach (with a steep road) so you need to rent a motorbike or you will be stucked in the middle of nothing.

We wanted a quiet place but this was really too much, except the noise of the cars.

The staff was really nice though and provided a pick up service from the pier to the hotel.
The restaurant and breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Don't book bungalow n.11
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelMagic2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewResortKohTao, Gérant at Seaview Resort and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 2, 2017
We renovated the rooms. Its true that you need a bike in Koh Tao if you want to avoid long walk under the sun. All the roads have been fixed so its easy to go around by bike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and despite a few minor communication problems due to a changeover of staff (forgot to pick us up from the pier etc.) things were soon sorted out when Scottish manager Neil arrived back on Koh Tao, I agree with the other reviewers who say he is really great - sorted all our problems out no bother!

The view is by far the most amazing part of this resort, the bungalows are set in a lovely little garden on the hillside. Although there is a bit more noise from motorbikes on the road, I would still recommend a bungalow at the front of the resort as you get an uninterrupted and un-overlooked balcony view (I think we stayed in number 6).

The room itself was quite basic and a bit cramped, but the bathroom was clean and the hammock on the balcony way great! The air-con worked well although the electricity seems to be less powerful at night and on a couple of the nights the wifi was switched off from around 10pm to 9am. The water pressure is also not great, and we did have a few problems with ants and giant geckos entering the room but it is a rustic resort on a hillside of a Thai island, so these things are a bit to be expected and were not really a problem!

The breakfast was good, although we often added in extras from the main menu as the free breakfast was a bit basic. The staff are friendly and keen to help. Laundry service is available.

The location was great for us as you are out of the bustle and noise of the main town, approximately 5 minutes drive to Mae Haad (where the pier is) and 10 mins to Sairee. We hired a motorbike, which made our trips around the island easier although the resort offers shuttle taxis for a reasonable price.

In terms of value, we benefitted from their 6 nights for the price of 5 deal so it was a good price, otherwise it might have been a bit expensive for the experience as a whole.

All in all, it was a beautiful place to spend our holiday, rustic and peaceful with a stunning view.

Room Tip: Although there is a bit more noise from motorbikes on the road, I would still recommend a bungalow a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackbirdjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Seaview Resort is about a 5 minute drive from the main ferry port in Mae Haad. You will need to drive or get a taxi as it is up some pretty steep hills, but it is worth it!!
My boyfriend and I stayed in bungalow 6 and the views were beautiful!
The place itself is a little run down and could do with an update, but it didn't affect our stay at all. The restaurant serves gorgeous Thai food and the staff and management are so friendly and helpful.
Seaview is about a 10 minute walk from the private beach of Aow Leuk which is a great place to snorkel. Whilst this beach is a pretty steep climb on the way home, there are bikes available to rent from the hotel (we walked it-it's not that tough).
Mae Haad and Sairee beach all well worth a visit, taxi from the hotel is cheap and reliable.
We had an amazing stay at Seaview and were sad to leave.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmaf0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

First thing is the Scottish guy, he is great, a lot of help, no complications, very relaxed :D. Also other people from the resort are just great. It is on a hill slope and 10 min walk from the best beach for snorkeling. Some work would need to be done however on the bungalows. The bathroom could be a bit cleaner. Also toilet seat was broken and shower pressure was low. Nice view from the bungalow on the ocean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spanc2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Fairly good place overlooking the southeastern coast of Koh Tao. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the restaurant was pretty good too. The bungalow was okay, but a little dingy, hot, and lacking a bathroom door. Would I stay here again? Probably not, if only because of the distance to the beach, which is a very steep 10-15 minute walk downhill to what appeared to be a private beach. If you've got transport, then the hotel is a nice one to stay at - if only for the resort's manager, who was very helpful and accommodating.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phobophore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,219 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
648 reviews
1.3 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
942 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Resort and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Resort and Restaurant

Property: Seaview Resort and Restaurant
Address: 52/1 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview Resort and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family-run resort and restaurant offering stunning views across the Gulf of Thailand from Aow Leuk and Shark island to Koh Pangang and Koh Samui. Our rooms are traditional style wooden bungalows set in large tropical gardens, with a popular restaurant a bonus for our guests. We are close to all the main beach areas of Koh Tao but far enough away to offer some peace, space, and tranquilty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seaview Resort and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing