We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me. To remote. Dirty rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seaview Resort and Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We booked this place due to price, reviews and away from busy area.
What a mistake.
The busy area is relaxed in the day and early evening. Later I bet it can be loud.
The room was old, damaged flooring, empty crisp bag in light shape and just felt unclean.
Because it is so remote and in the hill side we had visitors to our room.
First there was ants all around the top of the walls. At night we thought we had geckos outside only to find two arguing with each other on our bedroom wall.
We booked out the next morning and stayed in the main beech area about 300m from centre. Was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zackattard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeaviewResortKohTao, Gérant at Seaview Resort and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2017

Our resort is located in a quiet part of Koh Tao. We are sorry for the bad memories but we renovated rooms and our cleaners are making a good job. Geckos are everywhere in Thailand....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Seaview Resort and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 209 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2012

We are Italian but we write in English so as to advise as many people as possible.
First of all out of 11 nights, our room wasn't made up 4 times and twice we found the litter bin with the rubbish from the bathroom left over in the bedroom (as a consequence, ants everywhere).
When it rained, the rain dipped inside the bathroom. The bathroom had something like a "hole" between the wall and the roof and during the night (but also the day) everything could come in, worse of all not having a door between the bathroom and the bedroom whatever came in through the "hole" crept close to our bed.
Last but not least the room was incredibly tiny and there was no place even to move around or where to put clothes. And forget the restaurant! We had to go to the pier beacuse out of 4 times we had dinner there we never could eat what we ordered! The worst was when they served me a dish I didn't want to eat but at last I ate and when I finished they arrived with the right one and pretended I would pay twice!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I enjoyed so much staying at seaview resort for a few days in kho tao. After travelling in thailand for a while I can only recommend this place. The atmosphere is really nice and peacefull overthere and the staff is relax and friendly. Special thanks to P.Nok for her warm welcome and daily smile ! Bungalows are quite nice with a thai decoration and they are really, really, quiet, just a bit away from the beach and shops… The restaurant offers a large view on bays and island, and the food Is fine too. Nice place

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcothai80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

The good thing here is that the owner is a doctor, so if something happens to you she is not far away. I can highly recommend everyone this resort because of it's good food, peacefullness and beautiful nature. Just to let you know, if you are afraid of lizards, this is probably not the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I made the reservation at seaview resort because I didn't want to be on Sairee beach, the first night was perfect cause I had an upgrade the room was great then the next day I changed room for a standard one 800 bats for a very basic room. There wasn't even a door between the room and the bathroom say bye bye to your intimacy, the light didn't light up anything.
The staff is friendly thought.
It's far from everything

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwenaelle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at Seaview resort for 4 nights and had a good time there. For the small amount that we paid for a basic standard room, it was really good value. However, I would not go as far as saying that the room was luxury- it was very basic. I must also say that I did not like the non-flushing toilet, but unfortunately, non-flushing toilets are the norm on Koh Tao.

I really enjoyed the restaurant at the resort, which offers a magnificent view of the ocean. The menu was very diverse, the food was cheap and excellent tasting! I would definitely say that the restaurant made a significant contribution to making our stay there a happy one.

As other reviewers have said, the staff are also really friendly and helpful. They offer a significantly cheaper taxi service to various points on the island as well as two free transfers to the town every day at 8:45am and (about) 1:45pm.

***VERY IMPORTANT!! Make sure to call the resort the day before you arrive to arrange for one of their staff to fetch you at the pier (for free)***.
When I called the day before we arrived the manager warned me about the chaotic friendzy, of informal taxi drivers looking for business at inflated prices, that happens at the pier when newcomers arrive on the island. His advice was appreciated!

Overall, we had a great stay at Seaview resort. The room was ok, but not great. The restaurant and transfer service were top notch.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bwil001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I've tavelled fairly extensively and can confidently say this is one of THE best places I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The delightful mix of luxury and nature blend together in perfect harmony, mealy complimenting the gorgeous sea that you get to wake up to each morning. The staff are fantastic, they offer the finest of service in whatever they do, whether it be supplying information on the island or serving up food in the top star restaurant. If you stay at Seaview prepare to be impressed, it's the perfect hotel to experience this stunning island in the sun.

Room Tip: ask for room 10
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leevk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,513 reviews
0.6 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,273 reviews
1.2 mi away
In Touch Resort & Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Chintakiri Resort
Chintakiri Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Resort and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Resort and Restaurant

Address: 52/1 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range: $29 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview Resort and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family-run resort and restaurant offering stunning views across the Gulf of Thailand from Aow Leuk and Shark island to Koh Pangang and Koh Samui. Our rooms are traditional style wooden bungalows set in large tropical gardens, with a popular restaurant a bonus for our guests. We are close to all the main beach areas of Koh Tao but far enough away to offer some peace, space, and tranquilty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seaview Resort and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing