We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seaview Resort and Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 76 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Caen
1 review
“nice place”
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I enjoyed so much staying at seaview resort for a few days in kho tao. After travelling in thailand for a while I can only recommend this place. The atmosphere is really nice and peacefull overthere and the staff is relax and friendly. Special thanks to P.Nok for her warm welcome and daily smile ! Bungalows are quite nice with a thai decoration and they are really, really, quiet, just a bit away from the beach and shops… The restaurant offers a large view on bays and island, and the food Is fine too. Nice place

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcothai80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    38
    20
    16
    11
See reviews for
19
106
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

The good thing here is that the owner is a doctor, so if something happens to you she is not far away. I can highly recommend everyone this resort because of it's good food, peacefullness and beautiful nature. Just to let you know, if you are afraid of lizards, this is probably not the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I made the reservation at seaview resort because I didn't want to be on Sairee beach, the first night was perfect cause I had an upgrade the room was great then the next day I changed room for a standard one 800 bats for a very basic room. There wasn't even a door between the room and the bathroom say bye bye to your intimacy, the light didn't light up anything.
The staff is friendly thought.
It's far from everything

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwenaelle l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at Seaview resort for 4 nights and had a good time there. For the small amount that we paid for a basic standard room, it was really good value. However, I would not go as far as saying that the room was luxury- it was very basic. I must also say that I did not like the non-flushing toilet, but unfortunately, non-flushing toilets are the norm on Koh Tao.

I really enjoyed the restaurant at the resort, which offers a magnificent view of the ocean. The menu was very diverse, the food was cheap and excellent tasting! I would definitely say that the restaurant made a significant contribution to making our stay there a happy one.

As other reviewers have said, the staff are also really friendly and helpful. They offer a significantly cheaper taxi service to various points on the island as well as two free transfers to the town every day at 8:45am and (about) 1:45pm.

***VERY IMPORTANT!! Make sure to call the resort the day before you arrive to arrange for one of their staff to fetch you at the pier (for free)***.
When I called the day before we arrived the manager warned me about the chaotic friendzy, of informal taxi drivers looking for business at inflated prices, that happens at the pier when newcomers arrive on the island. His advice was appreciated!

Overall, we had a great stay at Seaview resort. The room was ok, but not great. The restaurant and transfer service were top notch.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwil001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I've tavelled fairly extensively and can confidently say this is one of THE best places I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The delightful mix of luxury and nature blend together in perfect harmony, mealy complimenting the gorgeous sea that you get to wake up to each morning. The staff are fantastic, they offer the finest of service in whatever they do, whether it be supplying information on the island or serving up food in the top star restaurant. If you stay at Seaview prepare to be impressed, it's the perfect hotel to experience this stunning island in the sun.

Room Tip: ask for room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leevk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

On arrival we were told that there were no rooms available, even though we'd booked through Agoda - not sure with whom the blame lies. Eventually got in - decent little hut; clean, big enough, hot shower (but no flush on the toilet!). Not ideal when travelling with a mate but very romantic for couples! It was about a 10 minute taxi ride from the main area, you wouldn't want to walk it. Restaurant served good food.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We came to Seaview Resort after reading the positive reviews here on Tripadvisor. The receptionist was very helpful in arranging a pick up from our previous hotel on Sairee beach.

We were planning to spend 6 nights there, to explore the quieter side of Koh Tao. We hoped for an aircon room but none was available for the first 2 nights. So we got a fan room.

Unfortunately the room was not very clean at all. The balcony was sticky, the hammock plain dirty. There were hairs, dust and many insects in the bathroom and even on the toilet seat. Since it's Thailand we expect a few bugs, but this bathroom had not been cleaned in a while. The bedroom itself was fine, clean sheets etc. and the view from the hut was really nice.

When exploring the area we learned that the beaches are quite far away. We weren't happy with the walking distance. You'd need a motor bike really, to get you there. Which we hired at the resort for 200 baht per day - the going rate on the island. The roads were pretty bad, especially to Tanote Bay.

In the end we decided not to stay at Seaview. We checked out that evening after having found a resort on the beach at Chalok Bay. We received a refund for half the room price which was very reasonable we thought.

I have awarded three stars but because we didn't actually sleep there it was hard to provide a rating.

Room Tip: We had a look at one of the a/c rooms and it looked a lot nicer, and cleaner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soozysooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Resort and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Resort and Restaurant

Property: Seaview Resort and Restaurant
Address: 52/1 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seaview Resort and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family-run resort and restaurant offering stunning views across the Gulf of Thailand from Aow Leuk and Shark island to Koh Pangang and Koh Samui. Our rooms are traditional style wooden bungalows set in large tropical gardens, with a popular restaurant a bonus for our guests. We are close to all the main beach areas of Koh Tao but far enough away to offer some peace, space, and tranquilty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seaview Resort and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing