We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It depends what you're looking for...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taraporn Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taraporn Bungalows
Ranked #102 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It depends what you're looking for...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed for five nights in the room with hot water for 600/night.

Basically, I didn't expect much. I just wanted a place to sleep at night away from mosquitoes and that was close to the beach. Two absolutes when I travel: if a place doesn't have bed bugs or cockroaches then I'm fine with staying there (have had bad experiences).

What we got was more than fine! Bed sheets weren't spotless, but hey they were changed and smelled fresh. No problems with bugs. Stayed in room 18, it's up on top and has a great balcony for reading on / just laying on the hammock. Location is five stars: if you're looking for a quiet bay to dive out of, has a chill local bar where you can sit out on the shore and drink and listen to tunes, and sits right on the water then this is it. Your toilet won't flush unless you ladle water into it. I recommend getting a room with hot water, you'll appreciate it when you're tired.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruinaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    7
    5
    5
    7
See reviews for
3
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I was really tentative to book Taraporn because of the reviews here, but it was great! It was so much better than expected. Let me just say that you're always going to find bugs and kind of awful bathrooms in Southeast Asia... If you are sticking at this price point, you're probably not going to get things like a hot shower and a western toilet.

The location was absolutely perfect... I loved the bar, Babaloo, and the dive center, Alvaro, that is located on the same beach. I've been in Thailand for almost 3 months and this was by far my best trip. I was also able to set up a long tail boat ride around some of the island (the water was too choppy in some of the more popular areas) through Taraporn. Our guide was awesome and took us to some beautiful areas to snorkel.

I'm planning on booking Taraporn again in October. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Lower numbered bungalows are a bit nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseChio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Picture your ideal resort. Clean, relaxing, cozy? At the very least...comfortable? Whatever lovely thing you're picturing, throw out all the good stuff and add cockroaches; THAT's Taraporn Resort (as it is labelled on-site).

The LOCATION: Chalok beach, at the south. Cab drivers will likely charge you 300 baht to get there (exorbitant), unless you can talk them down to 200 baht (still exorbitant), or you can walk the 3 kms. The bungalows are on the beach but depending which bungalow you have (they are along a bit of a stretch), you might have the insistent noise of the Babaloo bar pounding in your head for a good chunk of the night. Ask for one far away from Babaloo.

The ROOM: The bungalow was small with a bed, a mosquito net, a window on both sides of the bedroom (but no screens), a small dresser/end table with a broken mirror, and a bathroom in the adjacent room, 3 steps down, with a cold shower.

The HEAT: there was a fan, but that did little to lessen the heavy humidity and high temperatures this island experiences. "A" fan is simply not enough; maybe a few more would do the trick, but as it were, there was only one fan. Getting to sleep (and staying asleep in that heat!) was a challenge. Also, opening the windows with no screens meant hoping for a breeze and no bugs... in the end, we did open the windows due to the sweltering temperatures, but that helped little.

The BUGS: cockroaches, ants, and bed bugs. Every bungalow might have variations on this but this is mostly what we got.

The BATHROOM: the toilet was not an automatic flush toilet; it is of the water-pressure variety, so you scoop water out of a basin and pour it into the toilet until everything is gone (unless it blocks).

The SERVICE: no automatic service (towel replacement, garbage removal), toilet paper replenishing. I assume you have to ask the restaurant if you need more toilet paper.

OTHER: bring everything auxiliary you may need; soap, shampoo, etc. Also know that the locks are a little shoddy and there is no safety deposit box in the room. There is a hammock on the front porch, which is 100x nicer than the room itself, so spend your time...not in your room (if you still choose to go). It doesn't bother me but...there are huge lizards (and smaller ones) that might bunk in your cabin. Some people can't deal with that right over their head at night; fair warning if you are one of those people.

The good stuff: yes, it is right on the beach at the southern part of the island. Quieter than Sairee beach, the popular hang-out, though with less restaurant options close by. I almost gave this an extra star for the location, then I remembered that for every five cockroaches I had to kill, I had to subtract a star.

Room Tip: Further down the beach (away from where you enter; away from the restaurant) will be quieter, as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

The bungalows are nicely located, 2 steps away from the private beach (small, but enough to take a sunbath or go for a swim/snorkeling).
The bungalows are very, very basic. I was completely satiesfied with the bed, the moskito net and the fan. If you are on Koh Tao, you anyway spend as little time inside as possible. However, the bathroom was really awful. First of all, it was not very clean. Second, the shower was just annoying, hardly any water coming out and the little that came was smelly. The toilets look disgusting and have to be flushed with a bucket (not unusual in Thailand though).

Apparently, they will renovate the huts this year. Hopefully this will happen because the location is really nice.

Room Tip: They have some bungalows with a really nice seaview, some without. So maybe better choose a bungalow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aroundtheworldnow89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I was not only lucky, but very privileged to stumble across these bungalows in 2007, but I've also had the chance to stay here and even live here for a few months. The last time I visited was Feb 2012. The rooms are very reasonable compared to the Island prices. I must admit, if you are looking for luxury then this is not the place, but you can expect more than some places for 400B a night.

If you are a down to earth backpacker or want a Thai beach experience. Then stay here!!

The bungalows are fan rooms, with cold showers but I believe they are in an amazing environment!! They are all placed just near the ocean, with very secluded and private beaches. All have at least one or two hammocks on a large balcony.

I was a lone traveller of 22 when I first came here. I was made very welcome, but more so I always felt very safe...

It’s my personal Island paradise and I believe it’s my second home. I met many people over the many times I stayed here and I made many recommendations, and all of those people that stayed never had any complaint!!

Room Tip: room 1,2,3 12,13,14 are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a good place to go for a pizza if you are staying on the south coast of Koh Tao, but never, NEVER stay there. We headed there intending to stay for a few days before hitting the more lively Sairee Beach area but if we hadn't been so tired from the journey we wouldn't have stayed for 5 minutes. As it was we survived for one night and got the hell out.
The rooms are elevated huts by the water which sounds nice but is anything but.... The mattress was ancient and disgusting. The curtains were garish and disgusting. The hammock stank of the sweat of a thousand grimy backpackers. The mosquito net had holes in it, so of course I got bitten, and the fan neither rotated nor really blew much air. I asked twice for someone to come and look at it but no one ever did.
It was hot. It was dirty. It was miserable. It was the worst place we've stayed in in Thailand or anywhere else on the planet. But hey, the pizza's good.....

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MilesDyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
Koh Tao Tropicana Resort
#31 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Royal Resort
Koh Tao Royal Resort
#26 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodlawn Villas
Woodlawn Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Asia Divers Resort
Asia Divers Resort
#22 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
#42 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.0 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taraporn Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taraporn Bungalows

Property: Taraporn Bungalows
Address: 25 Moo 3 Haad Saal Chao | West of Chalok Ban Kao, Koh Tao, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 135 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing