We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pasta poor internet”
Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
Ranked #62 of 191 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: In the city of Mea Haad , located between Bangkok Bank and Seatran Pier , our Restaurant is open from 4 pm until....late.Buono Appetito
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good pasta poor internet”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Spaghetti Carbonara was excellent and the big chips I ordered on the side were good but the internet connection failed miserably and I did not return for another meal as other restaurants had good food and a decent internet.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mangonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arnaldo83, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for the review.
We happy you enjoy the food...
.About internet,,,,what to tell you ? Here is a restaurant , not an internet coffee.
Than we are on Koh Tao .....the connection is slow...of course.

Hope to see you again.
The Direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    84
    37
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“lovely italian food”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

lovely to have a meal here when you are fed up of eating thai! quite expensive but the food is really good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little taste of home”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

HIgh quality Italian food in a very pleasant setting, it comes recommended. The pasta was fresh and the prawns enormous, I would come back again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food - Very much satisfied my Italian craving.”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I had been craving good Italian food since arriving in Thailand & had been previously let down in Koh Samui. Pleasingly, this food was great. We had a Magarita pizza to start, home made pasta for a main & an amazing chocolate souffle for desert. Including soft drinks the bill came to 1125b.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank khedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Second review”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A while ago I wrote a review, but it has been removed, no idea why or how. It was negative, the pasta was not fresh, the drowining in oily tomate sauce and the meat beaten to make a at least a bit tender. Overpriced and low quality. The owner reacted to my review with the mail underneath in my tripadvisor mailbox. I leave it to the reader to draw their own conclusions.

On May 5, 2013 1:34 AM alessandrofascia wrote:
I try to understand your review about Dolce Vita Koh Tao.
But , are you sure about your comments ?
The pasta menu is very simple : 1 page for the dry pasta and 1 page for the fresh pasta. Easy to understand , i mean normally.

About the tomato sauce , we used : Divella brand , but i supposed you prefer ketchup or something like that.
Anyway . my brother who cook cand send a pasta dish overcooked ...we are Italians.
I respect your opinions but , we work and i imagine than 300 or 400 baths is lot of money for you...better go in Thai food made by burmese staff.
Unlucky i wasn't on Koh Tao for 2 weeks , it will be nice to meet you and try to explain how have to be cook the Italian food.

The Direction.
Mr Alex

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arnaldo83, Manager at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
How are you ?
Are you an happy person ? Or are you boring in your small life ?
Nevermind , we can't satisfied everyone ....
Why don't you do a trip in Italy ? And try to explain there how to cooking Italian food ?
Good idea , no !
Anyway , it's always a pleasure to exchange with you.

The Direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing