We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a great find!”
Review of La Dolce Vita

La Dolce Vita
Ranked #58 of 181 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: In the city of Mea Haad , located between Bangkok Bank and Seatran Pier , our Restaurant is open from 4 pm until....late.Buono Appetito
Douglasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow! What a great find!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Koh Tao is a very laid back sort of a place and so finding a restaurant of this calibre was quite exciting to us. Food is the best and the chef is also the owner. We got there early allowing him the opportunity to chat with us and so he prepared our meals for us according to our requests. It was just wonderful...and the wine...was great as well. We had a bottle of Chardonnay...can't remember the name but I do remember it was Italian.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arnaldo83, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guests ,
mille grazie and see you soon in koh Tao.

The Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    83
    37
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Honestly, best Italian ever. Seems like the best Italian chefs have been put on little Koh Tao! I ate the lasagna, it was like heaven in my mouth!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vichaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arnaldo83, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear guests ,
thanks a lot for you review , we hope to see you soon.
Grazie Mille......
The Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprise - good Italian in Thailand!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I went here twice - once because I wanted a mild pasta to take a break from spicy local food. I had pizza one night and a pasta with white sauce another night. The food is excellent! But it is a little expensive for Thailand. The restaurant ambiance is lovely.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arnaldo83, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guests , thank you for the review.
Hope to see you again.

The Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
544 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Pizza Was a Bit Disappointing, Actually”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I ordered an anchovy pizza at La Dolce Vita and, given all the rave reviews, I was a little let down. Nothing special about the pizza. Quite a broad border of crust with no sauce. Nothing really wrong with the pizza but nothing special, either. When I asked the waitress for crushed red pepper flakes to liven it up, she apparently didn't understand what I wanted. Rather than go find someone with better English to assist me, she simply left and never returned. Perhaps I'd have been better off ordering pasta, but this was my experience with what I did order.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arnaldo83, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear guests , thank you for the review.

I'am sorry than you don't really enjoy the pizza. We try to proposed traditional one , like in Italy.
Pizza today is famous all around the world , and be adapted to the costumers of different country.
About the service , my staff try to do his best....but we still in Koh tao....a very small island with young workers , without strong experience.
We have to be indulgent here.
I hope to see again , and i could maybe recommended you another dishes.

The Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just OK”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

As a member of the slow food organization and stating they have "home made" pasta we were kinda disappointed from the dishes flavors. The pasta didn't feel very "home made" but rather ordinary-supermarket-pasta.
The ambiance is nice and relaxed, and the coffee was very good.
Might be worth a try as we only few dishes.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shkob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arnaldo83, Owner at La Dolce Vita, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for the review.

I'am sorry than you don't like our fresh pasta ,homemade. Our Italian costumers are so happy to find that quality in Koh Tao.
But we have all some different tastes of course...
Hope to meet next time and i will be happy to recommended you an another dishes maybe.
The Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Dolce Vita also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to La Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing