We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Location rooms are lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Koh Tao Regal Resort
Ranked #48 of 74 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Location rooms are lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in Feb. We stayed in the ocean view room. The room is huge with an amazing view but that is the only good thing about it. Our room was not clean at all. The bathroom had paint all over the floor and the tube was dirty. Also you had to shower in the large heart shaped tube which was hard to get in and out of plus there was no curtain so the whole bathroom gets wet. Hot water was inconsistent. The hallways were really dark even during the day it kinda felt like we were in a scary movie. We didn't eat at the hotel because we read that the food was bad. Location is good. Less then 5 min walk to the pier and about 20mins to the main area in Sairee beach. The pool is really large and deep which is nice. I think if we were to go back to Koh Tao we would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abby3119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    65
    60
    41
    28
See reviews for
26
96
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in February 2014. Booked a beach bungalow but in hindsight I would book a room with a pool view on the main hotel building. The pool was excellent, as was the pool side bar. They are extending the hotel and the space around the beach bungalows is a bit of a building site and we got a whiff of the sewers every now and then. However, the building work will soon be complete and that isn't meant as a slant on the hotel. What do you expect when building a new extension to the hotel? Location wise it's good, a little further from Mae Had bars than I expected but it's less than 10 mins in a taxi/on a scooter. Beach access is really easy and only a 10 minute walk past Crystal Bar to the pier/port. Would stay here again if in Koh Tao.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

Koh Tao Regal Resort

The beautiful island of Koh Tao is a veritable Paradise; however unfortunately we had to book here for three nights as the island was pretty much full while i waited for an apartment to become available. I can see why this was the only place with rooms left.

Apart from the stench of raw sewage and drainage (smells worse than downtown Barcelona in August) the uncompromisingly rude staff (and yes i know thai staff can be super chilled which takes a while to get used to).. where to start.. .

The stunning pools are full of trainee scuba divers (30 or 40 a day all day) attempting to put snorkels on and learn hand signals whilst bobbing about like lost manitees, thus you can't get into the pool to swim. The 'Regal' is a building site either side of the resort reaching 100db, diggers, concrete mixers, air compressors, all day, from breakfast till dusk and the piles of rubbish make it appear like an open tip along the lines of Jakarta at rush hour.

The hallways are pitch black and full of trips and bumps to catch you out. The breakfast (included) is beyond a joke. barely Toasted bread like concrete with a couple of miserable pale eggs or a bowl of muesli with a thimble of milk or a spoon full of yoghurt. Don't forget the 500bht deposit for a room card (which doesn't work)

The only vaguely good thing is that the bed is comfy and the air con worked, however i hear other clients complaining that their air con didn't work. Shame as Koh tao is paradise if you know where to look but nook early to avoid disappointment

Stay in a bungalow for a 5th the price and have a better time.

Room Tip: hmm, hard to recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel almost 2 months in advance. When we arrived they did not have our room, they gave it to someone else. We agreed to stay in another room for one night until they got our room free and ready for us. Well would be cleaner to sleep on the beach. Bed sheets were not changed bodily fluids were everywhere, there were also other stains. After calling the reception our bed sheets and pillows were replaced. Next day we had to remind them that we would like to move to the room we have booked and payed for. Our room had breakfast included but they forgot to give us coupons so we had to pay for our first breakfast, only after going back to the reception we were given coupons and they also reimbursed us for the amount we payed. They were not happy. WiFi slow and almost unable to connect to it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ales-vi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel through Agoda it looked lovely, on arrival it was like driving into a building site, receptionist very rude, I asked to see the "Superior room" that I had booked as all I could hear from the reception was drilling and banging, when we were shown the room the bed had been laid on/slept in and towels were scattered across bed and the view looked like a building site/rubbish tip. I said I didn't want to stay in this room and wanted to move to another hotel but was informed by rude staff member that this was not possible until they spoke to Agoda! We agreed to pay for an upgraded room for one night and wanted to move the next day but still to this day I never received a refund! Also pool is dominated by diving schools all day. Not recommended!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AandP2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here for two nights which definately wasnt enough! The pools were a perfect break from the beach and we found the staff to be polite and helpful too. Only thing we didnt enjoy about the Regal resort was it seemed to be unfinished. All and all though great stay, very clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bec P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We spend a week in the Regal Resort. Had one of the cheapest rooms of the resort at the back of the building. Although there still was some constructionwork going on, it didn´t bother us at all. The room itself was great, clean, nice bed and big shower. The overall atmosphere was poor. The restaurantstaff was unfriendly, made you wait for a long time or just didn´t understand you. There is not a lot going on in the evening so you have to go to Sairee beach or the Pier to have a good time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.9 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Beach Club
Koh Tao Beach Club
#15 of 136 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Simple Life Talay & Divers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clear View Resort
Clear View Resort
#33 of 74 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ananda Villa
Ananda Villa
#13 of 136 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Regal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Regal Resort

Property: Koh Tao Regal Resort
Address: 7/1 M2, Mae Haad, Koh Tao, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Regal Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Regal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Regal Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing