We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right step!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Family Tanote Bay Resort
Ranked #55 of 79 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I know this Resort for a couple of years now, and this year was my third stay together with my family. We were all in all pleasantly surprised. I learned that since the beginning of 2011 the resort is under new management, and you can really tell the difference.
Our second time, 2 years ago, we came back because we loved Tanote Bay. The great view, the snorkeling and diving there. But nut so much, to be honest, because of the resort. It lacked a bit the friendliness and hospitality you know from other places in Thailand.
But not anymore! Nong Bla and Bob, the new managers and there team, make you feel welcome right away. The food in the restaurant got a lot better and the portions bigger, even they changed the restaurant a bit and added a kind of "lounge area" with this triangular cusions to sit on, very comfy now:) The furnishing of the rooms however did not change to much, unfortunately. But they promised they are working on it, and soon add a fridge and closet etc. to some of the rooms. Probably not to the really cheap ones though. But the room we stayed (seaview aircon) had hot water now, which two years ago it hadn't.
Tanote is a great place for snorkeling, our two children, 12 and 14, loved it to spent time on the beach there. Or they joined us on board the Calypso, the boat of the dive school next door. While we went diving, they had a great time swimming and snorkeling or watching the captain catch some fish. http://www.diving-calypso.de
So things are changing in the right direction, and we hope they keep it up that way!
We will be back next year! Sawatdee ka

Room Tip: If you know you stay longer than just a few days, tell them in advance and you might get a better de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 162 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed at the Family Tanote Bay Resort for 7 nights in total. The view from the room was amazing as it was overlooking the sea and the mountains in the distance. The rooms were very basic, with almost no facilities. This was slightly disappointing for us as there were no wardrobes, only 1 power connection, no phone facility. The bathroom was also very basic, but clean. They cleaned our room only on one day, which was pretty disappointing. We found the people at the resort pretty friendly and co-operative.
Considering the location of the resort, we were pleasantly surprised at the good quality and variety of food offered at the resort restaurant. The ingredients are very fresh and good quality, the rates are on the higher side, but worth it.
So, overall, the beautiful view and friendly staff make up for the bad rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper levels have the most beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

the bungalow was rather basic but had a great view. The downside is that in order to get the view you have to walk up hundreds of stairs to your room :)

When we arrived the bungalow's bathroom was only inhabited by a huge (bigger than my hand) spider and one light bulb did not work. Both issues were taken care of immediately.

The restaurant is expensive and the staff is not really friendly (especially the women).

The bay itself is great for snorkeling. There are loads of beatiful fish and corrals.

Tanote bay is a rather more expensive place and this resort seemed to be the best deal (since the resort in the middle of the bay - montalay or something like that - had loud construction work going on, otherwhise that one would have been a lot better).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krepppapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This resort is a difficult ride over very rough roads from the ferry drop off, however you arrive to an amazing view in a beautiful bay. The rooms are all separate chalets, ours was right on the waters edge. Each have their own balcony and are all built down the side of a steep hill. We could snorkle directly from the front of our room which was wonderful. Once at the resort it is difficult to get to town unless you go in the resort taxi (100 baht per person each way). The resort restaurant offers a wide variety of good food including lots of Western dishes. There are a few other restaurants just a short walk up the beach. Rooms are just beds and bathroom, no fridge and no water. I would suggest taking water with you although they have plenty on sale. The water and snorkeling are fantastic, lots of coral and lots of fish. They do hire snorkels etc at 200 baht per set per day. Hammocks under the trees on the beach are a must. This resort is great if you want a quiet holiday with beautiful scenery and great snorkeling/ diving.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are probably the pick of the rooms as they are right on the water. They have 2 Queen b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mum23Queensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

I came to Ka Tao and checked out about 7 hotels by bike and stumbled across this hotel. Have read some of the reviews on this site and am shocked so many people have had a bad experience. I guess it come down to expectations. For the price this place provides basic accommodation on the best and most chilled out bay on the island. If you are looking to party do not come here. If you are looking to chill out, this is the place.

Remember to come with the right attitude and you will have a great time.

Room Tip: The same hut is cheaper the higher you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wazza23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We stayed at Family Tanote Bay for 3 nights when we first arrived on Koh Tao and what a great place it is. It is tucked away on the remote side of the island down rocky tracks but the dodgy ride in the back of a truck is worth it. The bay has 5 resorts based there all very small but Family is the largest. The room we had was their basic fan room with a cold shower as we didnt pre book...all their rooms are bungalow type situated from the beach front to up in the hills. Ours was one of the highest so we had fantastic views of the bay and our own hammock on the veranda. The room we had was pretty basic but that is reflected in the price, it was comfortable and clean which is all you need when your on the beach most of the day where the snorkelling is the best around Koh Tao.

Due to the bay being very remote to get anywhere you either need a motor bike, ATV or rely on the taxi service so you are limited in places to eat etc. However, the food at family was superb all fresh and great tasting. Service was fantastic too...a guy called Joe ran the restaurant and he was an absolute character! So helpful and friendly much like the rest of the staff who bent over backwards for you.

Our stay at Family Tanote was a perfect chill out with no distractions of shops or street sellers, if you want some peace and tranquillity on Koh Tao this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dangrahame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Bad service and too expensive. Rooms are badly kept, broken furniture, springs come out of the matrasses. They advertise with aircon butin fact the aircon only runs from 6 pm to 6 am. Can't really blame the staff, they make longer hours. Management should do better.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Koh Tao
692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tanote Villa Hill
Tanote Villa Hill
#16 of 79 in Koh Tao
248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Moon Dance Magic View Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Montalay Eco Cottages
Montalay Eco Cottages
#56 of 147 in Koh Tao
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Reef Beach Resort
Mountain Reef Beach Resort
#59 of 147 in Koh Tao
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamond Beach Bungalows
Diamond Beach Bungalows
#101 of 147 in Koh Tao
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Tanote Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Tanote Bay Resort

Address: 40/1 Moo 3, Tanote Bay, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range: $19 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Family Tanote Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Family Tanote Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Family Tanote Bay Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing