We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place for cheap breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pranee's Kitchen

Pranee's Kitchen
Ranked #27 of 180 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good place for cheap breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is an excellent spot for some cheapo food, and the staff are very lovely. Free wi-fi adds to the reasons to visit, as does the nearby hotel, which is also quite nice.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank bodinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    148
    38
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Andover
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stick to the Thai food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We ate here about 6 times sampling various items from the menu. The Thai dishes are quite nice but the western items of the menu are terrible. I saw that they were offering a pizza at a low price so I thought I'd give it a go, well, it came to me thin & floppy, not cooked tasting synthetic.

The staff were very hit & miss as well. On some days they were really nice and pleasant, then on other days they wouldn't break into a smile and seem to chuck the plates across the table to you. The fat lad there was always rude, he seems to be the family relation that they have to employ even though he doesn't want to work. His main job seems to be eating whatever you leave. I spent a while watching him and he would take a plate with leftovers on from a table into the kitchen and then eat the contents. He also puts all the garnish on the plates.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank gwhitegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Excellent food at very reasonable prices. We visited about 6 (!) times during our 3 week stay and was pleased with each visit. Excellent Thai food (of course) served promptly with a smile, also saw huge burgers and chips served to others who appeared very happy with them.

Choice of seating - floor cushions in the area with a big TV and normal tables and chairs in the other side. Restaurant open to the breezes so don't forget to put on your bug repellant!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterMac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I'm currently sat at this place eating my food, that's how bad it is. Our waitress is horrible (red top, black skirt) throws our food at our, no manners. Massaman is not massaman. My boyfriends food came out literally 60secs after the order? Mosquitos everywhere, not their fault, but very unpleasant. Don't come here. Please. Not a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobynHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
864 reviews
541 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Cheap but I didn't like it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We had been staying at the Ananda villa for 4 nights and our last day we decided to have breakfast at this place (which is right next to it). It wasn't the best experience. The sandwich I ordered was really small and personnel was sleeping and mistreating a cat. Food was cheap though (180 bath for two persons breakfast) but I wouldn't go here again. At night they show (old) movies on a screen.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronaldo070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pranee's Kitchen also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Pranee's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing