We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I think Simple Life takes it's name a little too literally. We found when things went wrong, as they often did, we would shrug our shoulders and say "Oh well... Simple Life". Perhaps 'Low Expectations Hotel' would also be suitable if ever they fancied a re-brand.

To start on a high, the location was great. It was right in the heart of the action. A short stroll to local restaurants, bars and a little further to the livelier nightlife. The best pancakes in town are served up from a stall not 30 metres from the hotel (outside 7/11). The pool was adequate although a little small for the size of the complex.

We found the staff to be rude, unhelpful and ... Simple? Upon check-in our friends were shown into a room that was occupied. They were then told to sit and wait on the porch and it seems they were then forgotten about. Ten minutes passed before they enquired at reception, who were confused and took them to a new room. To top this, the hotel refused to transfer us all to the pier on check-out as we had bought the boat ticket from elsewhere. Fortunately, by the time our check-out came they had forgotten our faves and we jumped in no hassel. Simple Life.

We enjoyed a boat trip around Koh Tao. When our 'turtle tour' boat was full we transferred to a Simple Life boat. There are 5 or 6 operators all running identical tours so we were happy to jump ship and follow the convoy. Our Simple Life boat had trouble leaving the pier. After several attempts we were at sea and the problem became apparent. The boat couldnt turn left. Simple Life!!

Our rooms were basic, the floor gritty, and the showers troublesome. The electricity was temperamental and had a habit of turning off mid-shower. Unfortunately this happened to our neighbour too, but luckily for him he had a torch provided by his door. Of course, it didn't work. Oh well, Simple Life...

I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a better room
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlversuslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
There are newer reviews for Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 904 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed for a week for a beach holiday. We were given a free upgrade although no one mentioned this to us. Room was very nice - large room and massive bed with a balcony area and even a drying room at the back. Reception girls were lovely and very helpful helping us arrange our further travel plans. Pool was good although beds could get very busy late afternoon. Breakfast was poor and the restaurant is full of flies for breakfast and lunch. In the evening the restaurant is much nicer and always busy and well priced. Less than 5 minute walk to beach and right on the main street for restaurants and bars. Noisy during our stay due to construction (looks like it will be going on a long time yet) although didn't really disturb us too much.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaleWillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay if you are visiting koh tao. We had room number one right by the restraurant and near to the road but you couldn't hear a thing when in the room. Rooms are very comfortable, air con is not that powerful but works none the less. Outside space has a large drying rack for your wet clothes which is really helpful.
A great little pool which makes a break from the beach. Convenience store right across the road and some great bars within walking distance on the beach. I would stay again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lorna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

If you don't want to be right at the beach front then this is a pretty good place. The rooms are spacious and beautiful and comfortable - big beds. The balconies upstairs are nice and the pool is lovely too. The only downfalls are that there are no beach views and it is a little walk to the beach. However it is in a very good location compared to some of the other high end hotels that are generally much further away from the beach. The only other downfall is if you are there over christmas / new years or another holiday and you have to have the compulsory dinner and pay even if you don't go. However, pretty much every hotel in Koh Tao has this and it is unavoidable anyway. Try to swing a deal to get out of it I say :) Staff are lovely and rooms are always left immaculate.

Room Tip: I have always had an upstairs room but the rooms on the ground floor are probably the best because t...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melindaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My brother and I stayed 3 nights at Simple Life in late March 2014 and we really enjoyed our stay there. The reception staff (3 ladies who were almost always there!) is very friendly, warm and helpful. Some of the friendly restaurant waiters double up as porters for the shuttle rides so do tip them well - it's a tough job!

DO
- Get a room on the higher floors further from the main road
- Deluxe rooms are spacious with huge bathrooms to wash your diving gear and a private balcony to dry your stuff
- Get the resort to send you to and fro the ferry terminal, which is free!
- The breakfast, although repetitive, is decent and has a good spread. Nothing to be picky about.
- WiFi works well

DON'T
- Leave the door to the balcony open - lots of mozzies!
- Walk around undressed if you value your privacy. There is some construction going on in the plot of land beside the resort and the workers are there working during daylight.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors further from the main road and if your budget allows - go for the de...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Altmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The two ladies on reception are extremely helpful, they assist in booking any flights ferries and coaches. The room was lovely, very clean and spacious! The location was perfect near the beach but away from the noise! The restaurant is great lots of cocktails, burgers, pizzas, thai food. Fab hotel! Free wifi and they organise transfer from the ferry free of charge which was great! Staff were lovely/friendly. Only down side was the breakfast wasnt great

Room Tip: We were moved as construction site at at the back so request room on the front side away from buidin...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

pretty good hotel. there are some things I didn't like -
We upgraded to boutique standart room and they were pretty old.
Breakfast buffet is average.
nice pool though. Free WIFI.
When you come to the island from the ferry , hotel's staff take you to the hotel and you don't have to take taxi , which is nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sami E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
526 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,269 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#23 of 49 in Koh Tao
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Simple Life Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Simple Life Resort

Address: 14/11 Moo 1 | Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: $43 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Simple Life Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort offering quality air conditioned accommodation on Koh Tao's popular Sairee Beach. Peaceful and private resort, with premier location with everything you need in close walking distance (beach, bars and restaurants, shops, ATMs, etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Simple Life Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Simple Life Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing