We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil --- but?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Maidstone
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tranquil --- but?”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Picked this hotel and booked direct solely on the basis of it's website
We placed great emphasis on the advertised 'tranquility' as this was a scuba diving holiday involving some very early morning starts (and early shut eye the night before)
We booked the basic accommodation and were allocated a room at the very front of the hotel next to the bar/restaurant
This has thumping music going until 11pm (sometimes later) - hardly tranquil
It took two days to get moved to another quieter room
Once this was sorted we were very happy
Great location in the middle of town and just 200 yards from Sairee Beach
Staff were friendly and rooms were clean and extremely comfortable
Free pick up to and from the ferry port was a bonus

Room Tip: If you want peace and tranquility away from the hotel's bar/restaurant avoid rooms S1 to S7
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    368
    166
    66
    27
See reviews for
91
442
73
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed there a night ; we booked a standard AC and got a standard boutique ; room was very nice, big, clean and cute, good aircon and nice hot shower, very good beds.

Service is great, each person got a beer and breakfast was free, as was the transfert back to mae haad pier. After our difficult night @Nangyuan, it was a great compensation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C2M_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our room was very nice but expensive. Staff were super friendly, food was okay but also expensive, although the restaurant and bar atmosphere was very nice.

Don't go to the all you can eat pizza nights, those involve pizzas frantically being made with a waitress splitting them between customers. You don't get to choose what type of pizza you get, and you have to wait a long time between slices.

The buffet breakfast was okay, don't expect anything amazing. The fruit (fresh watermelon and pineapple was the best).

The location was good, a short 3 minute walk from the beach. Our room looked over the hotel pool and some coconut palms on the neighbouring lot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in a double room and were both picked up and dropped off at the ferry - convenient! There is a nice pool area (not many hotels have a pool on Koh Tao), a good breakfast with both warm and cold choices and the room was quite spacious and had a massive shower. It's a 3 minute walk to the beach, where you can eat, drink, swim and relax. We also did a diving course with Simple Life Divers and recommend this. There's a great restaurant nearby, Hippo. Don't miss taking a longtail to Nang Yuan. We would definately return. The only things to complain about were thin walls and a safe that sometimes worked, sometimes was broken.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arwems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
309 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Smack bang in the middle of Koh Tao's bustling tourist area of Sairee Beach, Simple Life was a remarkably pleasant place to hang my hat while in Thailand's scuba destination of choice. While rooms are a tad pricy at $57 a night, you get a pretty high standard as a result. The bed was ridiculously comfortable, the shower did the trick, and (most importantly) you're good and close to everything.

The on site restaurant is more miss than hit when it comes to their mains, but the breakfast buffet is passable (try the French toast) and they do a good pizza and pasta combo. There's also 100TB cocktails during happy hour.

The pool on site isn't bad and there's an attached massage spa and diving centre we didn't get to try.

The sole real drawback was that the bass from the resort restaurant could be heard in your room, but thankfully this tended to shut off well before it was time to go to bed.

Room Tip: Get one towards the back of the resort if you want to avoid noise from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieOnTheRoadcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The room was very nice and clean and the resort had a good location in the main street where all bars and restaurants are situated and less than 5 minutes walking distance to Sairee Beach. The hotel standard is comparable to a standard hotel in northern Europe and I would say that you pay relatively much for this hotel. We used the resort's laundry service but unfortunately some clothes were damaged (blue ink spots on the clothes). After a discussione with the receptionist and the manager which took quite some time we were compensated for the damage.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria_swe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed here for a few wks in January. Nothing but good things to say. Fantastic location, just across road from beach, shops, bars, diving shops , restAurants, but nice and quiet at night. Great room, friendly staff, nice pool, all you need really! Nice buffet breakfast every morning, and food and staff in restaurant were really great too. I would stay here again and recomend it, much better standard than many other hotels here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishsaphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
500 reviews
1.5 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 49 in Koh Tao
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,193 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
Pinnacle Koh Tao Resort
#20 of 49 in Koh Tao
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Simple Life Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Simple Life Resort

Property: Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
Address: 14/11 Moo 1 | Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Simple Life Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury resort offering quality air conditioned accommodation on Koh Tao's popular Sairee Beach. Peaceful and private resort, with premier location with everything you need in close walking distance (beach, bars and restaurants, shops, ATMs, etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Koh Tao Simple Life Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koh Tao Simple Life Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing