We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty view - decent service - OK food”
Review of Starlight

Starlight
Ranked #116 of 181 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Price range: $4 - $45
Cuisines: Asian, European, Diner, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Starlight Restaurant : located near the reception with north Thai style decoration and wonderful sea view in the morning to Nang Yuan Island and the east part of Koh Tao. Dine romantically by candle light, enjoying Superb Thai & Asian cuisine with a magnificent view over the whole bay especially at Sunset !! Listening to the sea passing through the rocks.Service Dinner 18.00 – 22.00 hours
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretty view - decent service - OK food”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Its the night time restaurant for the Charm Churree Hotel. It's...OK.

I have a bit of a high standard for Thai food, I'll admit it, but considering it was resort pricing I expected more. It just wasn't all that good. Take your money to The Gallery instead.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    21
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice view”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Good service, nice food and nice view. A beautiful spot in paradise, a real shame about all the plastic bags floating by, a real shame but worth a look.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank possibleaussieexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“They have got slack”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Was the best place on Koh Tao, they have let this place go, so sad.
Our 4th stay in the resort and our 10th time eating at this restaurant, they need to fix the decor and the food standard, specifically the breakfast!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jonny21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Had 3 dinners from here, never a bad experience.”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Decent food, some dishes better than others (I really enjoyed the Mackerel ChooChee). As others have said, the view is unbeatable. Service was fine, not great but you're on an island so just chill out. We stayed in the Bamboo Huts and it was just so convenient — ordered their room service twice (it was late, we were sore, and both had injured feet). Food was quick and came hot and covered, which made for a perfect romantic meal on our balcony.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saganist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The setting was amazing, you could either sit inside or outside overlooking the water... definitely go outside if you can. The food was the best we had on the island. Staff was friendly and attentive.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ylegakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Starlight also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Starlight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing