We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monkey Flower Villas
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My friend & I just stayed at this amazing place.
I have never been so relaxed in my life, the view is to die for.
Lincoln treats all his guest has family & you will want for nothing whilst there.
Steve the manger made us feel so welcome too & will show you around & pick you up or drop you off anywhere you want to go at any time too.

Big thanks to Steve,
Also Steve knows where to get the best sunday roast on the Island.

You will not regret staying at this wonderful place.x

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronniorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villas, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
WOW, thank you for such a wonderful TripAdvisor review! We all love having great guests like you, and hope that you will come back again as soon as possible!
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Family, & Staff
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    22
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
90
109
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

My family and I had an awesome stay at monkey flower! The villas were so nice and the architecture of the villas and pool made the stay so fun and the view just was amazing! What more could you ask for?? A private driver?? Of coarse! Steve will take your little heart wherever you like! It makes traveling so much easier when you have a ride and travel guide to help! I even think he would have picked us up in the middle of the ocean if we called him:)!! Beautiful place amazing service ! Thanks so much!!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Parislarsen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villas, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you, thank you, thank you for the wonderful TripAdvisor review! We loved having you as our very special guests, and hope that you will come back again as soon as possible!
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Family, & Staff
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We where there for 2 nights, and it where the most unforgettable of our trip.
The view is amazing, I could not stop looking at the bay …
Steve, the driver is so helpful! He takes you everywhere you want, he advises you on what to do (and how), where to eat, where to take breakfast, …
I would really recommend it!

Room Tip: Pick the top villa, the view is breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolcelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villas, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I am delighted that you had a splendid time at Monkey Flower Villas! We hope that you will be back soon!
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Family, & Staff
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I just stayed at Monkey Flower with five people for four nights, and i have to say it's one of the best forms of accommodation I've ever stayed in. What makes Monkey Flower special, besides the great design of the villas and the amazing views, is the attention Lincoln and especially Steve give to you. Steve, the driver, can and will drive you anywhere on the island, basically any time day or night, which is fantastic, especially when you consider that the villa is tucked away up a pretty steep hill.

Also, he's great a recommending the best methods for going about activities like snorkeling or taking a boat trip around the island, which is essential in a small tourist destination like this, because a lot of people are out there to rip you off.

We stayed in the lower villa, and while it's the lower-end villa, it's amazing for the price. The place is incredibly spacious, and it fit five of us easily, even though it's meant for two. Hot water all the time, fantastic views, far enough from town to be secluded, but a 3-4 minute walk to the main beach. Another really cool thing is how many musical instruments are around the villa, especially in the upper one. They've got an electric piano, guitars and a drum kit available in the upper villa for the guests!

Overall, Monkey Flower is simply the place you need to stay if you go to Koh Tao. It makes you feel like you're staying in a five star resort, but with the seclusion and relaxed, island atmosphere you want on a vacation like this. Would definitely stay again if I returned to Koh Tao!

Room Tip: Recommend the upper villa if it's in your budget. The infinity pool is awesome and it's desi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villas, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your great experience at Monkey Flower Villas with the TripAdvisor world! I will tell Steve to look at your lovely review of his performance... I hope that you and your group will be back as soon as possible!
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Family, & Staff
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar-Saba, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had lovely 10 days in the resort. We were 9 people and we experienced all the 3 Villas.

Monkey flower resorts consists of 3 villas/apartments. 2 of them are actually two floors in the same building: the upper and the lower villas. Then there's the Bougonvillia. The upper floor and the Bougonvillia has two rooms each and the lower has one room.
We stayed there for 10 nights, in the first 6 nights we had the upper villa and the Bougonvillia and for the last 4 nights we had the lower villa a d the Bougonvillia.
So... Know all of it very well.
I will start by saying that before everything else, what makes it unique are the people who run the place: Lincoln the owner and Steve the driver. This made a real difference. Since the villas are not on the beach and not in the center of the town, it is required to go up and down the steep hill all day and night long. Both Lincoln and Steve were always at our service. Without this service, being in a resort in Koh Tao which is not located in the center would not make any sense and taking taxis in the island is costly and would have turned the price of the resort t be much more expensive.
The most beautiful thing in the resort is the upper villa. It is truly lovely. The villa it self and the way it is designed, the lovely swimming pool with the outstanding view of Koh-Tao beaches, the musical instruments which were great for us and made our musicians really happy.
The Bougonvillia is nice, not spacious as the upper villa and its swimming pool is quite small, yet it is a sweet place.
The lower villa is a little bit problematic. If you take it with the upper Villa, it is good but if you take it by itself, it has shortcomings. It does not have a pool, it does not have a balcony and in the living room which is the biggest place of this Villa, you don't have an air condition. So being there, far from the beach or the Town's center without the treat of the upper Villa is a bit pointless.
All the Villas need some attention to some missing things which would turn the place from very good to great: blankets to cover with, reading lights near the bed, mirrors above the sink, shelves in the bathrooms to put your staff, curtains to prevent sun light early mornings, decent path to connect the Bougonvillia with the other Villa, the air condition in the upper villa's bedroom who through cold air straight to your head.
It is important to say that Lincoln is very attentive and when there are things that he can fix for you, he will (like buying blankets). He cares very much and wants to constantly improve and that what makes the real difference.
All in all, we had great time in the monkey flower villa and we found it to be a charming place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iritv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villas, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
I am delighted that you had a splendid time at Monkey Flower Villas! We are in the process of renovations on all of our villas now, and have taken note of your suggestions for improvement. I hope that we have the opportunity to show you an even better time next time!
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Family, & Staff
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I honestly cannot say enough good things about the Monkey Flower. From the minute we arrived we felt extremely looked after. Both Lincoln and Steve are very friendly and aim to make your stay unforgettable. Steve is willing to drive you anywhere on the island at anytime, day or night. He took us to the best beaches and recommended some great restaurants, we want to go back to Zest for another sandwich and coffee. The villa itself was huge! There were only two of us but we loved having all the space. The design is so unique and when you look out the window or open the door you get breathtaking views of the beach and ocean. If you stay in the upper villa you will never want to leave! The infinity pool was phenomenal and the view from there beyond incredible. If you are looking for a hotel that makes you feel like you're a movie star then this is the place for you! I know I'll be back here someday when I get married for my honeymoon, it's that amazing!

Thanks for making our time in Koh Tao so memorable!

-Andrea and Sarah

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amontele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villas, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Wow, thank you so, so much for that amazing review! We are very proud of our little place, and of our special customer service, and it is always nice to be noticed this way! I hope that you will be our very special guests again as soon as possible!!!
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Family, & Staff
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We rented the lower villa, when we arrived we had a few extra persons in our group. The ever brilliant Steve immediately arranged for additional mattresses etc. The villa itself was spotless, with all the modcons often forgotten about in SE Asia. Steve the driver provided everything from local advice to transport at any hour of the day. I would wholeheartedly recommend this villa.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruzermax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villas, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you very, very much for the excellent Tripadvisor review! We are very proud to be in the number two spot, and working hard to be number one! I hope that you will be our very special guests again as soon as possible!!!
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Woonsen, Steve, Mo, & Lawinn
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,224 reviews
3.0 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,468 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
226 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Flower Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Flower Villas

Property: Monkey Flower Villas
Address: 19/6 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monkey Flower Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkey Flower Villas feature extraordinary architecture and amenities. Built into the natural beauty and granite boulders of the hillside overlooking Sairee beach, the longest and most popular beach on Koh Tao, Monkey Flower Villas is only a few minutes walk to the sand, yet very private, and secure. Every villa has stunning sea and beach views. The "Upper" villa has a very large private infinity edge swimming pool and spa (take the bridge to the roof and jump into the pool, if you like!). The master bedrooms are huge, very romantic, safe, and comfortable, Most of the rooms boast 50" flat screen HDTVs with premium Western programing, air-con, free Wi-Fi internet access. The "Upper" villa features the "flying" bed, hardwood floors, and a huge sliding glass window overlooking the swimming pool and the bay below. There are several sound systems, and musical instruments available to use. All guests enjoy 24 hour a day courtesy car and driver service to anywhere they want to go on Koh Tao*. Each villa is provided with a local mobile phone for easy access to all important numbers. Monkey Flower Villas has been recognized as providing an excellent customer experience and service. *As our guest, you will enjoy our famous 24 hour a day complimentary car and driver service, for pick-up and drop-off to anywhere you want to go on Koh Tao, during your entire stay! Many people do not realize that normal taxi service on Koh Tao is very expensive compared to other parts of Thailand, with a simple ride from town to town often costing 500. Thai Baht or more one way, and TWICE that amount late at night. If you were considering renting motorbikes, our driver service can also save you from possible extortion by unscrupulous renters, who prey on tourists, and the risks of riding a motorcycle on an island with many dirt roads and difficult riding conditions. For these reasons, our car and driver service is not only convenient, but also an incredible value! When you check in, you will be given a local Thai mobile phone, with important numbers and credit already installed. When you need to be dropped off or picked up, simply speed dial your driver, who will be there in a few short minutes. No other accommodation on Koh Tao offers this kind of complete transportation solution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monkey Flower Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkey Flower Villa Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing