We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bouganvilla”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monkey Flower Villas
Ranked #2 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Private driver, clean home, english speaking owner with Thai wife, awesome view and backyard, private pool, and wonderful host.
What more is there to add? We stayed at the bouganvilla, which is a two bedroom villa with a small private pool outside. The view is better from the other home they rent, but you could always just walk outside and sit on one of the enormous boulders to see the view of Sairee beach. The driver is on island time, so just tell him that you'd like to leave 5 or 10 minutes earlier than you actually want to and you'll be fine. Having a driver was essential for us, as we did a lot of hiking and traveling to all the different beaches on the island, and it was very nice not having to find a taxi or tuk tuk from these remote locations. They give you a cell phone with the owner's number and the drivers number on it, and service is pretty much good all over the island.
Overall fantastic island to stay on, with a beautiful home and wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: If you want the most amazing view, get the upper/lower villa. Bouganvilla you have to walk a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravisDharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Monkey Flower Villas on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry it has taken me so long to respond. All of us at Monkey Flower are very proud of our little resort and our special customers service... Thank you for noticing, and especially for sharing your experience with all of the Tripadvisor review readers! I hope that you will stay with us on your next holiday to Koh Tao!
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Woonsen, Max, Music, Nana, & Steve,
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 351 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

From the Moment you walk into Monkey Flower, it is your own little bit of paradise away from home ...with the added bonus of it feeling like home! As said in many of the reviews, pictures cannot do the villa any justice -it is worth staying here just to see it with your own eyes!

Lincoln has created a fantastic atmosphere around the place, his hands-on approach makes you feel truly special, treating ourselves like friends rather than just ordinary guests.

The pictures speak for themselves ...yet the service received from driver Nai, is second to none! There was nothing we wanted, nowhere we wanted to go that was too much. Like Lincoln, we have left Monkey Flower with some great memories and a fantastic new friend! From sourcing a Barbeque, to showing us how to fillet fish, to shimmying up a coconut tree, Nai will always have a smile on his face and 'made' the experience for us!

We would really like to make a heartfelt thanks to Nai, for introducing us to his friends during Songkran and offering to have us as honoury members of his football team! (we declined, as they were far too good!) by the end, we had quite happily settled into island life ...it was rather difficult to leave.

The "Songkran car" or "white car" has a super engine! If We are to make the most 'minor' criticism possible, it is only that we felt the standard of the cars did not match the standard of the accommodation (not that it bothered us!) but may not be ideal for everyone. To retract this even further, Lincoln has sent them away for a total refit and promises they will be very special! Not your bog-standard Hi-Lux which practically rules the island!

Nothing about Monkey Flower is bog-standard, it is so much more than just a villa, it's an experience! "the whole package". For us it was perfect. Combining the right amount of luxury with such a down-to-earth attitude.

The little details, such as a box of DVDs in your room (I challenge even the most die-hard of party go-ers to not curl up one evening and watch a crap film at MF) to the mobile phone with all the essential numbers programmed in (takeaways) just make your life so much easier. Hence mire time to relax and enjoy your time! Good Idea!

If you don't want to feel like the king of cool, or the queen of quirkiness -don't come here! But If you want to have the rock star treatment -book now!!! (did I mention you can have personal masseurs come to your room even?!)

We can't wait to come back, as we're missing Monkey Flower already!

Room Tip: Save up and go for the upper villa!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Monkey Flower Villas on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry it has taken me so long to respond. I did some important work on the little white car, and it is now the little gray car, with new body panels, and a few other fixes, but it is still not a beauty, but she is still getting us over the rutted hilly roads of Koh Tao! Thank you so, so much for sharing your experience with all of the Tripadvisor review readers! I hope that you will stay with us again one of these days, months, years!
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Woonsen, Max, Music, & Nana
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We had a fantastic time at Monkey Flower Villa. The pictures do not give this place justice. Lincoln is an absolute champion and makes the stay memorable. Within minutes of arriving, we rescheduled our events around maximising as much time in this amazing place. It was truly a sad day leaving. However we WILL be back. Dave

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D_chowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Thank you very much for this wonderful review! I am very sorry that it has taken me so long to respond to it, but better late than never! We really appreciate that you took your time to share your very positive experience at Monkey Flower Villas with the world... It has helped us a lot! Our little place has been growing, and we have been making improvements as we have been able... I hope that you will be able to come back again someday soon, so we can show you an even better experience!
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Woonsen, Family, & Staff
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

A group of 6 of us stayed here in March this year. What can we say, the experience was incredible. Ni the 24 hr on hand staff member was awesome. He took us in to town and was always happy and willing to help in any way he could. Lincoln and Joy were brilliant and great to meet as well. I can't recommend this place enough. Plus the view you get from the pool has to one of the best you'll ever get anywhere in the world. A big statement but in my opinion true!

Thank you Lincoln, Joy and family. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for the main villa with the infinity pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

I know it has been a really long time since your stay with us, but I still want to thank you so much for your wonderful review of Monkey Flower Villas on Tripadvisor. All of us at Monkey Flower are very proud of our little resort and our customers service... Thank you for sharing your experience with all of the Tripadvisor review readers! I hope that you will stay with us on your next holiday to Koh Tao!
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Woonsen, Max, Music, & Nana
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Just returned to the United States from a 3 week Honeymoon trip to Thailand. We originally booked the Upper Villa for 4 nights but ended up staying for 8 nights when Lincoln had a late cancellation and the house came available. Simply put, we fell in love with the place and were very, very sad to leave.

I did a lot of research on the villa before booking and felt comfortable that the few bad reviews out there were likely from folks that would not have been pleased unless given a staff of 5 dedicated to their pursuit of gratification and I was certainly correct. What a great place and I truly cant say enough great things about this house and the staff. Are there minor inconveniences? Sure, but unless youre willing to shell out $1,000+ USD a night, you will always have something that is not perfect in any hotel or villa, youre in Thailand for crying out loud.

We were given a cell phone and whenever we wanted to go somewhere, we called Lincoln or Win, the wonderful Burmese kid with a constant smile, and within 5 minutes, they were there to take us, free of charge. I never even felt that tipping was expected but always tipped Win 100-150 Baht ($3-5USD) for a ride to town. By contrast, our villa on Koh Phangan charged up to 3,000 Baht a day for a driver service, 1,500 Baht just for a grocery run. Koh Tao is tiny so it doesnt take much time for them to get you to where you want to be.

The view looking out from the master bed was awe-inspiring. In fact, the view out of the bathroom was even incredible. The infinity pool was nothing short of spectacular as well, no picture online does it justice. The section of the patio right outside of the great room to the right of the pool had sun from pretty much 9AM to 6PM every day of our stay.

No need for Air con upstairs as the breeze at night made for great sleeping. The only drawbacks that I could see for some is that there is not a real "living room" in the upstairs and there is not an in-house chef available. However, in my 21 days in Thailand, I turned the TV on once so I dont understand why one would consider this to be an atrocity. Also, Koh Tao has a fabulous selection of inexpensive restaurants and most will deliver for free which I personally enjoyed more than the private chef we had on Koh Phangan.

The Villa was cleaned daily and we were rarely disturbed by staff unless they were asking us if we wanted something when they were going somewhere and they always yelled "knock-knock" as they ascended the stairs. Landscaping is very nice and the design is quite unique. Lincoln and his US/Thai/South African/Burmese family really have a great operation going on here. We will be back.

Aaron & Ashlee

Room Tip: Upper Villa has the infinity pool and the views. If you want a true living room, spend the extra $7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nomadic_Iowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2012

Aaron & Ashlee,
Thank you very much for your lovely TripAdvisor review! we are delighted that you had a wonderful time at Monkey Flower, and hope you can come back again soon! Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Woonsen, Max, Mom, Winn, & Dte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

If you are looking for something different and unique that is the place. Very unique, modern and design house with great spaces. Fantastic sea views from the house located in the mountain. A little bit far from the beach but the owner or his staff are taking care of your transport to the beach with the owner car. Very pleasant owner really dedicated to your happiness. The owner supplies a cell phone to join him anytime if you need something. Good housekeeping and clean house. We hope to have the chance to come back again to this fantastic place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Closue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Monkey Flower Villas on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry it has taken me so long to respond. All of us at Monkey Flower are very proud of our little resort and our special customers service... Thank you for noticing, and especially for sharing your experience with all of the Tripadvisor review readers! I hope that you will stay with us on your next holiday to Koh Tao!
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Woonsen, Max, Music, Nana, & Steve,
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

The house is really amazing. Exactly as you can see in the website, no faking! And the view is really unique! Paradise! He even offers a mobile phone for the guests during the stay!
Service is just great. Day, the house manager / driver / do-all-you-need will be just always there for you! Really! He is really committed to take care of the guests!
The owner is very fair. We had small discussion about price after booking and he just agreed with our request, without any argument! Really worried about having us satisfied!
Point to be improved: kitchen is shared with the family of the house keeper. So no privacy for a nice cooking experience.
If you want to go Koh Tao, just go for it! No regret!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronal_Balena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincsong, Owner at Monkey Flower Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Monkey Flower Villas on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry it has taken me so long to respond. All of us at Monkey Flower are very proud of our little resort and our special customers service... We have changed the staff housing to a new building further away from the main house, so no staff can be found using the kitchen anymore. Thank you for sharing your experience with all of the Tripadvisor review readers! I hope that you will stay with us on your next holiday to Koh Tao!
Love, health, & happiness,
Lincoln, Woonsen, Max, & Music
Monkey Flower Villas
Koh Tao, Thailand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,558 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,289 reviews
3.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
923 reviews
3.1 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 50 in Koh Tao
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monkey Flower Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monkey Flower Villas

Address: 19/6 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: $136 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monkey Flower Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monkey Flower Villas feature extraordinary architecture and amenities. Built into the natural beauty and granite boulders of the hillside overlooking Sairee beach, the longest and most popular beach on Koh Tao, Monkey Flower Villas is only a few minutes walk to the sand, yet very private, and secure. Every villa has stunning sea and beach views. The "Upper" villa has a very large private infinity edge swimming pool and spa (take the bridge to the roof and jump into the pool, if you like!). The master bedrooms are huge, very romantic, safe, and comfortable, Most of the rooms boast 50" flat screen HDTVs with premium Western programing, air-con, free Wi-Fi internet access. The "Upper" villa features the "flying" bed, hardwood floors, and a huge sliding glass window overlooking the swimming pool and the bay below. There are several sound systems, and musical instruments available to use. All guests enjoy 24 hour a day courtesy car and driver service to anywhere they want to go on Koh Tao*. Each villa is provided with a local mobile phone for easy access to all important numbers. Monkey Flower Villas has been recognized as providing an excellent customer experience and service. *As our guest, you will enjoy our famous 24 hour a day complimentary car and driver service, for pick-up and drop-off to anywhere you want to go on Koh Tao, during your entire stay! Many people do not realize that normal taxi service on Koh Tao is very expensive compared to other parts of Thailand, with a simple ride from town to town often costing 500. Thai Baht or more one way, and TWICE that amount late at night. If you were considering renting motorbikes, our driver service can also save you from possible extortion by unscrupulous renters, who prey on tourists, and the risks of riding a motorcycle on an island with many dirt roads and difficult riding conditions. For these reasons, our car and driver service is not only convenient, but also an incredible value! When you check in, you will be given a local Thai mobile phone, with important numbers and credit already installed. When you need to be dropped off or picked up, simply speed dial your driver, who will be there in a few short minutes. No other accommodation on Koh Tao offers this kind of complete transportation solution. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Monkey Flower Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkey Flower Villa Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing