We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great value for money, clean and quiet”
Review of Palm Leaf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Leaf Resort
Ranked #8 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not great value for money, clean and quiet”
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Stayed for three nights for diving in Koh Tao. We paid 2000thb for air con standard room. It was very basic and more expensive than nearly all the hotels on our trip (tourist trap). The sheets seemed sandy and there were no mod cons. However the air con and the fan worked well and there was a basic but hot shower and a bug free bathroom.

The location was great, away from the hussle and noise of sairee beach so very quiet but only a two minute walk down to the diving schools.

The breakfast was very nice, but the one thing that spoiled the hotel experience for us was the presence of a huge amount of flea ridden dogs. We both have dogs at home so we are used to them but this was something else. They were friendly so much so they sat under your table which is why we never ate at the hotel as we didn't want to catch fleas. The staff did nothing about the dogs despite alot of the guests looked uncomfortable that they were there. If you don't like dogs don't stay here.

Most of the hotels we saw we fairly basic, Koh Tao is a tourist trap but the diving was spectacular therefore the prices are a little elevated.

Make sure you say hello to 'Sam' the head waited very nice and very well mannered, with great service and very good English.

Good Points
Location
Air Con and Cleanl rooms
Hot Water
Good Service

Bad Points
Flea Ridden Dogs
Basic Rooms, no mod cons and not very big

Back to basics, a fun experience and we would stay again due to the location. Shame about the dogs!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloudsurfer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    136
    42
    22
    12
See reviews for
48
160
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Yes yes, great location and at the quiter end of the lovely sairee beach. It is such a shame that one of the key female staff members had to be so grumpy. She immediately got upset when we arrived becauseshe had been given mis information about the number of rooms we required, she had held 2 rooms but we only booked 1 and somehow this was our fault. She was also stroppy about the price even when I showed her and e mail from the manager to say we had a reduced rate after Jan 7th. The wait staff are lovely though.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newyear2010Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

We stayed at Bow Thong having been disappointed with a neighbouring resort with a much higher star rating and price. Our appartment was quite basic - but that's no bad thing. It was clean, had a really large, comfy bed, indoor bathroom, free breakfast and wifi, helpful staff (particularly a woman who reminded us of Jimmy Krankee) and a great location on Sairee beach, close enough to all bars/restaurants but quiet enough to get a decent sleep.

Would def recommend Bow Thong - it's a no-frills, good value place that has everything you could need. Note about Koh Tao - don't go there expecting luxury - the value of this island is the beaches, the sea life and the nightlife.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaMac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francsico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2009

I searched high and low (literally) when I arrived in Koh Tao and had a tough time finding accommodation that was decent at an affordable price. Most of the accommodation on the island is either high end/over-priced or super low end where you feel like your room is a prison cell. Bow Thong is a great mid-range option with very clean and comfortable rooms, right on the beach in Sairee. We had a balcony, a view of the ocean and soft linens for $60/night. Not bad...The rooms are slightly off the beach which means they are quiet, you won't hear the longboats. No swimming pool, but we snuck into the pool at the hotel next door and no one said a word!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paminsiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We stayed at the Bow Thong Resort for 4 nights.

Pros:
Clean rooms, air-conditioning (in our particular room, some don't have it), simple but comfortable room, on the beach, quiet location but close walking to all of Sairee Beach, bars, restaurants down the beach, hot water, enjoys similar vistas to the Grand Coral Resort which is many times more expensive. The landscaping is lush and mature as opposed to many bungalows along the beach we saw that were devoid of any plant life.

*Sam, our waiter every morning was FABULOUS. He is a shining star of this establishment. He was one of the only staff members we felt comfortable with. Gracious, warm, yet reserved, we were sad to leave him.

Cons:
The front desk service is lacking. There is a woman with short hair who barks orders at people and is gruff and unfriendly unless she is trying to sell you ferry boat tickets (which we found WERE cheaper with her). I don't think she is very nice to the other people who work there either. She was helpful with directions and information, but that's about it. The food is so-so, however breakfast was included with our room and you can't complain about breakfast on the beach. The bathroom has a permanently open window which means it's not air conditioned, water pressure was a little lacking. Some trash along the beach, though on Sairee that's true of almost every place you stay.

Overall:

I would stay here again because the location cannot be beat. It's quiet, but still close to everything on Sairee. Not super fancy, but not too rustic either.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eeebeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
516 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Cabana
Koh Tao Cabana
#13 of 140 in Koh Tao
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Leaf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Leaf Resort

Property: Palm Leaf Resort
Address: 15/2 Moo 1 North Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand (Formerly Bow Thong Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Leaf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find us at the north end strip of Sairee Beach. Palm Leaf offers the best view at the bay with its grey boulders and the colourful sea. Just a 5 min walking distance away from the village, it is still a very calm and private place to be. Moreover it is the only snorkeling side at Sairee beach.Set in a nice garden our lovingly furnished bungalows and rooms await your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Leaf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Thong Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing