We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a shame they had to be so grumpy!”
Review of Palm Leaf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Palm Leaf Resort
Ranked #10 of 79 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Yes yes, great location and at the quiter end of the lovely sairee beach. It is such a shame that one of the key female staff members had to be so grumpy. She immediately got upset when we arrived becauseshe had been given mis information about the number of rooms we required, she had held 2 rooms but we only booked 1 and somehow this was our fault. She was also stroppy about the price even when I showed her and e mail from the manager to say we had a reduced rate after Jan 7th. The wait staff are lovely though.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Newyear2010Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 327 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2010

We stayed at Bow Thong having been disappointed with a neighbouring resort with a much higher star rating and price. Our appartment was quite basic - but that's no bad thing. It was clean, had a really large, comfy bed, indoor bathroom, free breakfast and wifi, helpful staff (particularly a woman who reminded us of Jimmy Krankee) and a great location on Sairee beach, close enough to all bars/restaurants but quiet enough to get a decent sleep.

Would def recommend Bow Thong - it's a no-frills, good value place that has everything you could need. Note about Koh Tao - don't go there expecting luxury - the value of this island is the beaches, the sea life and the nightlife.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaMac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

I searched high and low (literally) when I arrived in Koh Tao and had a tough time finding accommodation that was decent at an affordable price. Most of the accommodation on the island is either high end/over-priced or super low end where you feel like your room is a prison cell. Bow Thong is a great mid-range option with very clean and comfortable rooms, right on the beach in Sairee. We had a balcony, a view of the ocean and soft linens for $60/night. Not bad...The rooms are slightly off the beach which means they are quiet, you won't hear the longboats. No swimming pool, but we snuck into the pool at the hotel next door and no one said a word!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paminsiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We stayed at the Bow Thong Resort for 4 nights.

Pros:
Clean rooms, air-conditioning (in our particular room, some don't have it), simple but comfortable room, on the beach, quiet location but close walking to all of Sairee Beach, bars, restaurants down the beach, hot water, enjoys similar vistas to the Grand Coral Resort which is many times more expensive. The landscaping is lush and mature as opposed to many bungalows along the beach we saw that were devoid of any plant life.

*Sam, our waiter every morning was FABULOUS. He is a shining star of this establishment. He was one of the only staff members we felt comfortable with. Gracious, warm, yet reserved, we were sad to leave him.

Cons:
The front desk service is lacking. There is a woman with short hair who barks orders at people and is gruff and unfriendly unless she is trying to sell you ferry boat tickets (which we found WERE cheaper with her). I don't think she is very nice to the other people who work there either. She was helpful with directions and information, but that's about it. The food is so-so, however breakfast was included with our room and you can't complain about breakfast on the beach. The bathroom has a permanently open window which means it's not air conditioned, water pressure was a little lacking. Some trash along the beach, though on Sairee that's true of almost every place you stay.

Overall:

I would stay here again because the location cannot be beat. It's quiet, but still close to everything on Sairee. Not super fancy, but not too rustic either.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eeebeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Tolla00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank tabata74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marley586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#12 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,273 reviews
1.9 mi away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Koh Tao
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
1.6 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,287 reviews
1.7 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Leaf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Leaf Resort

Address: 15/2 Moo 1 North Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand (Formerly Bow Thong Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range: $41 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Leaf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find us at the north end strip of Sairee Beach. Palm Leaf offers the best view at the bay with its grey boulders and the colourful sea. Just a 5 min walking distance away from the village, it is still a very calm and private place to be. Moreover it is the only snorkeling side at Sairee beach.Set in a nice garden our lovingly furnished bungalows and rooms await your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palm Leaf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Thong Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing