We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Palm Leaf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Leaf Resort
Ranked #8 of 76 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed nearly two weeks in May 2013. Initially booked for a few days as we wanted to explore other areas but ended up staying for entire holiday. Bungalow close to the beach was spacious and clean, lady at reception was most helpful as well as fun. Enjoyed chats with Sam, senior waiter, who gave good recommendations. Relaying and quiet holiday with easy access to the busier part of the island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToosG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmleaf K, Reception. at Palm Leaf Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you very to choose to stay with us for whole holiday. We are really appreciate full fill your holiday on the rock. We wish to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    133
    40
    20
    12
See reviews for
47
153
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Too much wind. Trash at the beach. Unfriendly restaurant. Bangalow very old. 700 Baht. But nice garden and quite Place to stay at the party beach. They had only a safety box, when I asked and asked for it. More expensive bungalows has a saftey box in the bungalow, but not safe installed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susasusasusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in June 2013. I definately recommend the deluxe bungalows: spacious, comfortable, clean, and the location (north of Sairee) is just great: silent, really beautiful beach spot, still very close to all the life. The staff (receptionist lady and the most senior waiter at the restaurant) are really helpful, providing very good guideance, they are friendly and funny and they all did all efforts to make our stay great.

Room Tip: Salads and the mango lassi are very nice at the bar. Rent scooter from the receptionist lady (you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmleaf K, Reception at Palm Leaf Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you very much to stay with us and give us very good rating. We are really appreciate to complete your holiday on the paradise. We hope to see you again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

After heaps of research of accommodation on Koh Tao, we chose this place because we could book one of the beachfront bures at a very reasonable price.
We are so pleased we picked this place. The location on Sairee Beach is fantastic. Right at the other end of the beach, far away from the many beachfront bars, but within walking distance.
We had lunch here every day and the food was great.
Sam, one of the waiters at the restaurant was very helpful. No problem to bring a cocktail down to the beach, or to our day bed on the front balcony. We had lunch on our balcony a couple of times too. Thanks for helping to make us feel welcome, Sam.
All in all, this was probably the best hotel/location we stayed at during our 2 weeks away, and was the cheapest.
Have no complaints at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sammy0068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmleaf K, Reception at Palm Leaf Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for stayed with us and all staffs are glad to make your on paradise to be your best vacation. We wish to be one of your choice for next holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
185 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We recently stayed at palm leaf resort for 3 nights and it was so lovely. The bungalow we stayed in was quite spacious and very comfortable. It was a sea view and literally 10 yards from the sea. The bungalows are at the quieter north expand of sairee beach which was lovely although too shallow for a proper swim. Breakfast was included from a choice and was very good. I liked the staff in the little restaurant on the beach and the food was great. I would definitely stay here again as I found it friendly and in a natural , Thai style. It was a lovely walk up the beach in the evening to the busier part of the beach where there are some nice bars...recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirleyVManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We arranged for the hotel to pick us up from the pier prior to arriving. The man who picked us up was waiting next to the pier with a board with our name on it, it was easy to spot.

It took about 10 mins to get to the resort at the north end of Sairee Beach and got dropped off at reception to check in.

We stayed in a superior sea view bungalow about 10 yards from the beach and the restaurant. The room was quite small but we really liked it. The room was all wood inside and bright in the day time. The bathroom was big with a nice shower area.

The view from the room and the terrace balcony was really nice, we liked to chill on there with a Chang and watch the sunset at night.

The beach was nice and quiet, the sand wasn't the softest but it was ok, The sea was perfect, you could walk out really far and it was really warm. If you venture out near the rocks look out for the sea urchins, i didn't!!

The resort is about a 10 minute walk up the beach from the bars and restaurants some of which are very nice.

There was a bit of noise from long tail boats early in the morning a couple of times, and the sound of bass one of the nights from a bar up the beach, but it didn't ruin our stay.

The hotel restaurant served nice food and cheap drinks at happy hour.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WilkoNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Reading other reviews I think there's an element of luck in making a stay more memorable than another. For example my girlfriend and I spent some great days in this resort. We were given a brand new bungalow, 30 seconds away from the beach, and it was clean, big, comfortable and very modern. We loved the food at Palm Leaf and the drinks, and enjoyed swimming there. I preferred the local receptionists to the intern from Europe as they were more helpful and laid back. I would go back anytime. I also enjoyed the dedication shown by the manager and the way he made sure all the residents were having a great time. Next to the resort, on the right hand while looking at the beach, there was also a great restaurant. And the beach was fun at night, with fire-jugglers and parties. Highly recommended is a snorkelling trip and a visit to Koh Nang Yuan.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedritissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmleaf K, Reception at Palm Leaf Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for stayed with us. We are please to welcome you back and make you feel like second home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Cabana
Koh Tao Cabana
#11 of 138 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#5 of 138 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Leaf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Leaf Resort

Property: Palm Leaf Resort
Address: 15/2 Moo 1 North Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand (Formerly Bow Thong Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Leaf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find us at the north end strip of Sairee Beach. Palm Leaf offers the best view at the bay with its grey boulders and the colourful sea. Just a 5 min walking distance away from the village, it is still a very calm and private place to be. Moreover it is the only snorkeling side at Sairee beach.Set in a nice garden our lovingly furnished bungalows and rooms await your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Leaf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Thong Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing