We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bungalow and beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Leaf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palm Leaf Resort
Ranked #8 of 73 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Nottingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great bungalow and beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We arranged for the hotel to pick us up from the pier prior to arriving. The man who picked us up was waiting next to the pier with a board with our name on it, it was easy to spot.

It took about 10 mins to get to the resort at the north end of Sairee Beach and got dropped off at reception to check in.

We stayed in a superior sea view bungalow about 10 yards from the beach and the restaurant. The room was quite small but we really liked it. The room was all wood inside and bright in the day time. The bathroom was big with a nice shower area.

The view from the room and the terrace balcony was really nice, we liked to chill on there with a Chang and watch the sunset at night.

The beach was nice and quiet, the sand wasn't the softest but it was ok, The sea was perfect, you could walk out really far and it was really warm. If you venture out near the rocks look out for the sea urchins, i didn't!!

The resort is about a 10 minute walk up the beach from the bars and restaurants some of which are very nice.

There was a bit of noise from long tail boats early in the morning a couple of times, and the sound of bass one of the nights from a bar up the beach, but it didn't ruin our stay.

The hotel restaurant served nice food and cheap drinks at happy hour.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WilkoNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    130
    38
    20
    12
See reviews for
47
148
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Reading other reviews I think there's an element of luck in making a stay more memorable than another. For example my girlfriend and I spent some great days in this resort. We were given a brand new bungalow, 30 seconds away from the beach, and it was clean, big, comfortable and very modern. We loved the food at Palm Leaf and the drinks, and enjoyed swimming there. I preferred the local receptionists to the intern from Europe as they were more helpful and laid back. I would go back anytime. I also enjoyed the dedication shown by the manager and the way he made sure all the residents were having a great time. Next to the resort, on the right hand while looking at the beach, there was also a great restaurant. And the beach was fun at night, with fire-jugglers and parties. Highly recommended is a snorkelling trip and a visit to Koh Nang Yuan.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedritissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmleaf K, Reception at Palm Leaf Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for stayed with us. We are please to welcome you back and make you feel like second home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

The beach had very rough sand which made it hard to walk and there are spiky sea urchins so wear water shoes and be careful where you step. The water is crazy warm if not hot, so the lack of a pool at this resort is quite apparent. The basic bungalows were quite small and the bathroom even smaller. You can hit your head on the sink when you use the toilet. Be prepared to have a soaking bathroom when you take a shower. The drain is about one foot long and the water dumps into the ground from above, no direct plumbing. This allows easy entry for ants but after you spray them away, it's not so bad. Theres no tv, just a bed, bare bones. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed i had slept on in thailand. It was crazy squeaky and had a ridge of springs jutting out right down the center where your spine would rest. the pillows where hard and we both ended up with neck, back and hip pain. the resort lost power and the manager giggled as each bungalow reported it. The restaurant closes at 8pm but there's lots of places to eat on the beach. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nernsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
170 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Nice and friendly people, perfect pad thai, excellent snorkelling!
The hotel is far from the noisy of the main Sairee Beach center. The beach is better there and there are many many coloured fishs and corals at the rocks.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neidek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great location at the North end of the beach. There is much less boat traffic (noise) compared to down the beach. The beds are firm, like most of Thailand.
Quite with a short walk down the beach to town. Our deluxe villa was clean and big enough for three of us. The A/C was cold and the shower was hot enough.
We found the front desk, Caroline & Fon, to be very helpful. They really helped us out when ever they could.
The food is OK, but we usually walked down the beach to eat.
Sitting out front in the water watching the sunset was a nightly ritual for us. Beautiful!
We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had a great time in the Palm Leaf Resort. The price for our bungalow was slightly higher than what we wished for but reading the other reviews we got a great deal (I believe we paid 1200 bht/night), probably because there was a construction going on behind our place. Our bungalow was clean and cozy. The resort is right on the beach and there is a restaurant as well, so you do not necessarily have a reason to leave. The staff was friendly and nice, it had a feel of a youth hostel. We made friends with one of the Burmese waiters and he was giving us recommendations on what to do on the island. He recommended a guy to hire for a snorkeling trip around the island who kind of ripped us of. So be careful - my observation was that the Thai people are ready to take whatever they can, other service staff is more honest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in a bungalow with a bit of a beach view. It seemed very overpriced for the facilities and services provided. We did like being on the end of the beach with more of a beach/sand area and less traffic. Front desk staff wasn't very helpful and an average breakfast. All in all, it was fine, just underwhelming.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMC4466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#16 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Cabana
Koh Tao Cabana
#11 of 135 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Leaf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Leaf Resort

Property: Palm Leaf Resort
Address: 15/2 Moo 1 North Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand (Formerly Bow Thong Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Leaf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find us at the north end strip of Sairee Beach. Palm Leaf offers the best view at the bay with its grey boulders and the colourful sea. Just a 5 min walking distance away from the village, it is still a very calm and private place to be. Moreover it is the only snorkeling side at Sairee beach.Set in a nice garden our lovingly furnished bungalows and rooms await your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Palm Leaf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Thong Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing