We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot........great place”
Review of Palm Leaf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palm Leaf Resort
Ranked #8 of 76 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot........great place”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

End of Sairee beach.....very quiet (although they having some construction currently during the day). Staff very attentive. Easy to walk into town on the beach or on the road. Highly recommend. Nice rooms, and everything worked!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    133
    40
    20
    12
See reviews for
47
153
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

We just loved and certainly a place to come back! We always had fun and even the outnumbered dogs that live around were nice. We lately realized that the food was simply amazing in this place and a perfect spot for a romantic night

Stayed November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Andre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We moved to Bow Thong after staying for 1 night at Silver Sands / Big Blue. We moved because it was too close to the bar and was very loud until all hours of the night.
We stayed at Bow Thong for 6 nights, and loved every minute of it! The staff were very friendly and had a good sense of humour. Although the speed of service left something to be desired, (and your drink may show up after you've finished your food!) we soon learned that is just the way things are in laid back Thailand! The food was ok, but I think a bit pricey compared to what you could get at other places nearby, so we didn't eat there very often (I suggest Blue Wind Bakery for breakfast...only a very short walk away). The rooms were cleaned every day, the grounds and beach were also kept neat and tidy. We stayed in the one up / one down bungalows a bit further back from the beach. They were very nice, good size, clean bathroom but the bed was not the most comfortable.
It was a beautiful resort located on the best part of Sairee Beach in my opinion. The water was shallow for a long way out, and the sand in the water was lovely and soft so you didn't have to worry about treading on rock or coral. It was very relaxed, not as much foot traffic as other areas it is at one end of the beach, but only a short walk (not even 5 minutes) to all the action. It was great that we could relax all day on the quiet beach, walk to the loud bits at night and have a leisurely stroll back along the beach to our quiet hotel. It really was paradise!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tan_gerine77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at this resort in March. It is in an ideal location if you need peace and quiet especially at night, and it is a short and very pleasant walk to the 'town', if walking on the beach. Some of the accommodation's more rustic than others. We stayed in one of the older huts, and while it was basically comfortable, if I were to return in the future, I'd ask for one of the newer cottages. The gardens are well maintained and adds to the charm of the place. The view in that area is absolutely beautiful, and the beach, especially at low tide is amazing. You can walk out forever and not get in to deep waters which was great. We found the staff especially Som, the young Thai woman in reception to be very friendly and helpful. She is a no-nonsense sort of person, but it is a good thing that she is as I witnessed several instances where she had to be tough. On the other hand, she was so very kind to my husband and I during our stay - my husband had become very sick and needed medical attention. She willingly and immediately left the resort, and brought back medical staff from the clinic to attend to him, stayed with us during his check-up, and always asked about his well-being. She readily acknowledged us with a smile and wave whenever we'd see her zipping by on her motorbike.
Some people have good experiences here, some have not so good. We would return to Bow Thong if ever we go back to Koh Tao.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pru49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

After a short stay somewhere else we move to this location.
We had a beach front view which was not the cheapest, but the amount we pay(£80) a night it is not that expensive either.
The staff were amazing, the beach clean and the sea was very shallow for a very long way out.
My only moan is as in all of Koh Tao, there are a lot of dogs and some mornings they did like to bark at nothing.
The main town is about 300m away, but a beautiful walk along the beach is great and you do not here anything at night

When we come back this is the only place for us

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zackattard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diest
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2012

In Fef-March we stayed 10 days at Bow Thong resort. We absolutely loved the place and the peolpe.
You get a free transfer to and fro the pier. The owner (Tony with whome I e-mailed and immediately got respons) took the time to greet us personnaly and showed us around in the room. We stayed at very luxureous resorts at different places in the world but the luxery, beach bungalow is up un till now our fouverate!!! You're 10 min. walk on the beach away from the husstle & bussle of the center if you want it, but are nice and relaxed if you stay put and taste the great food of the Thai specialty chef. Hmmm delicious food, and briljant service especially from Sam and the other waiters!
If you're looking for an all In resort with a rather posh mentallity I thing you won't like it, but if you want a relaxed admosphere, great food, a very cosey room with a view to die for don't hesitate book Bow Thong!!!!

Room Tip: If it fits your travelbudget, take a deluxe beachfront bungalow!!! it is absolutely fantastic, right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlies W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We've been to Bow Thong twice, it's quite peaceful but still walking distance from the more lively areas. Even the standard air-con bungalows are pleasant and confy. Food is excellent, view is superb and staff is nice. The owner is (or at least used to be) in active co-op with the animal rescue clinic, so there are a couple of cute dogs hanging around to be patted.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Empiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.4 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
2.7 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#17 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Koh Tao Cabana
Koh Tao Cabana
#11 of 138 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sairee Cottage Resort
Sairee Cottage Resort
#5 of 138 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Leaf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Leaf Resort

Property: Palm Leaf Resort
Address: 15/2 Moo 1 North Sairee Beach, Koh Tao, Thailand (Formerly Bow Thong Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Leaf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find us at the north end strip of Sairee Beach. Palm Leaf offers the best view at the bay with its grey boulders and the colourful sea. Just a 5 min walking distance away from the village, it is still a very calm and private place to be. Moreover it is the only snorkeling side at Sairee beach.Set in a nice garden our lovingly furnished bungalows and rooms await your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Leaf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Thong Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing