We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveler rating
119
147
51
26
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
147
51
26
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sairee beach standard bungalow beachfront bungalow beach front perfect location air con sea view walk into town light sleeper sun loungers easy access main beach long tail boat bars restaurants my girlfriend fon thailand
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 357 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Clean and nice bungalows, friendly staff and atmosphere.

Not to close from the bars which is better at night (less noise) but still close to the center.
The dive club next to it is great.
The drawback of being at the end of the beach is that you do not see the full sunset (in the end the sun is behind the mountain) but the full view is a few minutes walk.

Breakfast ok and on the beach.

Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vince02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Although it was the peak season for what we got ,it was VERY expensive .The most expensive hotel we have ever stayed in Thailand . It would not have been too bad if they had given us nice rooms ,but they stuck us in a very dirty ,very shabby old apartment block .No mention of this was made when we paid the £80 per night for 2 rooms [4 people ]They disguise this fact by calling it a 'standard building with a/c .As we were only there for 4 nights we put up with this as the location was great ,right on the beach .
Breakfast was extremely poor ,basic and poltry ,and the Thai woman who hangs around the restaurant trying to sell trips is annoying and nosey .
Think by now you would have probally guessed that we will not be returning to Bow Thong ,there are much better quality and cleaner hotels on Koh Tao .

Room Tip: If you are willing to pay the extra then the huts look nice from the outside ,- don t know about the inside
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frustrated31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We checked into the Bowthong two nights ago for a two night stay. There wasn't anyone available to help bring our bags to the room so we had to drag our bags through the sand about 200m, not a great start but ok. While checking into our room, my boyfriend asked if they had any shampoo. The short haired abrupt woman who goes by "Fantastic" responded " for this room you get shampoo or soap but not both". The room was 2700 baht by the way. The shower towels and beach towels are rough rags. When we came back from dinner the 1st night there was a huge roach on the bathroom counter. There was another one in the shower at around 1am. At this point we covered the bathroom drain with a mug thinking it would block the roaches. When the ladies came to clean the room the next day, they never cleaned the bathroom. They said they did even though my hair and cup were still on the drain. They came back and sprayed down the floor with the shower sprayer, Took the same mug from the floor, didn't wash it, and put it back in the basket as clean for us, right in front of my bf. It was so disgusting! During our second night we saw another roach in the bathroom as well. The beach is great but that may not be enough to counter the abrasive treatment the staff dishes to the guests as well as an apparent roach infestation. We have stayed in other places in koh Tao and seeing insects and other wildlife in your room is pretty par for course but these roaches were not.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank propdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

My partner & I chose bow thong mostly due to location & price. It cost 1600 THB per night for an air conditioned bungalow right next to the beach. It is in north Sairee, so is a quick 5-10 min walk to resaurants/bars etc. There is a fabulous restaurant just north of Sairee (in koh Tao cabana) which we highly recommend too for views, taste & price. The only drawback from this place (keeping in mind, it's my personal opinion) is there is no hammock on the verandah- only chairs & table.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amesnmatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We stayed here for week whilst visting a family member on the island. Our bungalow was on the furthest side of the resort next to Koh Tao Cabana and I would recomend staying in that part . The bungalow was basic but spotless and the cleaning staff and gardeners were very friendly. The landscaping was lovely and the borders in front of each bungalow filled with a variety of shrubs and flowers. It was a great place for huge and beautiful butterflies, the ubiquitous mynah birds, geckos and the koel calling all day long.

The restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful and, like everyone else we found 'Sam' (real name Manoj) to be a total star. We only ate breakfast here as it was part of the package - although the owner 'forgot' to tell us and it was only when Manoj asked after a few days if we were on a fast that we realised. Breakfast was ok but the location made up for that. There is better food to be had for a similar price, either along the beach or in Sairee.

It was rumoured that the staff don't get the tips left in the box on reception and that if the owner discovers that money is left for staff it is docked from their pay. We made certain that money changed hands surreptitiously as wages on Koh Tao are abysmal.

The location is amazing as it is on the far end of Sairee and in amongst the much more expensive resorts. It's an easy 10 -15 minute walk to the bars, shops & restaurants in Sairee and you can go on the road or via the beach. You can walk to Mae Haad but it's a bit of a stretch in the heat and there are lots of taxis avaliable in Sairee if you haven't hired a scooter. Restaurants up on the hills will offer a pick up & drop off service if you ring and book a table in advance.

Whatever your reason for visiting make sure you take a long tail snorkelling trip around the island.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klaxon2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews