We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rooms and restaurant ok,”
Review of Wind Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wind Beach Resort
Ranked #59 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The rooms are not bad but i have stayed in places n thailand were we got the same quality for half the price.... but Koh Tao is more expensive so perhaps it wasn't bad... on the other hand the service at the restaurant wasn't the best... particularly if u wanted an early breakfast, they say the kitchen open @7am but in truth u can't order b4 7:30....

Also If you want to rest and relax i would NOT recommend this resort. they play loud music all afternoon and into the night... although the music from their own bar finishes around 11pm you can still hear the music from the neighbouring bars.... However if what u want to do is party this could be the ideal setting, their lounge area byt the beach is lovely...

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
There are newer reviews for Wind Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 379 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

Must be under new management, the staff used to be super friendly but now seem like they're doing you a favour by bringing you a drink! Could be a great place if run properly, it's a shame because I used to love this bar. Can't speak for the accomodation but I'd go somewhere that appreciates your custom. Amazing location and great music, that's all.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cdillinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here lady year just for one night on our honeymoon and fell in love with koh tao and the atmosphere of the place! We had a brilliant night at the wind beach bar and got drunk watching the sunset and fire shows! The staff were amazing and couldn't be more helpful, one attentive waiter even found my husbands wedding ring the next morning, luckily for him!!!

However the room was disgusting and felt like a prison cell! To be fair we only paid for a fan room and prices on koh Tao are quite expensive so we weren't expecting much but It was unclean, uncomfortable, no frills at all and full of insects!

Therefore this year we have come back for 4 days and have chosen to stay elsewhere but were still looking forward to going back to wind beach bar! We did last night and were so disappointed, the dj and location are perfect and both create the perfect atmosphere, however this is completely ruined by the rude and surly staff...all of them! You have to fight for their attention to order food or a drink, one even rolled his eyes when I asked if I could order one and then you won't see them for the rest if the night! Eventually we had enough and asked for the bill, which initially was 400baht too much! Then we went to choppers, which is in sasairee village. It's not right on the beach but the staff are great, food was brilliant, drinks are cheap and brilliant live music!

Do yourself a favour stay away from here and walk to the beach!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed in wind beach for 4 nights in koh Tao. The first 2 nights we stayed in a fan room which was really cheap but not worth the torture you put yourself through with the heat! The room itself was small but you get what you pay for. The 2nd 2 nights we upgraded to an aircon room for not much extra -well worth it! Bigger cleaner and newer rooms! Other than that the location of the hotel is perfect, right in the beach with a nice deck area to sit and relax and take in the amazing sunset!
They have special offers in the restaurant at night from 6-9 with 90thb for DELICIOUS Thai food and 100thb cocktails. The dj played really good music creating a chilled atmosphere. We really felt we hit the jackpot finding the wind beach! Cheap food accommodation and drink in a great location! Couldn't ask for more!!

Room Tip: Get the aircon rooms! Fan rooms are still too hot!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We booked this online from Ko Phagnan as we had heard that the island was going to be very busy. Big mistake. Fair enough, we got picked up by taxi from the ferry terminal and taken to the resort. On arrival we were told that our booking through laterooms.com was incorrect, we had asked for a twin room but they only provide double room bungalows. Surely their fault, not laterooms! Anyway, we were shown to a twin room with a balcony which overlooked a bike workshop. The beds had mattresses you'd probably find better in the street. No air con but two fans, one of which was broken. The room had a back door and I was curious to find out was was behind it. A tiny courtyard for hanging clothes and beyond an open sewer. "Forget this", I thought, and decided to look for something better. In the end we went to the Regal, which was only 300bhat extra a night (£7) and soooo much nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lord Forbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had a terrible experience at this hotel. Initially booked a room with just a fan as everywhere on Koh Tao is pretty expensive in comparison to the rest of Thailand. Was literally unbearable. We moved rooms the next night for an extra 400 baht per room to one with air conditioning. My room was infested with cockroaches!!! When we got back to our room at around midnight there were about 6 in the room flying around and some dead on the floor. No-one was around the complex to talk to so we ended up having to sleep in our friends room for the night. When we told the manager the next morning, he didn't seem surprised and simply got out a can of insect repellent. We insisted on a new room which was luckily free from cockroaches but still swarming with mosquitoes. The rooms aren't clean, sheets are torn and stained and hairs in the bed. The staff, particularly the managed are extremely unfriendly. The only thing that has saved this hotel is the amazing beach location. Personally I would rather have a clean room, bug-free and walk to the beach! I would definitely not recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Staying on koh tao to do a PADI and stayed at wind resort

Room is basic but fine for the price but what isn't good is the bar immediately adjacent that plays music until 2am into your window. This I didn't mind as much as the other party patrons who playedusic loud until 5/6 am and when asked to turn it down provide threats profanity and abuse.

If you want a quiet stay on a gorgeous island wind resort is not the place to stay

We'll be moving in the morning

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpbingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Resort
#72 of 142 in Koh Tao
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saireehut Resort
Saireehut Resort
#93 of 142 in Koh Tao
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lotus Paradise Resort
Lotus Paradise Resort
#57 of 77 in Koh Tao
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wind Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind Beach Resort

Address: 17 Moo 1 Haad Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range: $38 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wind Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wind Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wind Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing