We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWFUL!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wind Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wind Beach Resort
Ranked #38 of 73 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Derby
2 reviews
“AWFUL!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had a terrible experience at this hotel. Initially booked a room with just a fan as everywhere on Koh Tao is pretty expensive in comparison to the rest of Thailand. Was literally unbearable. We moved rooms the next night for an extra 400 baht per room to one with air conditioning. My room was infested with cockroaches!!! When we got back to our room at around midnight there were about 6 in the room flying around and some dead on the floor. No-one was around the complex to talk to so we ended up having to sleep in our friends room for the night. When we told the manager the next morning, he didn't seem surprised and simply got out a can of insect repellent. We insisted on a new room which was luckily free from cockroaches but still swarming with mosquitoes. The rooms aren't clean, sheets are torn and stained and hairs in the bed. The staff, particularly the managed are extremely unfriendly. The only thing that has saved this hotel is the amazing beach location. Personally I would rather have a clean room, bug-free and walk to the beach! I would definitely not recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    95
    85
    56
    63
See reviews for
19
171
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Staying on koh tao to do a PADI and stayed at wind resort

Room is basic but fine for the price but what isn't good is the bar immediately adjacent that plays music until 2am into your window. This I didn't mind as much as the other party patrons who playedusic loud until 5/6 am and when asked to turn it down provide threats profanity and abuse.

If you want a quiet stay on a gorgeous island wind resort is not the place to stay

We'll be moving in the morning

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpbingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We wasn't diving on Koh Tao and stayed here for 4 nights...although it was overcast we still lounged about on the beds outside the restaurant catching the sun through the clouds and just relaxing! It was great location and close to beach bars and the little town where all restaurants and bars are. Basic fan room with en suite was average - but good for the price we was paying! Had some friends in our room - gheckos! But no bed bugs or cockroaches! Good place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We were only planning on staying in Koh Tao for 2 nights, but happened to walk past Wind Beach Resort and fell in love with their deluxe bungalow suite (V15) and ended up spending the rest of our vacation there! Not only is it in a fantastic location with great staff, they also have a DJ that plays on their part of the beach a few nights a week. Amazing value- I would highly recommend this spot.

Room Tip: We stayed in a deluce bungalow suite (I think it was called!)...our suite # was V15. I would highly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMissMayhem29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

This place is literally on Sairee beach, close enough to all the bars/dive shops yet far enough away that noise is not an issue. The restaurant is fairly nice, although the kitchen seems to get orders wrong frequently which can be frustrating (especially when they don't offer to fix the mistake). There is a really nice lady called Deco (westerner) that is helping to run the place which has made a huge difference.

The dive shop (simple life) seems to be filled with wankers, so if you're thinking of doing any certification I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

The resort is located on the north end of Sairee beach and has a lovely restaurant right on the beach, as well as a massage place. Wifi is available in the restaurant and rooms. I stayed in a double room with fan, which was huge and the bed seemed to be kingsize. Cold water showers. The only drawback was that at 8am construction workers started work right outside the building, so it got very noisy. There is a diving company "Simple Life Divers" located within the resort, which offers all the PADI courses and the instructors are great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver BC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Resort 'on' the beach on Koh Tao, about ten minutes by taxi from the ferry. The ferry dock is a walkable distance along a paved path from the resort. The path is parallel to the beach and about 200 feet above the beach. The resort streches back from the beach some distance on a narrow paved walkway. The rooms are nice, staff friendly, has wifi. Meals(breakfast included) are decent. Coffee is Nescafe and seconds are not free. Annoying.
Dinners are served ''on'' the beach, Thai style.
Swimming is ok at this beach, though at low tide, its just wading. Staff apparently don't swim at this beach. The resort has kayaks for rental. The island is known for its diving and snorkeling, but not at this beach. The water is quite cloudy.

Room Tip: Closer to the beach is usually better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank landcruiser71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
0.1 mi away
Anankhira Villas
Anankhira Villas
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#28 of 49 in Koh Tao
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.0 mi away
Saireehut Resort
Saireehut Resort
#88 of 135 in Koh Tao
3.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wind Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind Beach Resort

Property: Wind Beach Resort
Address: 17 Moo 1 Haad Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wind Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Wind Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wind Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing