We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Elsewhere - Terrible Rooms”
Review of Wind Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wind Beach Resort
Ranked #49 of 77 Koh Tao B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Stay Elsewhere - Terrible Rooms”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Backpacking as a couple we stayed here for four nights from 8 Dec 2011. Three nights of the accommodation were included in a PADI course with Simple Life Divers, but we needed to stay an extra night which we arranged on arrival with the hotel for 500THB. For this price we got an en suite double room with cold shower and a fan. The room was very tatty and basic and generally a let down. Based on our experience, I wouldn't recommend staying here.

We actually arrived at the resort after a long journey from Bangkok and were shown to a room that literally had a building site right outside. They were apparently demolishing an old building and building a new one so the construction noise will be around for a while. The noise was incredible and the building shook frequently which was pretty disconcerting. Moreover, the curtains didn't cover the windows properly so the builders had a great view straight into our room - not great for privacy. We were genuinely surprised they were still putting people into this room.

After some negotiation, we managed to get a new room and refused to pay any more for it. It was in the same old block but on the other side of the corridor so not facing the building site. It was still, tatty and noisy and the building still shook but it was a small improvement.

POSITIVES
The actual resort restaurant/bar was really nice. It was set right on the beach and was full of cushions to relax and chill out on. Between 6-8pm the bar served 100THB cocktails which were really good.
The staff were great and extremely helpful and friendly.

NEGATIVES
The rooms that we saw really were of a poor standard - the construction work made this even worse. The first room that we saw was not fit to live in and the second was only barely liveable. If we weren't travelling on a budget we would have written the money off and moved elsewhere.

SUMMARY
We simply cannot recommend that you stay here. Look somewhere else instead. If it's a freebie thrown in with your diving,ask for the money instead and look elsewhere - I know that a guy on my PADI course did this and Simple Life Divers were cool with it. Please note, that there are some newer but far more expensive rooms/bungalows at this resort which may be better than the rooms that we saw.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willomanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    100
    88
    58
    68
See reviews for
20
178
27
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Koh tao, or Turtle Island, is one of many tastes of paradise that Thailand has to offer. It is full of beauty, activity, and nightlife for those young at heart.
This little island is nestled along the South East coast of Thailand. It is known as a diver’s paradise, but is great for people from all walks of life. From romance to whale sharks, I promise, you will not be disappointed.
The west side is for those looking for a little sleep and relaxation by day. Here you will find the great Sairee beach, where it is busy with restaurants and shops, Soft quiet sandy beaches and lots of fellow travellers by day. By night, bars, clubs come alive, and fire throwers light up the sky. Nightly, there is a Queens Cabaret, a wonderfully entertaining show which is free and a riot! Don’t sit too close to the front if you are shy! Follow the show up with a few drinks at Chopper, the local bar and grill. This is a great place to listen to music and make new friends. Then, it’s time to see the real Koh Tao nightlife at Lotus bar. No matter what the occasion, this bar is always bumpin’. Located right on the water with free nightly fire shows (donations appreciated), you can’t pass it up! Grab yourself a bucket and mingle! Can’t find Lotus? Just listen for music and people at about midnight and you will find your way. Finally, If you are a real night owl and are still looking for trouble, check out Office bar. Office is small and quaint, and full of local divers and friends.
A day trip worth mentioning from Sairee is to Koh NangYuan. You hop on a longtail and enjoy the view for about 10 minutes. You will arrive at a strange wobbling dock that will lead you to paradise! Nangyuan is a serene place where you can really relax. Take a mask, snorkel this amazing inlet, and feed tropical fish by hand! Mae Haad Beach is located just south of Sairee and has countless shops and eateries to explore as well.
Stay at the wind beach resort. It has a GREAT location on the beach, is a fair price, has great food, and the people who work there are awesome!

Room Tip: I like the cabanas near the beach, but the rooms at the back have A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

My partner and I stayed here whilst visiting the island for a wedding. Absolute bargain for the price we paid. Loved the staff, room and food. There is such a relaxed and inviting atmosphere to the place. Beautiful setting too! We shall definitely return to Wind Beach should we go back to Koh Tao...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We ate here several times as the green chicken curry was delicious and the staff was friendly, it was in front of Sairee beach and had free internet acces. There was also a free pool table and alwas had a nice chilled out atmosphere. The place was offering accomodation as well but we can not review on that. I would recommend this place to eat and chill out.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NuriaBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

So this place is cheap, relatively speaking! We got a room, like the terrace bungalow, not the hut for B1000 per night for 5 nights low season! On first impression the place seems ok, it has AC, TV and hot water! That is about it!
We left after 2 nights, the bathroom wasn't very clean there was mould on the ceiling and the water smelled when it was running. Also on the bed there was a sheet on the bottom and a towelling sheet on top so very rough to sleep under also there were stains on the bed clothes. We were there for two nights and on the room was never cleaned, when you consider that you have to put toilet paper in the bin and not down the toilet (as is common in Asia) this is really disgusting!
There seem to be a lot of staff but I have no idea what they do, when we were at the beach bar they never even offered us a menu and seemed put out when we ordered a drink. There was on girl there who was lovely but that was it we couldn't wait to get out!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie_D53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Koh Tao hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We booked an air-conditioned room for 3 nights for around 1500 baht / night (not cheap, huh?) When we checked in, we found that the floor of the room is full of sand and the bedsheets looked yellow in color. We doubted that if anyone cleaned up the room...Ok...fine...and then in the middle of the night, I felt quite uncomfortable while sleeping on the bed. When I opened my eyes, I saw a COCKROACH on the bed!!!! I quickly turned on the light and my boyfriend even found another COCKROACH in the toilet!!! Oh my god....we couldn't stand with it at all. Therefore, on the next day, we booked another room nearby which is very clean and tidy. It costs only 1000baht / night. Actually there are many nice hotels nearby offering good rooms.

Undeniably, this "resort" is just next to Sairee Beach which is very convenient in terms of location, but think twice before booking it. If you want to sleep in such a dirty room, go ahead!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Friendly staff, great location clean rooms and not very expensive. I stayed for 1 month as i liked it so much

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benwhitney123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
516 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saireehut Resort
Saireehut Resort
#95 of 140 in Koh Tao
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Beach Resort
Grand Beach Resort
#54 of 140 in Koh Tao
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
#42 of 49 in Koh Tao
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lotus Paradise Resort
Lotus Paradise Resort
#59 of 77 in Koh Tao
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wind Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wind Beach Resort

Property: Wind Beach Resort
Address: 17 Moo 1 Haad Sairee, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wind Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wind Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wind Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing