We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very bad choice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Haadtien Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very bad choice.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed a few days at Haad Tien, and it was for sure a very bad idea. The hotel seems lovely on internet, but the management and service is so bad that your stay risks to be ruined. Haad Tien claims to be a luxurious hotel on the internet, but when you will be arrived, you will realize that Haad Tien has definitely nothing of a luxurious hotel, except the price. Thailand's Hotel standard are really higher.
Four points disadvantaged Haad Tien: an incredibly poor service, a staff absolutely not friendly and not professional (probably they are payed so low that Haad Tien can get only employees without any training, most of the staff doesn't speak english, or just a few words), it's totally secluded and you will feel in jail as there is no proper shuttle to go to the other part of the island, and the price is very expensive for this low service level.
* The hotel is isolated from everything: Island's life is on Sairee Beach, far away from the hotel. You will quickly feel trapped: no other choice that spend the whole day at the beach, the diving club and the restaurant of the hotel.
* About the restaurant, price is really overrated for thailand, low quality food, execrable service, lazzy and inefficient staff. Breakfast is the worst: bad food, not a lot of choice, nullity and harshness of the dedicated staff.
* About the beach: it is dirty and crowded as not really private, many tourists from resorts all around go there. The beach is very windy. When we were there, the waves and the winds made the beach very unconfortable. Only one solution, going to the very crowded pool, and fight to get a sunbed...
Of course, you can escape from this trap and go back to civilization, enjoying a nice moment at the super cool Sairee Beach, where the beach is very nice, sheltered from the winds. You can enjoy there a very good time, especially at the end of the day, so many nice bar and excellent Thai restaurant at reasonable prices, where you can enjoy delicious catch of the day. At Sairee Beach you can find many diving schools much better and much cheaper that the dive center of the resort.
* The free shuttle organized by the hotel stop only to the port to pick up new guests. Port has no interest. It is only at 3 km from Sairee Beach, but you have to pay an extra to go there, and there is no way back from Sairee Beach. Transfert is done with a very old truck, the kind of trucks used to carry cattles: no seat, just a bench, no seat belt , the driver traveling at breakneck speed on a bumpy road... It doesn't reply to the safety standard of an occidental hote: simply scandalous to play with guest's life !!!!
There is only two free-shuttles a day, and time schedule seems to be made just to be the most inconvenient to you; that you stay at the hotel and spend all your money there (as soon as you arrive, you will understand that Haad Tien is all about catching your money, not making your stay nice and unforgettable).
* Of course, if you pay 800 bahts the hotel can organize for you a transfert in a air-conditionned four wheel drive at your time (800 baths for the return trip for 2 people, same price for a taxi, but there is no taxi waiting for you in front of the hotel) . We did this choice and spent our time on Sairee beach , for a transport budget of € 40 per day for two return trip a day (expensive in thailand, for 40 euros you can have easily an excellent lunch and a nice dinner for two guests in good restaurants).

* About the noise of the work (many complaints on other reviews, they construct new building next to the Haad Tien): noise was not very disturbing during our stay. But Haad Tien will be very soon a nightmare when all this new blocks open and full of tourists. The site will be really overcrowded, then he hotel facilities are already under capacity.
* Wellcome and Front desk - no smile, just exasperated sighs , only one concern : to make you pay the entire stay ( it reminds me Youth Hotel, i never saw that in a high standard hotel ...). Except a Swiss trainee, nobody was friendly at the front desk. And they were all of them totally unable to manage any request... Just repeting: i will report to my manager, he will go back to you, but management should be so busy to fix all this mess that you will never have any answer.
* Most of the bungalows have no privacy (large window on the alley where everybody walk). The villa are supposed to be designed in an "eco"style, in fact they are just designed in a very cheap style. Toilets are separated of the rooms by a simple curtain.
I can definitely not recommend this hotel at my worst ennemy, it's pretentious and expensive... It's a scam, that's it.

Room Tip: Avoid bungalow on the beach front: you have an ocean view, but all walking guest have a view inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SarahUK s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    415
    227
    128
    83
See reviews for
226
851
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Although the website stated that the refurbishment was going to be finished when we arrived, works were still taken place and I think they were disturbing in this peaceful environment and location during our stay in the Beach Club Hotel or when being in the restaurant.

However we moved during the 2nd and 3rd night to our Cast Away Beach Villa which we booked, from there you couldnt hear the construction work and the Villa and view were absolutely breathtaking! The villas are literally placed on the beach which is amazing, also they are build from very highly quality materials and spotless clean.

Despite the reviews down here about the staff, we found them all very hospitable and friendly.

Lastly our experience with the onside diving school was also very good, they are highly professional and their equipment is of a high standard, obviously you pay for this compared to the other diving schools in town but in my opinion its worth paying the opinion.

We would definitely go back her, in particular when all the works are completed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We don't usually stay in luxurious places but this seem to us as a brilliant blend between luxury and comfort. At Haad tien luxury is first the location and second everything you need to relax. Overwhelming cleanness, great staff, best service and perfect style. Thanks again from Prague.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jiri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

I booked this resort full of enthusiasm and excitement only to have that dampened by some reviews about poor service and miserable staff...
I should have just stuck with excitement, from arrival through to checkout I can't fault any of them at all.
Arrival at the boat was spot in, there was a delay of about 5 mins whilst the bus came back from the previous drop off but the male staff member who was with is was polite and chatted away about things to do and see and it was a great start. Check in was no issues, we arrived at 10am and the room wasn't ready (no issues there check in isn't until 2pm) however armed with beach towels we went to the infinity pool in the gardens, lovely and I can't fault it.
Once we got to the room and I officially had my socks blown off at how amazing it was (cast away villa) we settled in the sun lounges in out private area in front of the villa.
We booked some excursions and mixed those with lazing around the resort the rest of the time.
The hotel also provides shuttles to the main towns with collections to at set times.
The prices were a little high but in line with this resort and to be expected, in fact it's still cheaper than places in bohput on koh samui! This is my only gripe though, ALL prices are subject to a 10% service charge and 7% VAT. Whilst I understand that's the case everywhere I don't understand why they can't lump it all on as one price and state it's included rather than having to work it out yourself, it adds up after a while!
But that is my only negative of the whole experience!
The staff are ALL lovely and smile, it really makes a difference. The food is nice, the resort is picture perfect and the room was amazing.
I would happily stay again and as it was I didn't want to leave!
I really do recommend this resort and indeed ko tao as a quite island retreat, get a snorkel too as there's lots to see under the sea, you may even find nemo along the way!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mooky9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Where to begin! A few days before arrival we looked at some reviews about the poor service and building work etc and were slightly worried! We did not need to be! We arrived off the ferry at koh tao to be greeted by a lovely member of staff who could not apologise enough for keeping us waiting.. A few mins for the bus to arrive! It was not a problem!! He was full of knowledge about the island and hotel and was extremely friendly! On arrival at the hotel out bags were taken for us, we were given a welcome drink and checked in. Although our room was not ready (which we did not expect as we were early) we were given pool towels and headed to the beautiful pool in the gardens and for some lunch at the beach bar! Later we went to check on the progress of our room which was ready and our bags had already been sent to the room. We were in room 217 which was a castaway villa... Wow!!! Our room was at the other end of the resort only a very short walk and right on the beach.. There were a few rocks in front which was lovely to watch the waves crashing at night. Our bit of the beach was barely used by other hotel guests and felt so private! We had our own private sunbeds which had fresh pool towels everyday with a small flower placed on them which was really cute! The room itself was spectacular.. View straight out to sea and a lounge bed on our balcony where we spent evenings chilling or for some shade was lovely to just watch the ocean at night! So peaceful and calming! On the first night our air con leaked slightly.. It was no major problem but after breakfast we informed reception.. By the time we strolled back to the room the engineer was already fixing it which was sorted quickly and no further problems! The cleaning staff were always pleasant and happy, as were the bar staff and restaurant staff. The guy at the beach bar even made me a free cocktail one evening as he wanted me to try it! The breakfast was lovely a good variety of cereals, croissants, cooked breakfast and Thai food, in a lovely setting over looking the sea. Lunch an dinner was also really tasty and good.. A tad pricy compared to eating out elsewhere but no more than you would expect for a hotel resort and still cheaper and better than anything you would get at home!

One member of staff .. We don't know his name was exceptionally lovely! We asked what the noise was coming from the trees.. Sounded a bit like crickets or something.. He asked us to wait and ran off in to the trees to try and catch one to show us!! So funny! He eventually came back with one! Still not really sure what they are however! :)

On checking out a member of staff saw us carrying our bags from the room and came running down the path to take them from us.. Although we were ok.. He insisted! Which was very sweet! I can't fault any of the staff they were so polite and friendly and work so hard! You would see them serving breakfast then at the beach bar and then serving dinner later only to see them up and around the resort early the next morning! Whilst we were here the waves were quite choppy as there was a storm brewing, this meant a few things were washed up on the beach.. The staff were out there cleaning it all up for guests so they enjoyed their view.. I also went diving with haad tien dive school.. This was my first dive and although it was a bit cheaper to go elsewhere I decided to go with them as they allowed my partner to come on the boat and snorkel at the same time.. I was also the only one that day so had 1 to 1 tuition with Matt who was really good at putting me at ease and ensuring my safety! I had a great day and it was worth the extra few baht to have a one to one! Definitely want to do more diving after that! The hotel also offers other boat trips for days out an you can rent snorkeling gear to go and
Play around in the sea. We saw some really cool things a bit further out.. And were told we may see some small sharks which were not dangerous.. (We didn't see them.. That was fine by me!)
Overall we had an amazing time at haad tien.. Nothing to fault the service, rooms, setting, staff, it was all wonderful and would def come back! We only booked for 2 nights as we were travelling around but ended up staying 3 as it was so lovely!

There was a mixture of older people, couples and families here so obviously something to suit everyone!

Thanks Haad Tien! Hopefully we will be back one day!
Xx

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank flick5558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Spent four nights here in March 2014, and we were not disappointed!

This resort is one of the better we have stayed at, in this price range, in Thailand. The bungalows (our was no 211, a Castaway Beach Villa) are of great standard and holds all neccessary amenities.

The entire resort area is very nice, well-kept and is situated well away from the hustle and bustle of Sai Ree (town centre of Koh Tao). Although resorts of this quality are expensive, the proximity to competition from Sai Ree (10 mins away) results in price levels that are lower than at other resorts we have visited in Thailand. Do expect to pay more than in Sai Ree, though! But the quality of both food and drink is great, so it´s all worth it!

The beach is very nice, with some coral reefs just a few swim stokes off shore. Located in Shark Bay, there´s plenty of snorkeling opportunities just outside your villa.

All in all, I can recommend this resort to both couples and families with children. There is a vey nice pool in the garden, and the beach should scare no one. And just to make it clear - although there are sharks in Shark Bay, these are small black tip sharks, and they do not swim close to shore. We were told that you should in fact be very lucky if you get to see one, as they are very afraid of humans.

And while in Koh Tao, remember to boat around the island and visit all the great snorkeling sites.

Room Tip: 211 - Castaway villa - smash on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StianGiskeodegard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

The gave us a room in the new Beach Resort part, still under construction, even though we booked a bungalow. Room was still under construction but sold to us to full price (that would have been to high even if it had been finished). After us complaining to the management, no good will shown by them. There were more problems: Not enough seats on the busses that go get you at the poker after arrival at Ko Tao, waiting times at check in, high prices for transfers to town, they recommended us a motorbike rental that made us pay for repairs we didn't cause, room was not cleaned even after complaining to the reception and much much more... All in all, way to expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ebermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.6 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haadtien Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haadtien Beach Resort

Property: Haadtien Beach Resort
Address: 19/9 Moo 3 (Shark Bay), Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haadtien Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HaadtienBeach Resort is a boutique destination set in a stunning backdrop of beachfront panoramas, featuring its own 380 metre secluded beach situated at the southern tip of Koh Tao. The property contains 70 private villas thoughtfully spaced amongst over 45 acres of land, which features a stunning natural bay, perfect for swimming and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Haadtien Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haad Tien Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing