We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful place to relax on vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Haadtien Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed November 10, 2013

the resort is very nice with a pool,Jacuzzi, beach bar, spa and massage and good place to snorkel. I went there on last weekend and the price of accommodation is on a promotion and is a good deal. I got a mini house up in the hill. the room is really nice. classic and modern decoration. everything is good so far. but one thing to complain is too many mosquito around the area they are everywhere!! it's really annoying even in the morning you can get bite ":( that's why they have a mosquito net hanging on the bed lol.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uchiwa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Uchiwa 50

Thank you for your review on haad tien, the entire team is delighted and thrilled that we are able to make your vacation special.
Reviews like this are a great motivation for all of us.
we hope to welcome you both back very soon.

Best regards,
John Morris Williams
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,512)
There are newer reviews for Haadtien Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

484 - 490 of 1,512 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights and had a "hide away villa".
This resort is located on "sharks' bay", just 10 minutes from the pier.
Unlike many other hotels in Thailand, it provides a genuine impression of space with fantastic views and feels like the motivation of preserving the nature was greater than the number of villas... Hopefully this will remain as it is!
We spent much of our time between the swimming pool and the lagoon as it is a great snorkelling spot (and yes we saw sharks...).
Our villa was good except the bed which literally broke our backs :-((.
Breakfast buffet ok, good dinner experience with "BBQ your pick".
Overall a great experience, invest in thicker mattresses and we'll come back!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Margarita-Mojito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Margharitta

Thank you for your delightfull review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
reviews like this are a great motivation for all of us.

we hope we will get another opportunity to welcome you back to our little Island paradise.

Best regards,
John Morris Williams
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days, our room was huge and well decorated. We arrived at 2pm and our room was ready. We liked having a quite room as hubby had to do some work a few mornings before we went to sightseeing. We had fabulous bathroom and it's great for getting shower after from sightseeing. The pool was clean and the food/drink service was excellent. The only negative (for us) was there were a lot of guest(not the hotel fault) We thought maybe because now is high season... next time we will wait for the low season. Would highly recommend this place and will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaldannasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Khun Kaldannasi

Thank you very much for your thorough review, we are all thrilled by making your holiday so special, reviews like your are a great motivation for all of us.
the outside guests who visist for the day can become a nuisance on some days by being rude and just plain obtrusive, we do have our security team who askes them to move off.

we hope to be able to welcome you both back in the near future.

Best regards,

John Morris Willaims
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Choose castaway beach villa. Best from 211 and above. You can then enjoy the perfect sea view right on your sofa both inside and outside the room!

The restaurant has wonderful sea views and the price are affordable! Paying cash has 5% discount. I like the flavors very much! In dry seasons the outdoor seats are open and it must be a wonderful experience to have meals so close to the sea.

John the manager and most hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. He invited my family to see coconut cutting in the garden! But the service of reception really needs to improve.

I will be back soon for sure!

Room Tip: Choose castaway beach villa from 211 and above.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Yuan M

Thank you both for a wonderful review, we are all thrilled by making your holiday so special, it part of the resort to ask the guest to have a look at the team climbing the coconut trees, its an art in itself.
reviews like this are a great motivation for all of us.
looking forward to welcome you both back soon to our small corner of paradise.

Best regards,

John Morris Williams
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort for a few nights in October. An absolute paradise. We stayed in a villa on the beach. Absolutely lovely. The décor, day bed, loungers etc. beautiful. Lovely pool with spa and bar. Friendly staff.
They are building a hotel etc. on the premises, and we would love to return once everything is ready. Beautiful sunset. Will definately go back.

Room Tip: Choose a villa on the beach.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeddahPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Jeddah Princes

Thank you for your thorough review on the haad tien beach resort, The whole team is delighted by making your Holiday so special. reviews like these are a great motivation for all of us.
we hope to be able to welcoem you back one day to our piece of paradise.

Yours Sincererly,

John Morrisa Williams
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We recently stayed at Haad Tien, and having read the recent reviews were a little apprehensive in the run up to our trip, in hindsight we needn't have worried and in actual fact having stayed for 8 nights we didn't want to leave when the time came.

The resort itself is idyllic and stunning, the layout was really well thought out, with must villas seemingly having some sort of view of the sea. The pool area looks great although most people naturally gravitate to the beautiful beach throughout the day.

We had a Castaway villa which was perfect for our needs (no.210), literally right on the beach, the waves were no more than a few meters away. The room itself isn't massive but its nicely decorated in a modern style, a lovely deck to lay out in during the day or at night time. The toilet issue (curtain for a door) really didn't bother us, I'm not sure a door would make any difference in such a small place. It's really quiet and peaceful, the only noises you can hear at night are frogs, crickets and waves and by the morning it's just the waves.

The resort is a little isolated and there have been many criticisms of late, here's my take on them;

Service - Definitely could be improved, sometimes really good and sometimes not so. The restaurant staff really struggle when it's busy, overall I'd say its fine, and to be fair some of the issues may well be just local culture as we certainly found the same elsewhere. That said the odd friendly smile as you walk past someone sometimes wouldn't go amiss.

Building works - This was a major concern for us leading up to our arrival, it needn't have been. Some mornings at breakfast you can hear some building work, that's as much as you hear all day. Who knows what will happen once the new hotel is finished, difficult to speculate.

Beach - The beach isn't private but it certainly doesn't get over run, it's a beautiful part of the island so naturally people come to visit. There were a number of youngsters but we found them to be polite and courteous at all times and certainly no sign of loud music blaring out. They generally come late morning and most leave early afternoon, from late afternoon on its a very peaceful, secluded beach just for the residents.

Location - The hotel is stuck out a bit in the middle of nowhere, a lot of guests we noticed were more than happy to stay at the resort and not leave, the bar, restaurant and mini bar prices are all very fair so it's easy to see why and once you're there you feel very relaxed. The shuttle bus runs into Mae Haad a few times a day, it's a very quiet town, we ate at Moov (very good) and Whitenings (pretty good), but both were very quiet and after there was very little happening.

Sairee Beach is the place to head for a bit more of a buzz, there are plenty of restaurants and bars, it's going to cost you 200tbt each to get there each way. Not cheap but we had factored this into our cost as we like to head out in the evenings and relatively speaking its not outrageous, plus when you get into town the rest of the night is very cheap. In Sairee you have excellent Thai restaurants like The Gallery and Jams, we also liked Barracuda. For drinks Lotus was great fun, particularly later in the evening when they did the fire shows, Choppers was a busy bar and the lady boy show was great fun.

Ferry port pick up - There was talk earlier of a rickety old bus that picks you up while the resort ferry's it's staff in luxury 4x4's, not entirely true, the big vehicle picks you up from the port as they have many guests arriving at the same time, from what we can see Haad Tien definitely has one of the better rickety old vehicles compared to other hotels, the staff were great at picking everyone out of the melee and we were out of there with 10 other guests in no time at all. The 4x4's drove us into town if we wanted to pay to do so. They aren't obliged to pick people up, so i guess if you do want luxury then you always have the opportunity to pay for it yourself.

The resort probably could do with sharpening up the little things, breakfast was ok, the staff uniforms seem a little "worn" at times and maybe the pool bar could stay open a little later than 7pm to create a bit more atmosphere, but they are things that didn't really effect us too much.

All in I'd say if you're looking for complete relaxation this is a perfect option, if you like to be in the heart of the action then think twice, but if you like the best of both worlds then it could be a great option as well.

Remember Koh Tao is still a developing island, so expectations of what a 5* resort should be like should not be compared to those in Mauritius, Maldives, or even for that matter to islands like Samui. That said it and its people has a natural charm that will ensure you have a brilliant time here like we did.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mattwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Matt Warren

Thank you very much for your thorough review, the entire team is thrilled with your response,
thank you for being honest and direct in regards to the contruction next door, along with adding your views comparing them to other reviewers, for our service teams we are now re training them and new staff have been brought in.
our location being only 15 minutes away from the city centre, with our free shuttle service does give our customers an option.
The bus we have is a southern style used in most provinces and are very safe, morew than in the back of a pick up or van, vans would not be much use in wet weather and the safety factor came first, you are correct in your review and both trucks are only 6 to 10 months old and well kept.
Breakfast is being re vamped and so are the menus, chef Johnny Goodall joined us a week back so he has his work cut out to bring some areas up.
we are a 4 star resort and no more, most guest have mentioned we are 5 all travel agents consider us for a 4 star and this is where we are positioned.
thank you both once again for staying with us and the time taken to write a wonderfull review and an honest opinion.

Yours Sincerely

John Morris Williams
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

The place is amazingly designed, the beachfront villas are beautiful and the beach itself is magical. But, the place lacks the attention to small details. E.g - no door in the toilet room, wooden sink and bath floor feels non-sterile, extra charge on the free shuttle if you want to reach the center, poor breakfast

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank galtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2013

Dear Galtu,

Thank you fro your review and directness towards certain small details,
we are in the process of discussing on how to change the cloth doors to a more sturdy door,
for the shower floor we are now working on all rooms to adjust and improve the feel.

thank you both once again for staying with us, hope to welcome you back soon
Yours sincererly

John Morris Willaims
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,250 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
251 reviews
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
907 reviews
0.6 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haadtien Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haadtien Beach Resort

Address: 19/9 Moo 3 (Shark Bay), Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: $110 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haadtien Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HaadtienBeach Resort is a boutique destination set in a stunning backdrop of beachfront panoramas, featuring its own 380 metre secluded beach situated at the southern tip of Koh Tao. The property contains 70 private villas thoughtfully spaced amongst over 45 acres of land, which features a stunning natural bay, perfect for swimming and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Haadtien Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haad Tien Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing