We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Haadtien Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
greece
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Heaven.......”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Fantastic Resort...we loved it here.....AMAZING BEACH...sometimes i thought we were back in the Maldives....been to many places but this resort really has something special.Would definately return one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreeceBen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Green Ben

Many thanks for a wonderfull review, and for the comparison with the Maldives, shark bay has a very unique beach and coral reef with plenty of marine life, giviung us the best of both worlds.
we are all looking forward to welcome you both back in the near future.

The staff & Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    436
    240
    133
    86
See reviews for
250
892
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I couldn't have asked for a better experience at Haad Tien. We were originally staying for only three nights and then moving to another resort on the island, but we decided to extend our stay to seven nights. The grounds are beautiful with a great beach and snorkeling only steps from the accommodations. The staff was friendly and made our stay very comfortable and relaxing. We loved the food here as they had a delicious variety of western/traditional Thai cuisine. The rooms are fantastic as well. It was also really convenient to have Dive Wishes on-site to assist with everything scuba related. This resort is exactly what we imagined when we planned our trip to Koh Tao. You can't go wrong with the Haad Tien!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Both,

thank you both for a wonderfull review and of course the extend stay from 3 to 7 days,
our teams at the resort try their best to upkeep the grounds, and give that extra mile towards our customers, sometimes we dont achive fully, then on your part seems we have exceed your expectations, thank you.
chef has been working hard to try and achive an all round customer satisfaction and he sends his thanks.
Dive wishes with their very personalized servixce, along with a great team to assit all.

Thank you both once again hope to welcome you back in te near future!

The staff & Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I planned to stay here for 3 nights on our honeymoon and stayed for...7. We couldn't have been more satisfied with the experience.

Rooms: Our first room was gorgeous-and Oceanview Hut with a nice view of the beach and close to the pool. Perfect size for two people, and the WiFi was greatly appreciated as we planned our activities for the day in our clean, air-conditioned room. When we returned to the Haad Tien after checking out the resort we had planned to stay at for the second leg of our trip and (almost literally) coming running back, we stayed in a Hideaway Hut. Still beautiful, but more remote and further from the beach, pool, and dining area.

Food: The food was good, pretty typical resort food and slightly overpriced. The Thai dishes on the lunch/dinner menu were delicious, as well as the chicken burger.

Service/amenities: The staff at Haad Tien all but bends over backward to make you feel welcome and taken care of. The wait staff was always friendly and accommodating, present without being overbearing. The other staff members jump up to carry bags, help with directions, and give recommendations for what to do in the area. The bartenders are a bit slow, but this is understandable especially during happy hour when demand is high. Awesome having a dive shop on-site, this saved us a ton of time and energy, and we went to all of the best dive sites on the island!

Overall: An amazing experience! A little pricey if you compare to smaller resorts in the area, but we learned the hard way-do not take this for granted, you get what you pay for on Koh Tao.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelJTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Both,

Thank you for a wonderfull review, and of course the extended stay from 3 to 7 days,
chef is delighted with your feedback, we do have a good team of staff and yes they try their best
to please as much as they can, we try to assist as much as we can this is part of the hopsitality we try to pass on to our guests to give them a full experience.
additional bartenders are being brought in to assits with the team.

Dive wishes offer a great service and personalized attention, this helps those who are beginners to the dive scene.
thank you both once again, hope to wlelcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

The grounds to this hotel are amazing and set it a very picturesque bay in a secluded beach. The design of the beach huts and pool are very understated but chic functional and stylish.
Other pros: great Thai food and cocktail list at good prices, shuttle service to town at convient times
Cons: dive school on site was a lot more expensive than town as does more bespoke trips

However at this particularly time of my visit there were major construction works right next to the hotel and the noise level was pretty bad for most of the day. At Breakfast it felt like you were on the site itself you were so close and the constant banging noices removed a lot of the relaxing and paradise feeling. I opted to plug my ear phones in when sunbathing to block out the disruption when I would have ideally wanted to hear waves and sound of nature. I understand that these things have to happen, felt it was poorly managed as there was no apology or recognition/ explanation from the hotel that this was going on. Would normally expect a letter of apology for inconvenience and explanation of what is happening on arrival. Also they are building a sister hotel which is in a larger complex so might change the nature of the more secluded site and beach there.

Despite the works, it's an great hotel in an amazing location. Shame about the timing of my visit.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Both,

many thanks for a wonderfull review, and yes the resort and the bay itself is located in a secluded area of koh Tao with 350 meters of beach front giving us a paraidse hidden.

Dive wishes are priced above the rest, they offer 1 dive instrcutor to 4 people this is well above what other dive shops offer at a cheaper price, Dive wishes look towards a more personalised service and attention to the safety of the guests. then not everyone can or has a budget to do so.

The cosntrcution next door has been a bit noisy to say the least, though we have informed all Online agents and our partners in regards to the noise, my apologies that we did not discuss or apologies form our side.
Thank you both once again and we hope the next time around taht all will be done and peqaxce and tranqulity with be back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at the Haad Tien two years ago and fell in love. So when we came back again this year The Haad Tien would be our only choice.

All the staff are so friendly and nothing is ever a problem - not that we ever had any problems. Moe in particular was a great help to us as he was two years ago! We did a boat trip around the island and The Haad Tien is on by far the prettiest and best beach on Koh Tao.

We stayed in a Family Castaway Villa (216) for 8 nights. This Villa was right down the other end of the beach from the restaurant. It was spectacular and we had a birds eye view of the beach.We have two kids aged 7 and 9 and we could sit up on the outside lounge and watch them in the water out the front. The Villas are perfect and very in tune with nature.

Another bonus this time round was that there is a gorgeous infinity edged pool.

The snorkelling was amazing and you could do it straight off the beach. My daughter described her first day out snorkelling as the best day of her life!

Last time at The Haad Tien the food was ok but this time the food was brilliant!

As you can tell we just love this place and are already planning another trip in two years time - or sooner if possible

Thank you Haad Tien for giving us another brilliant holiday!

Room Tip: There are three Family Castaway Villas and any of them are fabulous. Two are up near the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helsieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Simon & Family

It was a pleasure to welcome you all back once again, delighted to see that the changes that have been made over the two year period have been noticed, for the chef and his team he has done a good job on his food and quality.
the ebach has one of the best dive areas on koh Tao for thsoe who dare not venture into the deeper areas, safer for all ages.
the pool has added a value to the main lawn with its sunken style and black finishing,
we are looking forward to welcome you all back very soon!

Best regards, the staff & Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I recently stayed with my girlfriend for 5 nights at this hotel in a Castaway Beach VIlla and although there were many positives, as you'd expect from such a nice place, unfortunately people tend to notice the negatives more, especially when paying good money, and I wanted to share my experience.
Pros: The room was exsquisite. The beach was unreal.
Cons: Flies. Lots and lots of tiny flies. Obviously we were in the jungle and I dont expect the hotel to play god and wipe them all out, it's impossible. However we could sit at the pool bar, or even outside our room to eat lunch. The measures taken to rpevent the flies were minor and in now way sufficient for an an area of that size. We ended up ordering room service for lunch and sitting in our room on the bed to eat with the doors closed. Not ideal.
The Food. In an expensive hotel like this you expect to get your money's worth. Although dinner at the restaurant was expensive by Thai standards, the food was great. However, the food at breakfast and at lunch was far below par, especially for the price and we really didn't enjoy eating at the hotel. (Upon bringing this up with the manager John, he was kind enough to comp our F& B, which we appreciated).
The Noise: I knew there would be some building works nearby but was surprised at how close it actually was. Thank goodness our room was on the opposite end of the beach because I would have walked out if i was in a close by room. Obviously that's a temporary situation but it's something to mention when making a reservation if you're going there soon).

All in all, a lovely hotel in a lovely location, but it just needs to scrub up a bit in a few areas to really make it shine, because unfortunately for my girlfriend and I, a few minor things hindered our days there slightly when we know it could have been better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Both,

Thank you for the review and your feedback, thank you.
we have had some days when small flies have been a bit more than poeple can take,
we have an extensive pest control system, and again you mentioned we are surounded by nature, all your points are well taken and are being addressed.
yes for the nosie next door this will be a thing of the past down the line and peace and quiet will be back.
we have discussed with the chef for the Lunch and breakfast feedback he is aware of the points you gave us, thank you for the fine comments for his dinner menu.

thank you both once again, hope to welcome you back one day!

Best regards, the staff & Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My Husband and I just stayed here for 3 nights for our honeymoon and were extremey dissapointed. The resort is very beautiful and but the service was terrible.

Check in was a complete shambles with 16 people checking in at a small hut and staff running around not knowing what stage anyone is at. Got to our room and a bath towel had a huge hole in it.

The beach bar ran out of glasses and left guest waiting for up to 25 mins for a drink during happy hour while they went around collecting them to wash up. No explanation. The bar wasn't actually very busy.

The restaurant staff had no idea what they were serving and kept going back and forth to the kitchen. We ordered a bottle of wine from the specials list and they came back to tell us they didn't have any of the wines on that list. So we asked which wines they did have from the menu and were told. 'Better you pick one and then I will see if we have it'. 20 mins later they are on the phone and had taken 5 bottles of wine out comparing them to the menu and we still haven't recieved the water we had ordered.

We asked to speak to the manager only to be told that there was no manager on duty untill 8:30 the following morning. They handed us the phone and said the assistant manager would talk to us. We were finally seen by the manager as we were leaving 3 days later with excuses and not taking any accountability. Not what we expected from a 4 star resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Livindreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC_9, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Both,
Thank you for review, and yes we did fail during your stay and that we apologiese for.
those points should not have happened in regards to the towels, as we have only three
check in times if people come off the ferry it can be a bit chaotic for sure, as for the beach bar
there was no excuse here at all for the lack of glasses or service, in regards to the wine and the lack of knowledge unfortunate that we did put our staff through a wine training course a month back, their manner in the way you mentioned not aceptable, we have discuss with them all.

Due to myself not being on site during that sunday, apologies for not being there though i was on a day off and was told the next day of your case, i visited your room on a few ocassions to discuss the matter and only by chance we met on the walkway, we try to assist and help all if you feel i was not taking this serious then my apologies as i take all guest serious.
my sincere aplogies once again for the lack of care and attention during your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,236 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
237 reviews
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Club by Haadtien
Beach Club by Haadtien
#20 of 49 in Koh Tao
311 reviews
0.6 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haadtien Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haadtien Beach Resort

Property: Haadtien Beach Resort
Address: 19/9 Moo 3 (Shark Bay), Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haadtien Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HaadtienBeach Resort is a boutique destination set in a stunning backdrop of beachfront panoramas, featuring its own 380 metre secluded beach situated at the southern tip of Koh Tao. The property contains 70 private villas thoughtfully spaced amongst over 45 acres of land, which features a stunning natural bay, perfect for swimming and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Haadtien Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haad Tien Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing