We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Haadtien Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The resort is exactly like the photos, our beach hut was beautiful, clean and so comfortable. The resort itself was idelic. The beach was beautiful and the staff very friendly and helpful. We loved it there and would stay again. The food and drinks were lovely and I would recommend having dinner on the beach front. It is so romantic and the perfect getaway.

Room Tip: Castaway beach villa right on the golden beaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Both,
Thank you for a wonderful review and comemnts our staff will be delighted
yes the beach does a lovely setting for a Romantic Dinner under thetars.

we hope to welcome you both back in the near future.
Best regards, the staff & Managment

please use only haadtien. com to book with us! our only web iste
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    429
    236
    130
    86
See reviews for
241
883
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Haad Tien - we had 3 nights in a Castaway Villa which was an amazing location right on a gorgeous quiet beach. The room was very nice and clean, however considering the price I was expecting something slightly more luxurious. The pool area is lovely and the food and drinks at the beach bar and also the restaurant were pleasant and reasonably priced. The staff were generally friendly however again considering the price we paid I had expected just a little more.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Both, thank you for a great review, delighted we were able to exceed your expectations,
as a top end 4 star resort we offer a good service, could you be kind enough to give me some additional information on what you expected more, john@haadtien.com
hope to welcome you back in the near future.
best regards, the staff & Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We really loved this resort. The days spent here were definitely the best part of our trip to Ko Samui and Ko Tao this time. We booked last minute (literally just minutes before arriving) and checked in rather early. At first it looked like we would have to wait for the room - no problem with that - but then it was immediately available, what a nice surprise right away.

The beach here is wonderful, although we noticed that one had to venture a bit further to actually find crystal clear water and see coral and fish, so we rented a kayak for snorkeling. I cannot say the snorkeling experience here was really amazing compared to some other places nearby, but it was still very enjoyable, and this is not a diving resort anyway.

Service was very friendly, and our getaway room was very nice indeed. Free wifi is always a plus. The room was very far away from the construction noise nearby that only bothered us during breakfast, though I have to confess that my review would be very different indeed, if this was not the case.

Prices especially for the minibar, kayaking and happy hour a the beach bar were all reasonable, which is not always the case in this kind of secluded high class resort. Breakfast was good and varied.

I'm giving this 5/5 for everything except 4/5 for the distant location. Perfect location would be a secluded beach near the center of the city, without any construction nearby - impossible, I know. Still, the hotel does offer free transport a few times daily that is helpful for exploring Ko Tao.

Very much recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThaiXpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Many thanks for a wonderful review on haadtien, we are delighted we were able to meet your expectations, it was a pleasure to meet you both upon arrival and able to get the room faster to you, its our culture to assist, we offer value for money without trying to be overboard.
looking forward to welcome you both back in the near future.
Best regards, The staff & Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I'm suprised that the Haad Tien is only number 8 for accommodation on Koh Tao as looking at what else was on offer it was definitely miles ahead of the rest! The beach is beautiful - clean, white sands, crystal clear water. It is quiet too - the resort is the only one on shark bay. We stayed at another higher rated hotel on trip advisor earlier on during our stay on Koh Tao and were very disappointed.

We stayed in a hideaway villa - it was perfect for what we needed. It was clean, spacious and we were very pleased. There was a large decking area outside with our own sunloungers to relax on. There was some construction work going on near to the resort which meant that noise could be heard around the reception area - ask for a room away from there and down the beach, we couldn't hear any noise in ours.

We went down to Sairee beach one day and it was disappointing - I had been to Koh Tao 7years ago when it was still relatively undeveloped but now the accumulation of bars and backpackers has totally spoilt the beach and there was rubbish everywhere.

The only downside was the breakfast here - everything was covered in flies. They have obviously tried to cover stuff up but as the area is open aired the flies were still there. I think the hotel needs to think about keeping the food somewhere undercover. We hardly ate anything at breakfast due to this.

The resort is quite secluded - they offer a free shuttle to Mae Haad at certain times of day but we didn't find much in the way of restaurants/bars there. We ate in the hotel restaurant at night and the food was lovely - overpriced for Thailand but still not European prices!

If you want to stay away from the backpacker crowd on a beautiful beach then head here!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room further away from reception - you can hear the noise from the construction near there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelleruk3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
wonderfull review and feedback, thank you.
the hideaways do offer ample space and a lovely balcony to relax and enjoy the nature that surrounds the haad tien, agree with you in regards to the construction next door cannot be heard once you move away form the reception area.
Breakfast all steps have been undertaken to keep a clean and safe buffet area.

looking forward to welcome you both back in the near future.
Best regards, the staff & Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

This was exactly what I was looking for when I decided to visit koh tao.
My bungalow was right on the beach, beautifully done, air con that was nice and cold, reasonably priced mini bar and lovely and clean.
The resort staff were friendly and helpful, the in site restaraunt and bar were reasonable with good menus. Breakfast was fine, not spectacular but enough choice to keep me going - no fresh fruit juice, which was disappointing.

The on site surf shop was good I completed an open water SSI course. They were a little disorganised but all the staff were friendly and I had every confidence they were going to
look after me! The groups were really small first day I had an instructor to myself and on my course there was just one other diver.

Snorkelling in the shallow water in the bay is good fun there is a good variety of tropical fish just a few meters out.

Overall really thought haad tien was great, there is some building work going on, there are only a few actual beach bungalows I would have been disappointed if I hadn't gotten one! It is more expensive than other places in the area. It is quite out the way so taxis are a few hundred baht from town.

Would recommend this hotel and would definitely return. But I would confirm my bungalow on booking.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missmorven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Wonderful reveiw many thanks, for the feed back and comments well noted.
we will pass on your comments to the dive wishes team and your feedback.
please do make a request for your preffered Bungalow on your next visit.

hope to welcome you back in the near future,
Best regards the staff & Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

It's hard to find the balance between laid back atmosphere and great service, but the Haad Tien does it! Its charming, elegant, extremely peaceful and relaxing. Its located on a great beach just 15 minutes by taxi away from the main village and 10 from the port. The hotel have many options for day trips (around the island scuba or snorkelling) and its soooo worth it. Took a half day (from 9 till 2pm) snorkelling trip and went back to mango island (my favorite little spot on the island) on the next day. Would totally recommend for couples (supper romantic place) or anyone that enjoys and good atmosphere, great service, a natural chic environment and doesn't mind being a little away from the main village. One last thought: Its one of the few hotels that I have stayed that you dont feel the service routines and don't get disturbed or even distracted by it, and that's amazing.

Room Tip: We decided for the getaway villa (room 305) and loooooved it. Close to the pool, beach and restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forattini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
thank you for the wonderful review and feedback, great feedback on our round the Isand trip yes this is very popular and gives you the best of seeing the island from the sea, snorkel with fish and the sharks, we hope to welcome you both back in the near future, dont forget to try a castaway right on the beach next time.
Best regards, the staff & Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Haad Tien for 5 nights anfd it was a really enjoyable experience. It is the only resort on Shark Bay. We opted for a Castaway beach Villa and it was right on the beach with the ocean only a few short steps away. The room was really modern yet had a rustic charm with an outside daybed to sit and relax.

We also had two loungers on the beach right in front of the villa which was peefrct for suning ourselves

The beach was glorioulsy uncrowded and you had a real sense of being in a really unspoillled part of Thailand.

The resort staff were very helpful and always had a smile on their face which made us feel very welcome indeed.

The nightly shuttlebus to the town was free which was a really nice touch and there was enough to do in the small port area to while away a few hours every evening.

My one negative would be that the breakfast wasnt very good - so much so that we decided not to try the restaurant in the evening which is a pity as it looked very beautiful at night.

Overally this is a great place and i would definately go back.

Room Tip: definately opt for a castaway villa on the beach. rooms 209 onwards are right on the beach and this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilPByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGC9_12, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Both, Thank you for a great review and the feedback towards the resort and our staff.
Noted for breakfast and chef and his team have been informed and the changes have happened.
shame that you did not try their dinner menu it has been given very good feedback in regards to quality, presentations and the taste, hopefully on your next trip you would give the food a try.
i can assure you both you will enjoy.
thank you once again,
Best regards the staff & Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,223 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
226 reviews
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Rocks Villas
The Rocks Villas
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
229 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#8 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haadtien Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haadtien Beach Resort

Property: Haadtien Beach Resort
Address: 19/9 Moo 3 (Shark Bay), Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haadtien Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HaadtienBeach Resort is a boutique destination set in a stunning backdrop of beachfront panoramas, featuring its own 380 metre secluded beach situated at the southern tip of Koh Tao. The property contains 70 private villas thoughtfully spaced amongst over 45 acres of land, which features a stunning natural bay, perfect for swimming and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Haadtien Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haad Tien Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing