We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Haadtien Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolute paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is possibly my favourite hotel in the world, located in a private bay on wonderful Koh Tao, We stayed in a beachfront villa, mere metres from the sea, where we slept to the sound of the waves and woke to a magical view. The staff (mostly Burmese) are really friendly and carry out all their tasks (including daily cleaning of the beach) quietly and efficiently. The room is stunning, really simple but luxurious and large enough for my yoga sessions! Excellent restaurant too. It is away from the busier parts of the island so a moped/quadbike is a good idea if you want to explore. Great snorkelling too. Absolute paradise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haadtien r, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review on the haad tien beach resort, the owners and the team strive to achive a balance between nature and the traveler to maintain a pice of paradise, you described the feeling very well. our staff a combined team of Burmese and Thai nationals work to preseve the environment and give a secluded feeling to our guests.
I have passed your feed back to all our departments, and especailly the chef and his team.
Thank you both once again,hope to welcome you back one day!
Best regards, the Team and Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    415
    227
    128
    83
See reviews for
226
851
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed one week early September 2012.
Location is amazing. Private bay, white sand, clear water. The pool is not extraordinary.
Stayed in a hut. Room is nice.
Hotel is far from everything. There are shuttle buses but you better hold on for the ride as there are dirt roads...If you want to rent a scooter you absolutely need to give your passport and pay an expensive deposit..it was much easier in Koh Samui..
It wasn't the busy season so few people in the streets at night. Shops were closing between 20h-21h. No animation at the hotel in the evening.
This hotel is nice if you want to disconnect from the buzzy world..:-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nullah13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haadtien r, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you both for the review, and the feedback, agree the views and beach is stunning with clear waters, our villas are built to blend in with the suroundings, we offer the shuttle service three times per day and fits with most of our geusts, there is a small charge of 50baht extra to go to saree beach. koh Tao is one of the unexplored and not as developed as koh Samui still giving it a rustic touch, one of a few islands still not over developed in Thailand.
for those wishing to disconnect, the haad tien offers the best of both worlds.
thank you both once again. the team and managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Did a long stay here for 22 nights with our 8 month old son. We stayed in a getaway villa close to the pool area. Quite small, but with a nice daybed outside, perfect for a happy hour drink at night (only 100 Bahts for cocktails from 17-19)
The resort is stunning, with scattered villas surrounded by big open greens with palm trees and a fantastic beach in Shark Bay. The beach feels private, although open to the public, but rarely very crowded. The property is really well kept and the beach is cleaned for trash and debris every day. There were some periods with windy weather which made keeping the beach clean a very difiicult task for them.
The pool area which is about 10 meters from the beatch is really nice, with a very stylish black stone infinity pool.
The staff in general was super friendly and helpful, and if you travel with kids they will certainly get a lot of attention.
The main restaurant has a wide selection of dishes, none which really wowed us unfortunately, but free shuttles take you to Mae Haad or Sairee Beach every day where there's plenty of restaurants to chose from.
We found the beach bar to serve slightly better food than the main restaurant. A smaller selection, and a bit more simple, but sometimes that is a good thing.
Breakfast in the main restaurant was average.
A few tips: Walk up the steep hill behind the diving center to Eagle View Restaurant. A family run place with fresh seafood and classic thai dishes served on the balcony of their home overlooking the bay. Take a left when coming down to the main road and walk 500 meters to the YinYang restaurant. Best Masamun on the island. We really enjoyed The Gallery and Farango restaurants in Sairee too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MathiasHansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haadtien r, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
dear Sir,
than you for the kind words and a positive reveiw towards the haad tien beach resort, and especially the very long stay of 22 nights. happy hour times are very popular with all our guest.
the gardening team try their best on bad days to clean the beach, as it can be full of seaweed and garbage, they recycle all seaweed for making compost and the garbage they sell, therefore protecting the environment.
the pool has been one of the atractions of the resort close by to the beach giving the best of both worlds. we have passed on your delightfull comments towards our staff and yes we can agree they are so helpfull and friendly with all, especially with children.
we have brought in a new chef and have made some changes to our main outlet, adjusting the menu helped. thank you for your feedback there.
thank you all once again , hopefully we can welcome you back one day to our pice of paradise!
the team and managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Set in Shark Bay The Haad Tien is absolute paradise! Had a fantastic room (one of the octagon shaped huts) which was a great size and well equipped.

The pool is fantastic and set in the garden of the resort. Excellent service from the staff at the pool bar and also at breakfast were always helpful.

Kayak rental is really easy and a great way to see the bay, if you're adventurous it’s an easy to paddle out about 200m and jump into see the Reef Sharks.

Had a little issue with one member of front desk staff upon arrival but she was quick to apologise the next day and we put this down to our early arrival.

We got a good room rate through a 3rd party online booking and not sure the advertised rate is completely worth it but we did spend 6 nights here and only intended to stay 4 (they hotel gave us 2 nights at the internet booking rate when we asked to stay on.)

Definitely hire a moped in Koh Tao centre but as always in Thailand, take care and if you can stick a cash deposit down of 5000 THB rather than a passport. You can get around the island fairly easily with 2 on a bike with a 125cc engine. The house shuttle bus at Haad Tien means you are restricted to when you have to come and go from Koh Tao centre and if you pay for a pick-up it costs the same as a day’s hire of a moped.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the huts set 1 back from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HongKongKnights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haadtien r, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
thank you for your wonderful review on the haad tien beach resort, and for deciding to stay with us that extra two nights.
my appologies in regards to the front office staff, will investigate further this matter.
for the hire of bikes etc it has been a policy in Thailand for many years now to hold a passport instead of cash deposit, it would be nice though to pay the deposit we agree with you there.

there have been many sightings the past few weeks of small black tip sharks, baracudda and some green turtles.
thank you both once again, hope to welcome you back some day!
best regards, the team and managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The place is beautiful, I really like the beach there. it is quite secluded, the water is so nice.
We stayed in a hideaway villa, which was cozy and had everything we needed. The outside furniture wasn't the most comforrtable.

The pool was fantastic but why would you use the pool when the beach is right in front of you?
The pool bar and their service was great - they took their time, but we weren't in a hurry to get anywhere anyway. Dum who works at the bar is hilarious - she always made us laugh.

The breakfast was good too - the location of the restaurant: stunning - directly at the beach.
We stayed there for 5 nights and ate 4 of those in the restaurant, the food was excellent.
Once we took the shuttle into the 'city' - we had dinner there and went to the internet cafe but then we actually had enough and wanted to go back straight away.

When you arrive with the ferry make sure you clarify where the pick up is - we arrived with Songserm ferry which arrives on another pier (not too far but if you haven't been there you don't know where to go) so we had to walk with our suitcases and had to try to find the shuttle - thanks God I could make phone calls and call Haad Tien but the description wasn't very clear. it isn't a big deal but I think good to know.
If you arrive with Lomprayah ferry - there won't be a problem.

The whole experience there was just amazing. Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Hard to say but I think the pool villas are beautiful (not always ocean view though) or the beach vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haadtien r, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
we are delighted we gave you an amazing experince, even though we did not pick you up at songserm, we do pick up from there after we collect the guest from lompraya, i will double check to see if we made an error, please acept our apologies here.
as for khun Tum i will pass on your kinds words, and the feedback for the chef.
thank you both once again, hopefully we may be able to welcome you back.
Best regards,
the team and Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Lovely food, incredibly beautiful setting and to top it off "happy hour" from 5pm-7pm at the pool/beach bar where all cocktails and large beers are THB100 each! We were in a Haad Tien villa which was very spacious and comfortable with a lovely private seating area at the front of the villa. The Haad Tien staff were very friendly and helpful and (as a diver) recommended I speak to Impian Divers to book some diving trips/courses which I did (having a fantastic time and very highly recommended!). A shame to only spend 3 nights here - not nearly enough!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haadtien r, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
thank you both for the wonderful review, delighted we are able to present our hospitality for you both, we have passed on your feedback towards our staff and drivers who are a great asset to the resort and to the guests alike.
we do have the dive shop of course and from time to time the guest would request another dive shop due to their budget, then again diving off Koh Tao is great to say the least when the sea conditions are clear.
hopefully on your next trip you can stay a week with us.
best regards, the team and managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

terrific, smart bungalows and villas spread amongst an old coconut plantation. Shark bay is really tough to beat for beauty. I have seen many a stunning white sand tropical bay and this one is up there as a stunner. beachbar was great. pool was wondeful if not a bit taken over by children during the day. I would much rather stay in a beautiful smart resort like this with kids at the pool than a bunch of loud backpakcers. this was a class place. I loved it. wifi is spotty but you are on a tiny island in the gulf of thailand so its to be expected.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dylbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haadtien r, Manager at Haadtien Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feed back, we strive to achive customer satisfaction at all avenues of the resort, the Beach as you have mentioned is stunning., the wifi does have a small conectivity problem from time to time as you mentioned we are on a small Island.
wishing you all the best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.6 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haadtien Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haadtien Beach Resort

Property: Haadtien Beach Resort
Address: 19/9 Moo 3 (Shark Bay), Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haadtien Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HaadtienBeach Resort is a boutique destination set in a stunning backdrop of beachfront panoramas, featuring its own 380 metre secluded beach situated at the southern tip of Koh Tao. The property contains 70 private villas thoughtfully spaced amongst over 45 acres of land, which features a stunning natural bay, perfect for swimming and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Haadtien Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haad Tien Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing