We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“paradise found at the Haadtien”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Haadtien Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Winter Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“paradise found at the Haadtien”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We were in Koh Tao last week and had arranged to stay at a different hotel on Sairee Beach but it was awful. Our group consisted of three women in our 40's who have traveled a lot and like tohave fun but we don't party all night. We checked in to our hotel on Sairee and had no idea that in the days after the Full Moon Party on Koh Phangan all of the party goers head to Koh Tao. Our hotel was full of loud partying until 5 AM outside our little hut 20 somethings. ANYWAY....we decided to move to a nice quiet spot. We picked the Haadtien.
The staff at Haadtien came to pick us up at the icky hotel, they actually picked up our bags and carried them and when we got to the resort they had cool drinks for us and were so so so nice. The receptionist ( a young man from India I think) was so great! We checked in to our room and it was lovely, we stayed in a Getaway Suite. It was gorgeous with a large lounging area outside that had shades you could pull down. The fridge was stocked with water, beer and sodas. We headed down to the pool which is an amazing infinity pool next to the beach. There were plenty of loungers and a great happy hour. Again, the staff was lovely. We had dinner in the restaurant which was really good. I cannot begin to tell you how nice it was to really RELAX and enjoy the surroundings. The grounds even smell like exotic flowers.
We were there when the low tide lasts for a few months so the snorkeling was a little more difficult right off of the beach than it usually is. In other words, you have to swim way out in really shallow water without standing up because the sea floor is covered in coral and big scary urchins. That having been said, there are thousands of fish in the shallow water and we saw 3 sharks in water less than 3 feet deep. Two were smallish (around 1 meter) but the last one was over 2 meters and it spooked me:) There is a dive shop between Haadtien and Rocky Resort which I would NOT recommend. The Dive Masters were arrogant and they took us on the worst dive I have EVER been on, but they are not related to the hotel. In fact, the dive shop rents snorkle gear for $250 BHT/day and the Haadtien lets you use it for free. There is a sign out sheet over by the beach bar.They also have kayaks to make the snorkeling easier in the low tide season.
While diving with a different company, we saw a WHALE SHARK, it was incredible!!!!!
Again, the hotel and the staff were just perfect for us. We felt so relieved when we arrived there and so well taken care of. The breakfast was great and the dinners were nice as well. They run shuttle in to town 3 times a day if you want to leave the resort as well. The staff is so friendly I would recommend this hotel to anyone. There were families, couples and singles. It is quiet but that is how we liked it:) We booked on Agoda and got the Getaway Suite for about $127/night including breakfast.

Room Tip: The beach fron cabins looked really cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sudipn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    415
    227
    128
    83
See reviews for
226
851
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Two of us stayed at the Haad Tien beach resort in Feb 2012 for 4 nights. The big draw for the resort is the private beach which is fantastic. The beach is spotless and the water is lovely. We ate at the hotel restaurant 3 of the 4 nights and really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and very good food. The breakfast buffet is excellent. As mentioned there is a shuttle in and out of Mae Haad twice daily which is very useful since it is not really walk-able.

We were most impressed by the staff at the hotel who did their best to ensure we enjoyed our stay. They recommended trips we could take and made the bookings for us. We had left the island and were on Koh Phangan when my friend received an email from the hotel saying they had found a necklace and ear rings she had mistakenly left behind in the room. The hotel arranged to post the jewellery on the next mornings ferry to Koh Phangan - which she was very grateful for. We were very impressed with the extra effort the staff had made to return the belongings.

Very relaxing, secluded resort with great staff. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are well equipped with air conditioning and a balcony but are a little small. Otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maryfeens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Having read reviews on this hotel before we booked, we were really impressed with what other people had to say and the web site showed a fantastic resort....we were not disappointed!! this resort is located on a beautiful beach in Koh Tao. It was private, tranquil, and everything we could possibly want and more for a truly memorable stay. The staff were friendly, the room was spacious and had Mosquito nets around the bed, which were a nice added bonus. Breakfast was served in the restaurant and the choice was brilliant. The room as cleaned well and the staff left towels made into swans and elephants which was a nice touch. It was our anniversary weekend, and they left fresh flowers in our room which was also a nice touch. The hotel provided transport into the nearby town a few times a day which was an added bonus, although we got a taxi back as the last one they provided was 9.30pm. You can get a taxi for around 300-400 baht back to the resort. My only complaint...we should have stayed longer than the four nights we booked!!! Thanks to everyone who made our stay very special.

Room Tip: For our budget, we chose a hideaway villa which was perfect....some villas can go quite steep, so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackl1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Haad Tien is a nice resort. It's isolated, and the ride getting to and from town can be very uncomfortable. I imagine it would break my elderly parents. The reviews are correct...clean rooms, good breakfast, nice happy hour, private beach...

But there was something missing, for sure. It's like this place was too sterile for koh Tao's personality. The resort doesn't have personality at all. I agree, it would be perfect if we had kids, and is well suited to families who want to dive rather than enjoy the rif raff in town.

A few issues: no umbrellas on the beach. You have to take shade under a giant shrub. Also, there's no breeze in shark bay, so the insects are awful. They are a force. Spa prices at Haad are just insulting. They're triple the price of the Thai standard prices...and that's with the hotel discount. The hotel plays the most depressing music, too. I didn't hear bob marley once.

We moved into town yesterday, to stay at the simple life. The people watching is great, it's closer to the dive scene, fun shopping, ladyboy shows. If you want to have some fun with the Thai island culture, then stay in town. If that has no interest to you, stay at Haad Tien.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DallasFlysolofemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

Highly recommend Haad Tien if you are looking for a gorgeous private and quiet holiday place to stay! Immaculate accommodation, rustic surrounds, stunning beach with brilliant snorkeling right off the beach. We had the BEST stay and really could have stayed a LOT longer. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the pool villas!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelFixes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at Haad tien for 4 lovely nights at the end of April. We booked a Hideaway villa - and were very please with the location, and the ocean view from the balcony. The rooms were large, well air-conditioned and spotlessly clean. The staff were very friendly and accommodating throughout the stay. Great cocktails at the pool and restaurant bar - even better at happy hour when they are only 100 baht! Spent the days by the pool and snorkelling straight off the beach, with courtesy shuttles into town a few times each day - handy if you want to pop in and grab anything.
.
The restaurant was excellent - great traditional thai food. The buffet breakfast was great each morning.

All in all a great stay for couples or families. Amazing beach, relaxing atmosphere, and great staff. With check out time at 12 noon - and our ferry not departing until 3pm, we were offered another room to freshen up in before we departed -- nice touch! And then when we arrived at the pier - one of the staff stood in the ferry line to check in for us, while we could rest in the shade, again - great service.

Thanks Haad tien for a great holiday - we'll be back!

I can't understand any of the negative reviews from previous reviewers. Why complain about having a small room - when clearly you booked the smallest room, and then didn't want to pay to upgrade. If you want a large room - book one in the first place - two words "whinging pom".

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Genski001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Haad tien is the only hotel of the shark bay beach. The hotel is very design. The staff very friendly. There is a free shuttle from and to the pier daily. The rooms are nice (just missing body lotion and ear cotton buds ;)
The restaurant is good (service a bit slow).
The beach is nice and wasnt crowded at all.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecile083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.0 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#13 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.6 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haadtien Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haadtien Beach Resort

Property: Haadtien Beach Resort
Address: 19/9 Moo 3 (Shark Bay), Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Koh Tao
#3 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Haadtien Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HaadtienBeach Resort is a boutique destination set in a stunning backdrop of beachfront panoramas, featuring its own 380 metre secluded beach situated at the southern tip of Koh Tao. The property contains 70 private villas thoughtfully spaced amongst over 45 acres of land, which features a stunning natural bay, perfect for swimming and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Haadtien Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haad Tien Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing