We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paaradise - just wish we could have stayed longer...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haadtien Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed July 24, 2011

We spent two nights in a castaway family bungalow - loved it. The only downside as far as we were concerned was the rather bumpy ride to and from town - but we didn't really feel like leaving the resort at all as we were there such a short time. restaurant was great with big daybeds to relax in both in the restaurant and just outside- breakfast was a bit disappointing, but good enough! The pool area is realxing and quite new - they but up extra parasols for shade while we were there. Looking for peace and quiet, this is the place! Although not quite, just a short distance away is Shark's island - my husband and son hired a kayak for a few hours and went snorkelling with reef sharks - you should have seen the look of delight on my eight-year-old's face when they came back! My husband and I agreed that next time we'll just skip Koh Samui and go straight to Koh Tao and the Haad Tien :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bergensanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,600)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 1,600 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stayed here 3 nights with my sister and small daughter - in a Castaway bungalow, unit 205.

This is one of the most difficult reviews to write as it was outstanding in so many ways. The new pool is beautiful, visually discreet and modern in this tranquil and harmonious setting. The Bungalow was lovely; the staff friendly and helpful but not intrusive.

The reef is recovering from the 2010 coral bleaching, and we saw a large variety of small fish; purple, yellow and mauve corals in very shallow waters just off the beach.

Would go back here in a heart-beat!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falangkiinok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed in a castaway (top of range) beach front cabin/villa. We loved it, right on the beach, great daybed overlooking ocean.... just what we wanted

Food ok but could do better .... not as good as the Amanjirah resort that we had just spent 7 days at and Haad Tien is 3 times the price hence should lift quality to match resort price. The worst pizza I've ever eaten .... I didnt complain as its Thailand and all the cooks were Thai, so not their fault and probably a stupid thing to order on my part!

The beach cocktail barman was great... fun friendly and excellent cocktail skills. So were most of the staff especially the adoreable porters who were fantastic and so keen to please and go out of their way to help. In fact all the Thai staff were great. Was a bit perplexed by the very serious female German? who I think was the manager ..... clearly she is not naturally cut out for the hospitality industry as was a bit like a german prison warden/old school mistress who did'nt look happy at all.... she was not outwardly rude when she gave us a tour of our room but just odd, robotic and not the thai smiley welcome that Thailand is famous for! Anyway we named her Hilda Von Trap and got some amusement out of it and just avoided here wherever possible. Sounds mean but first impressions last and this is a very expensive resort by Koh Tao standards.

Pool was aaamaaazing .... loved it! Beach was also great ..... had to wade out to snorkel as is low tide season, but was very pretty beach and kept spotlessly clean. Only down side was the bit of construction work that was going on but to be honest after a few excellent strawberry daquiries we didnt really notice!

Yes would def reccomend and probably return as is a beautiful natural resort that is trying hard to keep with nature.

Room Tip: they all looked great depending on budget/occasion ... castaway was great tho despite the $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam_jetski_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This is the third time we have visited Koh Tao and every trip is more memorable than the last one! This time we stay at Haad Tien for 7 nights. The resort is set very nicely on a secluded bay with a clean beach and away from the crowds of Sairee and Mae Haad. This is exactly what we wanted. Yet you have the option to take the evening or afternoon shuttle to town and enjoy the variety of restaurants.

We stayed in the Castaway Villas right next to the pool, 208 and 207. Fantastic location! The pool and beach both were less than 50 ft away. The vill was clean, well equipped and had all the amenities of a five star resort. The pool was also beautiful and the water temperature was just perfect. A few suggestions for the villa: It would be nice to have a folding table in the villa for placing the food tray when dining outside in the balcony or in the room. Also it would be nice to have hooks for hanging clothes in the toilet area and inside the shower area. Otherwise it was perfect.

The shallow water on the beach was great to just relax and lay in the warm water but as pointed out by the other reviewers, not the best for snorkeling, especially when the tide was low. Even at high tide, the bay is fairly shallow and one can stand up to their shoulders in water 20 or 30 meters away from shore which is fun. The majority of the coral is bleached but if you can swim out towards the far right end of the beach there is decent coral and marine life to be seen.

Breakfast was good and we ate at the restaurants and ordered from the pool bar several times and found the food to be reasonably priced and tasty. I know the other reviews complain about the staff being inattentive but my view is that they are Island people and tend to have relaxed views about everything. A few smiles and an informal chat goes a long way and we had wonderful service from everyone, especially the General Manager who was always around to check on everything. The housekeeping supervisor was also great and we loved the figurines made on the bed with our towels. My only comment on the service is that the russian lady at the reception is not very friendly or welcoming, she is not rude but a smile or a welcome when you first arrive at the hotel is usually expected. We did not get any. Instead were just asked for our passports and credit card. Seemed more like going through Russian immigration!

Overall had a great Holiday and we would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelIHKarachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Controversial experience: nice location but ordinary rooms, basic furniture, and poor staff (in comparison with other experience in thai resort). Make sure the workers have finished to build new bungalows and that you are not
coming in the low tide time (the beach gets muddy). Overpriced for what it offers

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank italian_journalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Haad Tien is a lovely spot but our stay was disappointing.

We got the cheapest option, a cottage for $3000 baht and while cute it was really small and easily crowded by our luggage. The service wasn't great, particularly the beach bar, there seemed to be way too many staff around who while pleasant seemed more interested in each other than us . We felt like we were intruding often, our queries were brushed off with one word answers and we waited for service even though there were plenty of staff around.

Most disappointing though was the snorkeling - we'd chosen the bay because it apparently had some of the best snorkeling and we only had one night on the island to make the most of it. The day we arrived they had no fins and we didn't feel confident going out to deep without them as the sea was a bit choppy. The next day the tide was out for most of the day and it was impossible to snorkel unless you could get out to the drop off which you could only do by boat or picking your way through the coral. We tried to get on a snorkeling trip but the resort wasn't running one due to rough seas and said our side was the calmest on the island when we asked about other bays. So all we could do was wait and hope the tide came up enough for us to get out to the drop off before we had to leave. Unfortunately it didn't and we had to sit and watch as numerous snorkeling boats came by and let people out to snorkel right in front of us while we were stuck on our beach. It sucked and we couldn't help but feel that the resort could have done more to help, we saw a heap of other guests try and snorkel all day and fail and thought the staff should have offered to kayak people out or something, there was certainly enough staff to spare.

The resort is fine, we had bad luck, but I feel there is better value on the island and if you're only going to be there for a short time like we were I would recommend going to one of the busier beaches like Haad Sairee with more accommodation options, save some $$ and go on a snorkeling trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Appleetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Great service (happy hour 5.00 - 7.00 pm, free pier pick-up, wifi, transport to the island´s village, etc.), nice location, we liked the swimmingpool.

Rather disappointing (hide-away) cottages. New ones seemed to be more okay. Still (little) construction work going on when we stayed there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rietkast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
2.2 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#6 of 50 in Koh Tao
328 reviews
3 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
360 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Club by Haadtien
Beach Club by Haadtien
#20 of 50 in Koh Tao
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haadtien Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haadtien Beach Resort

Address: 19/9 Moo 3, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Koh Tao
#4 Luxury Hotel in Koh Tao
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: $102 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haadtien Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HaadtienBeach Resort is a boutique destination set in a stunning backdrop of beachfront panoramas, featuring its own 380 metre secluded beach situated at the southern tip of Koh Tao. The property contains 70 private villas thoughtfully spaced amongst over 45 acres of land, which features a stunning natural bay, perfect for swimming and snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Haadtien Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haad Tien Beach Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing