We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Management”
Review of OK View Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
OK View Bungalows
Ranked #74 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I've been visiting Ok View for 8 years, and always had a lovely friendly stay with Kerry and her staff, HOWEVER !!! during my last visit there was a management change and things now are really bad. First we had no water, then no electric, we had to witness the owner screaming at her staff like a mad woman, when we asked the owner's husband for toilet roll, he said NO !! and said it wasn't his problem, very rude. The bar was always closed, but the final straw was when they decided to turn off the lights on the paths up to the bungalows ( i guess it was to save money on electric ) but it made it very difficult under foot and was dangerous walking in total darkness.
We decided to book in somewhere else , for the rest of our holiday.which was extra expense to us
I will never stay there again and would NOT recommend it to anyone .


Thank you Kerry and Pun for the last 8 years.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Caroleecb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 22 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

Hi There!
Just wanted to let the community know what´s going on at OK View:
on the 22nd Kerry and her stuff quit managing OK-View... since then it´s going fast down the slope, atm the owner herself (the nurse) "tries" to manage it with her daughter, since then this happened:
1st day without Kerry & Sprite: no drinks, no bar stuff
2nd day without ´em: No Water (not drinking water , you couldn´t even shower which is great at 32 degrees+ and a lot of humidity!)
3rd day: today mick + carole, and another couple from there poped just up at our new resort and told us they don´t even have electricity anymore at okview.....
...just ridiculous...!!
how to -- up a wonderful place & atomsphere within 3 days or less!!!
two nights after kerry quit managing Ok-View, we finally moved out from OK-View, yesterday...won´t see us there staying again...(we stayed there the last four years everytime mostly 3 months longterm rent , it was always nice and friendly there, but these times are gone..)
...and i would not advice anyone to go there unless you want to stay at a place with no supplies and a mad thailady screaming around at all her stuff........
...and thx to Kerry, Pun, and Sprite for the awesome Times you gave us there....!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank supergrobi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

OK View's bungalows certainly do have an Ok view to the sea! Clean and cosy bungalows and hammocs on the terrace. Kerry is the best host you can ask for. We really felt like home after being travelling already five months. Thanks Kerry and everyone off your staff! :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reeta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We spent an amazing afternoon at the mau mau bar and restaurant (on site).
Kerry is the perfect host and made us feel really welcome, introducing us to people and then came and sat with us for a couple hours inbetween making us the most amazing cocktails, many of which are her own creations.
We decided to eat there also and the food was scrumptious. Highly recommended, we shall be returning in April for more 'Jungle berry lassis.'

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I've stayed here with my group (17 pax totally). Location is fantastic (consider 10 minutes walking to the beach, about 15-20 from the beach). Food is also very good.
There are different accommodations: from low budget to middle range.
The real value is Kerry: she was incredible helpful, and made our stay really unforgettable.
I recommend this place.
Cinzia (Italy)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinzia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I stayed here 3 nights in one of the wooden bungalow. Clean and comfortable. I had very heavy luggage and one of the staff helped me with them upon arrival and also upon leaving. All the staff are really nice, genuine people and very nice. A great atmosphere in the place. Kerry (the manager) has a wealth of information about the island and is absolutely fantastic.
Only down side is that it is quite a hike from Sairee Beach (real steep) and in burning April/May heat if you don't rent a motorbike it might do your head in a little. It's still very close to the beach (7 min) and if that doesn't bother you, I'd highly recommended this place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danidoo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

stayed in March 2010 with my boyfriend so taken some time to get the review up... sorry kerry!

OK View is a lovely little friendly place, set up on the hillside from Sairee Beach, views are really stunning and recommend to anyone. super bar and restaurant area, with an amazing selection of vodka!

to be fair we weren't really expecting that it is a bit of steep hill walk from the main area, taxis definitely required at night time if you choose not to get a bike as it is not lit at all, but the manager Kerry was super helpful and took my boyfriend down to a bike hire place that she recommended so that we wouldn't get ripped :-) she was also really helpful in sorting trip and boat tickets out for us and recommending places to visit... jamakiri spa being one... wow!

she has a selection of bungalows, dorms, wooden and concrete set higher up the hill than others, we booked a superior sea view which had ensuite, cable tv, fridge and hammock on with huge patio/balcony and well the amazing view, what can i say!

we have recommended the place to friends and wouldn't hesitate staying again, very chilled out people and place.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mossee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.5 mi away
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
Neptune Guesthouse Hostel
#37 of 153 in Koh Tao
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostel '69 Koh Tao
Hostel '69 Koh Tao
#24 of 153 in Koh Tao
72 reviews
1.3 mi away
Montalay Eco Cottages
Montalay Eco Cottages
#71 of 153 in Koh Tao
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Pranee Guesthouse
Pranee Guesthouse
#29 of 153 in Koh Tao
56 reviews
1.2 mi away
Diamond Beach Bungalows
Diamond Beach Bungalows
#105 of 153 in Koh Tao
42 reviews
0.9 mi away
Good Dream Hostel
Good Dream Hostel
#23 of 153 in Koh Tao
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to OK View Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about OK View Bungalows

Address: Jor Por Ror Road, Koh Tao, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: $13 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — OK View Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your OK View Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ok View Bungalows Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing