We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best View and Hospitality in Koh Tao”
Review of Koh Tao Star Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koh Tao Star Villa
Ranked #4 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2010

The view from Star Villa is unbelievable! Alan and Heidi are the best hosts you can ask for. They picked us up and dropped us off at the ferry, which was super convenient. We were also introduced to their friend Dave, a scuba instructor, who took us scuba diving to some of his favorite spots. I can't say enough about this place -- you really feel at home at this wonderfully villa.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank artieb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 260 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2010

My boyfriend and i had a wonderful 2 nights staying at Star Villas.
We stayed in one of their lovely spacious apartments which had a plasma on the wall, dvd player and surround sound. The apartment was very clean and our bed was turned down at night. We loved the bathroom with the bricked shower and the dressing gowns hanging up on the wall. The fridge was fully stocked with a variety of drinks which were very cheap compared to the usual mini bar prices.
We were thorughly looked after which we was not expecting from staying in an apartment. Heidi and Alan showed us around and took us to a few bars- Lotus and Vibe bar which were on the beach with fairy lights etc!
We are really glad we stayed here, with Heidi and Alans recommendations for places to visit we felt we saw a lot more than what we might of staying somewhere else.
I would recommend Koh Tao Star Villas to everybody from families to single travellers, it finished off our holiday perfectly!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yLucylockett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2010

It's hard to add any more superlatives than what has already been written about Koh Tao Star Villa. The apartment was luxurious, spacious, tastefully decorated in a contemporary style and spotlessly clean throughout. Added to that there were lots of welcome extras like towelling dressing gowns, satellite tv and an excellent fully stocked fridge. Owners Alan and Heidi were born to be in the hospitality business, both friendly, helpful to a fault and providing service that was second to none. We only wish we could have stayed longer than the four nights. Recommend it? Oh yes.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doryjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

We just debated if this is our favourite accommodation any where and the answer is Yes.

We stayed for 8 nights from 07.01.10 and wish we could have longer. We will back.

The apartments are lovely and stylish with good furniture and fittings and all the mod cons. Great terrace to have a drink in the evening and watch the sun set into the koh tao harbour. Great games room with pool table, and lovely breakfasts available.

Best of all Alan and Heidi are lovely people who will go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and happy.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_Fazzari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2010

I stayed in the Star Villa for 8 days based on reviews I read here on Trip Advisor and I couldn't have had a better stay. The accommodation was new, spacious, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The view from the balcony of the apartment was stunning. (The apartments are up quite a steep hill but the hosts offer a free taxi service twice daily so that is not a problem and the location means that you are close enough to access the action on Sairee Beach easily but you are in a peaceful haven in the jungle overlooking spectacular views of the sea - beautiful!) The owners of the Star Villa couldn't have been better hosts. They are so friendly and welcoming that it feels like visiting friends. Their knowledge of the island is better than any guidebook. Thanks to their suggestions we discovered beautiful beaches for snorkeling that were off the beaten track, amazing local places to eat and even a quirky bowling alley that has to be seen to be believed! The service was faultless and they offer breakfast options if you are too tired (or lazy!) to make your own in the well-stocked kitchen. They also replenish the fridge with a range of drinks on a daily basis (and these are offered at shop prices - very generous!) One final demonstration of how the lovely hosts at Star Villa seem to go the extra mile - I couldn't find my favorite Thai dessert (Mango and sticky rice if you must know!) at any of the restaurants on the island and Heidi (the owner) actually cooked up some for me and delivered it to my balcony - a lovely surprise! I would definitely recommend a stay here (I would love to go back!).

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntieTravellingMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

I can't give this place a perfect score because I have very high expectations - and I think..."so what is perfection?" ...or ....."what is perfect in life?" But I can relate my experience there. I wont tell you about the amazing views, or the excellent service, attention to detail, personal touches, or the way they go the extra mile for the guest (ie: while I was there they took guest from Ireland snorkeling with them to the other side of the island, invited us to dinner, picked us up at 1:30am on New Years Eve, gave me a new USB chord to play rap music in the room, ordered food at unGodly hours...I could go on and on...), but what I will say is that no place can exceed my expectations - you would need 4 women, three bottles of Glenmorangie, and homemade whipped cream for that - but they are great people, the place is beautiful, and we were sad when we left. Not because the vacation was over, but because we were leaving Heidi, Alan, Moe, Bailey, and No.3. We stayed in another place after leaving our new friends and it only made me appreciate Star Villas more. Minus the girls, scotch, fresh fruit and whipped cream, this place is perfect. If I can be of any help you can email me - dwight dot jackson at gmail dot com

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maltlinux2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

My stay at Koh Tao Star Villa was the cherry on top to my trip to Koh Tao. The accommodation and hospitality surpassed my expectations. Alan and Heidi (owners of Koh Tao Star Villa) have a way of making you feel like you have known them for years. Not only did they provide assistance when needed while I was in Koh Tao but even before my travels actually began by promptly responding to emails etc. Koh Tao Star Villa is definitely the place to stay while in Koh Tao.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeechieJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.2 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
355 reviews
1.9 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#14 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,575 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
319 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#9 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,302 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 50 in Koh Tao
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Star Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Star Villa

Address: 11/18 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: $66 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Star Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the jungle clad hills above Sairee Beach, Koh Tao Star Villa offers unique accommodation on Koh Tao. spacious, modern, fully furnished apartmens with western standard bathrooms all designed with the ecology of the island in mind. Enjoy beautiful sunsets from your terrace and enjoy free use of our games room and BBQ area. And this very peacful setting, is only 3-4 minutes by bike or ATV from the centre of Sairee Beach - truely a great combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Koh Tao Star Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing