We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star Villa = Awesome”
Review of Koh Tao Star Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koh Tao Star Villa
Ranked #3 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I'll keep this review short and sweet, this place is awesome. The accommodation is great, the surrounding views are great, the owners Alan and Heidi are great, I think you're getting the picture here. The place is simply beautiful, Alan and Heidi met us when we arrived and helped with our bags and taxi travel back to Star Villa where they then proceeded to show us around the room and how everything worked (e.g tv/media servers, air con e.g). They provided menus to all the great places to eat on the island and also for those which provide delivery to the villa's themselves (this was simply awesome in its self).

Alan also helps with transportation on the island by providing lifts in his 4wd and also by helping in the organisation or bike/quad hire. His knowledge of the trustworthy places to hire from helped us immensely as the place we first went to leased us bikes that broke down. Alan helped us sort all this out and organised replacement quads too.

Want to know what the good spots to swim on Koh Tao are? Ask Alan. Places to organise scuba dives? Ask Alan. Places to eat? Ask Alan. Transport from island to island? Ask Alan. Alan and Heidi are there to ensure you have a great time on the island, they were very friendly and were more than willing to help us with any questions or problems that arose on our trip.

In short these guys are awesome, they'll take care of you, answer any questions you have etc etc. Plus the rooms themselves have heaps to do if you want to laze about, 7tb's of movies and TV shows made those hangover days a breeze. If you love a great view the look out they have from the penthouse is simply amazing, especially with a beer and mates to appreciate it with.

Loved every minute of our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Koh Tao Star Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 95 of 259 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

Alan and Heidi the English owners take great care of the property and their guests the rooms are immaculate with everything provided including a vast number of movies we had breakfast from them most mornings on the balcony with a fantastic view watching the squirrels playing in the palm trees almost within touching distance-just incredible!! we rented a quad bike via Allan from a local Irishman called Jack an honest dealer and highly recommended. We walked the return trip into town several times and never found it a problem we are in our late 50s and not especially fit. You would find the owners exceedingly helpful and a mine of local information to them nothing is too much trouble.We stayed two weeks and loved it also great value for money THANKYOU both for a fantastic holiday don't change anything

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank davegmzcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Alan夫妇非常不错,Star Villa 的环境也非常独特,漂亮的海景/山景房,房间很大也很干净,过去没有过类似的经历。 整体感觉很温馨。 每天坐Alan的皮卡或摩托,或自驾租来的大摩托上下山,感觉非常刺激。 山下就有一个很不错的潜水学校Roctopus。 下次去涛岛还会找Alan。 The staffs are really nice people. Rooms are clean and spacious. The apartments are on the mountain, beautiful views of the sea, very quite. It takes about 15 minutes down to the town, but it takes a bit of work out if you want to climb up. They offer you two free round trips down to the town every day. Definitely a place for families. I stayed there for four days with my family and went to Roctopus Dive which is right at the bottom of the mountain for an open water course. Very pleasant experience.

稍微有些偏僻,但好处是很幽静。 不过经常不到6点就被邻居的鸡叫吵醒了。 The location is a little bit far for the center of the town, but instead you get a better and quieter environment. One thing bothered me was the cocks, they craw every morning at about 6! No need for an alarm.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zhaohui z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Star Villa which is owned and managed by Alan and Heidi provides an ideal view of the island along with comfort, service, play room, and clean water. Don't take clean water lightly on Koh Tao. It is one of the most problematic issues for the island. Alan and Heidi were super friendly, informative, helpful, very polite and genuine. The apartments very well designed and built and furnished with style. They are spacious, surrounded by immaculate landscape and feel like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HUSSJournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed at Koh Tao Star Villa for 4 nights during our trip through south east asia.

Alan and Heidi are extremly friendly guestkeepers. Alan has asked every day if we are ok and if we need anything. We also appreciated his advise on beaches and tourist activities on the island. It was definitely more personal than a stay in a regular hotel since we were always very wellcomed to ask or have a chat.
The villa is placed on a rock and has a great view over the island. We were offered a schuttle service twice a day but we often did not use it. Instead we enjoyed the walk up and down the hill.
Thx Ewa + Soeren

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewalau2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed at Star Villa in December 2013 with my parents. We had the 2 apartments which was fantastic as they were ajoining and shared a HUGE balcony!

We were promptly greeted by Alan & Heidi at the pier and taken straight to the villa. The first journey up to the villa is quite an experience!! It is quite high up a little track, but once up there it is definately worth it!! You can either sit inside the pickup or stand up in the back, in the back is the the best option! There are also quite a lot of steps upto the villa, so if you have any health problems may not be advisable but again, once your up them it is worth it for the fantastic view of the sea!

The apartments themselves were lovely. Everything you need. Full kitchen if you want to use it, stocked fridge with drinks and snacks at very reasonable prices. Bedrooms lovely, bathrooms very nice. Living area in each with sofas, large tv with everything you could want. A system with every film imaginable on! Music etc. Alan and Heidi provide a guestbook with some rules, but all reasonable requests which make Star Villa so great and keep it so clean and lovely. It also has many takeaway menus in it which will deliver upto you. They also do a good breakfast menu with lovely toasties!!

The taxi service is fab! So is the mobile phone you get provided with their numbers, should you need them and also taxi numbers if you wish to stay out later! Alan & Heidi could not have been more accommodating. They took us out to eat on 2 occasions to some of their favourite restaurants which was lovely. Always had great advice and made us feel very safe during our stay.

There is an area with games and a pool table which was nice. The only downside to Star Villa is there is no pool. But the beaches are so beautiful it makes up for it! This villa is definately worth the money.

Thankyou Alan & Heidi for a fantastic stay, sorry it has taken a while to review. We hope to return to you soon!

Janine, Steve & Sam.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2 apartments which were fab. We had a look around the pent house and wished we had...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

They have got very promising reviews here in Tripadvisor and I was looking for some really nice hotel as I have tried some others on my previous trip and was not good experience at all. So trusted reviews and high price to ensure we get best value for money and service, but…

Road to this place is somehow proper off-road as soon as you drive off the main road!! Don’t think of walking to Sariee as it is kind of hiking as road is very steep! We rent an ATV as I am not good at bike and don’t think a bike could take two people up there if you are couple!

I was actually expecting kind of hotel! But it is not really! It is more like guesthouse or homestay? Since they have only two, one bedroom apartment (suit) sharing one balcony and I believe up stairs is their own house, To be honest, I did not like it, as there is not privacy there, all can be heard and seen by your neighbour!!

There is really bad smell in bathroom when you take hot shower, it is just disgusting, every time I took shower I could not stand the bad smell.

Local neighbours are having few chicken so be prepared to be waken up at 4 or 5 AM by them, if not the monk of temple on the hill side around 7 AM will turn on prayer CD player, which is disturbing, he will have that CD playing till evening time (maybe 4-5 PM).
Do not expect any breakfast there, you have all equipment there to make it yourseif but no one will make it for you!

There are lot of Dogs and cats around, so watch out for them as well if you are not big fan of pets ! They are not for the owner we were told maybe neighbours!

Definitely not worth the money I have paid for it, you can get much better deals in the island with lesser price! We moved to Haad Tien strongly suggest look into it as well.

At the end I must say Alan and Heidi are such a lovely couple and been very helpful and kind to us while we stayed there.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay, get the room on right hand side as you walk the stairs, so more privacy maybe...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HesamSaroukhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanCassarKohTao, Owner at Koh Tao Star Villa, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review to Star Villa.

We are very sorry that your stay was not everything you were expecting it to be. We are also very confused, as our website makes it very clear that we are not a ‘normal’ resort. Indeed you also say you were using Tripadvisor to assess our accommodation, but if you had actually read any of the reviews, you would know the style of accommodation that you were about to book. And the more observant would also notice that we were listed under ‘Speciality Lodgings’ and not ‘hotels’. We take great care to try to ensure that we provide our guests with exactly what they are expecting, so it is a serious disappointment to us when these efforts fail. Again we apologise that we were not even more explicit in our property description but we can only provide the information, we cannot force anyone to read it. And just to cover one more point of this subject, you are quite correct, there are only 2 one-bedroom apartments at Star Villa but, actually, the level about these apartments is our superb two-bedroom Penthouse apartment. This accommodation was not taken at the time you stayed with us. We live on the grounds of Star Villa in a separate bungalow. This allows us to quickly respond to the needs of our guests should they have any.

Yes, as we state on our website, we are off the beaten track and yes, some of the road is steep. This facilitates the fantastic views that we enjoy at Star Villa. For your information and for the benefit of others reading this, it is a 15 minute walk from Star Villa to Sairee (though it will take a little longer to walk up the hill); yes a good scooter will get 2 people (of normal western stature) up the hill; we do also provide a free return taxi service to Sairee town twice a day for our guests (at a time to suit them) and we provide them with a mobile phone so that they can contact us for this service. If guests do want to rent a scooter, motorbike or ATV, we will also taxi them over to a very reliable and honest rental shop, which brings us to our next question:

You rate the ‘Service’ at Star Villa as 2 out of 5. So when we say, ‘if there is anything you need, or if you have any questions, please just ask’ and after we taxi you free of charge to the ATV rental shop (and get you a discount at that shop), and after we advise you on alternative dive operators after you were let down by another, and after you were offered ear plugs to help you sleep (offered to your girlfriend, who refused them saying ‘No, don’t worry, it’s not that bad’…..???), and after you were met at the pier at 7.00pm, and after we readily agreed a late check-out for you; how do you come to the conclusion that this rates as 2 out of 5. Again we were left confused.

No breakfast available??? Did you read the information pack that was pointed out to you? There is a breakfast menu in there. Or you could have asked the question.

Bad smell from the shower??? We could not detect that. Neither could our current guests. Neither did our previous guests. And again, why not ask the simple question: ‘is there anything that can be done about the smell in the shower’? Again your review has left us confused.

We feel we must also point out to other people reading this, that your original booking was for 6 nights. You reduced this down to 3 so that you could spend the other 3 nights at a resort with a swimming pool as there is no swimming pool at Star Villa. Needless to say, we agreed without reservation (issue). And this change was made long before you arrived on Koh Tao. Unfortunately, your review may give some the impression that you left because of the issues you felt you had.

Nobody that runs any form of business with their hearts likes to hear that a customer has left dissatisfied with their experience. But this disappointment is multiplied by the frustration felt when the customer has at no stage mentioned that they have had an issue and it is made worse still when those issues were not (or should not have been) there in the first place.

I guess the bottom line is we feel aggrieved that whilst you were here, you said nothing about the issues you felt you had, and yet, two seconds later you are stomping up and down making exaggerated or fabricated statements on Tripadvisor. This is sly and disingenuous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.3 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#9 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,250 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Tarna Align Resort
The Tarna Align Resort
#12 of 49 in Koh Tao
252 reviews
1.9 mi away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
2,270 reviews
1.3 mi away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 49 in Koh Tao
962 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Star Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Star Villa

Address: 11/18 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 142 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range: $73 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Star Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the jungle clad hills above Sairee Beach, Koh Tao Star Villa offers unique accommodation on Koh Tao. spacious, modern, fully furnished apartmens with western standard bathrooms all designed with the ecology of the island in mind. Enjoy beautiful sunsets from your terrace and enjoy free use of our games room and BBQ area. And this very peacful setting, is only 3-4 minutes by bike or ATV from the centre of Sairee Beach - truely a great combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Koh Tao Star Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing