We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb villa, awesome location, amazing island”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Koh Tao Star Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Koh Tao Star Villa
Ranked #2 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb villa, awesome location, amazing island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at star villa for 11 nights in January. The accommodation is modern, spotlessly clean, has all mod cons and is in a great location 20 minutes walk from sairee beach or 5 minutes in Alan and Heidi's jeep. The view from the villa over the jungle to the sea is spectacular.

We loved the walk to and from the villa but you do need to be reasonably fit as there are three short but steep hills. When we were feeling less energetic Alan was always on hand to give us a lift.

Alan and Heidi are a great couple who gave us lots of useful information about koh Tao and Thailand in general.

We would highly recommend staying at Star Villa. We will be back!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gidding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    22
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
136
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We arrived at star villa thinking that we had reserved a room, it turns out we hadn't we had booked a different hotel by accident, Heidi and Alan sorted this out for and we were soon to be fully fledged star villa guests! we stayed in the penthouse apartment which was divine. The two rooms were large with aircon and fans, the main living area was also huge with two massive couches, a complete kitchen with breakfast bar and also a dining area. There was two bathrooms (one en-suite) both bathrooms were large with a modern shower and fittings. the entire apartment was immaculate, and very well maintained.
On the balcony tables, chairs and sun loungers were provided and the view from there was stunning.
Alan and Heidi (the owners) were fabulous, they are always on hand and very helpful, they run shuttles down to the beach, and nothing is too much trouble for them. the hospitality Heidi and Alan provide for their guest is second to none, which is what makes this place very special.
I hope to return very soon and recommend anyone to stay here!

Room Tip: the penthouse and the two smaller apartments all looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Wll what can i say.... perfect paradise! I'bve travelled all over the world and dont think ive ever met such great hosts as Hiedi & Alan, we will be friends for life :)

From the moment we arrived they were there waiting for us to arrive off the ferry, then we were in the back of Alans landrover getting a quick tour of the Island, and stopping off for a suger dohnut en route to the villas, the landover itself was an experience, great fun holding on as your wisked up into the hills!

The apartments were beautiful! so luvly, with great attention to details, ive stayed in Koh Tao and have never experienced such a luvly looking place, with great views!

Your up in the coconut plantation so are surrounded by all the wildlife, its great, just like your staying in a jungle, but in a amazing villa!

Heidi and Alan really couldnt do enough for us, we were taken up and down to the villa and called alan if we needed a lift. we all went snorkelling together to Shark Bay - and had a few nice meals out together and rinks on a t time on the lovley balcony overlooking koh tao. I got really ill from one of the cafes one day and got food poisening - and all i can say is thank god for heidi!! she really did look after me, they were bot coming to check on me all the time, bringing water, tablets, sheets :-S they wanted me to go see a doctor but i refused as could barely walk, but they really did take care of me, And when my mum and sister stayed in whilst i was ill they took good care of them, getting them takeaways, films whatever they wanted :). such nice freindly genuine people!

Ive been back to Koh Tao since in the summer but stayed somewhere else as was backpacking and on a very low budget, but sure enough heidi and alan were down to see me the night i arrived, making sure i was ok, asking if i needed anything etc :) we all went for a few meals together and drinks, afternoon cocktails with heidi catching up was great. They are great friends! I'll be seeing you both again soon!

Room Tip: all of the rooms are amazing! the top floor villa is really out of this world!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missmerryweather87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in December 2011 for a couple days in the 1-bedroom apartment (the one with the shared terrace). It was a large room - with complete separate kitchen, living room, bedroom, and bathroom. It was pretty clean and your only visitors are the cute little geckos that you'll see everywhere else on Koh Tao. There are house rules you have to follow, like a 10 baht charge for disposal of drinks that you bring onto the premises.

The reason I give this place an Average rating though is because of its location. True, it's up on the hill and that gives it good views of the island/beach, but it also makes it very difficult to go to and from Sairee Beach. Alan & Heidi are a nice couple and they offer a free ride every day, but then you also have to coordinate schedules with them and it felt like I was imposing on them when I asked for a ride. The point of our trip was to go diving and relax on the beach - if that is your goal as well, I strongly recommend getting a different hotel that's on the beach itself. Otherwise, it is too much hassle going back and forth up the hill (and believe me, it's a trek that you don't want to walk yourself - or even entrust a random taxi driver to drive).

Conclusion - think about the reason you want to visit Koh Tao. If it's for relaxing on the beach and the occasional diving, then don't stay here. If it's for a nice view and alone time in the jungle (not on the beach), then stay here.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tylerette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanCassarKohTao, Owner at Koh Tao Star Villa, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you, Shirley, for taking the time and trouble to write a review for Star Villa. It was a pleasure having you and Tomer stay with us and we are sorry that you were not totally satisfied with your short stay with us. We do try and make our guest’s stay with us memorable and as pleasurable as possible.

Over the years Star Villa has found it necessary to introduce basic house rules to protect ourselves and our property. Most of these are common sense things like no smoking inside the apartments, and be respectful in your use of fresh water as there are no mains or sanitation systems on the island – a fact that most people visiting the island are unaware of and having endless fresh water is taken for granted by many. We also ask that you use the recycle bag for all bottles and tin cans and that when you are not using something electrical, please turn it off. At Star Villa we are committed to sustainable eco-tourism and we ask that our guests help us in this endeavor.

And yes, one of our house rules is that we reserve the right to charge a corking or disposal fee should we feel the need to, (all waste on the island has to be managed - at a price). We have never charged this fee, but reserve the right to do so. Also, we charge 50 baht for a beer (Tiger, Singha, Chang) and 25 baht for a can of soft drink. This is cheaper than most of the bars along Sairee. So customers can relax on the terrace, enjoy the ambiance of the surrounding jungle, watch the boats meander past the island, and enjoy a nice cold beer without running up a huge tab.

We are glad that you enjoyed the wonderful views from Koh Tao Star Villa - so much so that you commented on how wonderful it was upon your arrival, but such views can only be obtained due to our location. Indeed our website states this very explicitly on at least three pages. We also state that it takes about 15 minutes to walk from Star Villa to Sairee and that customers may wish to consider renting a motorcycle or ATV. So no one arrives here and feels that they have been duped in any way. Some of our customers rent transport, many opt for the free taxi and many find it pleasurable to take a stroll down through the coconut plantation and even walk back up, but this is a choice not a requirement.

We supply each apartment with a mobile phone so that guests can contact us if they have any questions, or require a taxi ride. We provide two free trips to and from Sairee a day and we can usually run this service at a time to suit except for a couple of hours in the evening when we are eating ourselves and not after 10.30pm, when you can use one of the taxi’s provided on the mobile. Not unreasonable we think.

We do ask that we be given a little notice when requesting a taxi, but this is not always necessary. And, yes, there are odd occasions when we may ask a customer to wait an extra 15 or 30 minutes, and, for most people, an extra 30 minutes on the beach, or having one more beer in a bar, is not an issue. I know you had this situation occur and we are sorry if this short delay was a problem for you.

Regarding the road to Star Villa, it is in fact one of the better roads on Koh Tao even though it is only a minor road. The main roads to Mango Bay, Tanote Bay, Sai Dang, Laem Thien, and Hin Wong are all far, far more difficult to navigate. That is why all the taxis are 4WD. There is not a taxi driver on the island that cannot manage the road to Star Villa. However some do ‘try it on’ as far a the price goes, which is why on the mobile phone we provide, there are telephone numbers for some of our more reliable taxi driver friends.

Koh Tao is a beautiful island, with as much or as little to do as the individual prefers and at Star Villa we give you the opportunity to do exactly that. You can relax on the beach all day (indeed we often take customers to some of the more beautiful, secluded beaches that they might not otherwise get to); drink, eat and party on Sairee and then – when you have had enough, or want a break from it – you can walk or take that 5 minute taxi ride up the hill and escape from the noise, people and hubbub of Sairee to the isolation and tranquility of the jungle that surrounds Koh Tao Star Villa.

Koh Tao Star Villa is now entering its fourth year of supplying wonderful, memorable holidays to many, many people. We are, therefore, truly sorry that you were not totally satisfied with the accommodation or the service provided, and hope that it did not spoil the rest of your enjoyment of this wonderful island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed @ Koh Tao Star Villa for 8 nights and it was magical. The location is great: nestled away in the jungle overlooking the ocean, the sunsets and views are breathtaking and the accommodation was very comfortable. The room had everything we needed during the stay, and the hospitality shown by Alan was second to none.

It is easy to walk to town, although a bit steep on the way back to the villa, and Alan offered us lifts back and forth and recommended great places to eat and drink. It is a great place to either go and have a few beers on the beach, or sit back and relax on the balcony and watch the sunset. I cannot recommend the villa highly enough.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ipcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

We can highly recommend Star Villas on Koh Tao. It's just a five minute drive from Sairee Beach up the hills and offers you a great view. The large rooms are fully equipped and very comfortable. Alan is a great host - helpful and very friendly. We had great rides on the back of his pickup and got the best dining tip!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninjahamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were at Star Villa for a week and it was AMAZING. The location is beautiful: about 15 minutes walk from the centre of town, it is nestled in amongst a beautiful jungle garden. The sunset views from the huge balcony are exquisite, and the rooms themselves were great: spotless, modern, and well-built. Bed was comfy, aircon and fans throughout were very welcome and there was a great selection of movies to choose from and a kitted out games room when the nights were rainy.

The details that really made our stay there outstanding: Alan (one of the owners) was always happy to help us out whether it was in finding Thai language lessons, or recommending the best places to eat on the island, and he was always super accommodating at giving us lifts to and from the centre of town when we needed them. He provided us with a cell phone for our stay which was awesome - super handy! I had quite a few concerns before arriving (there were massive floods all over Thailand at the time) and he responded to my emails quickly, and gave his advice on when and where to arrive. His attention to detail, welcoming nature and thoughtfulness were exceptional.

Overall we were looking for a relaxing experience to unwind from a hectic schedule, and Star Villa provided the perfect retreat. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Both balconies have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
1.2 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sensi Paradise
Sensi Paradise
#6 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 49 in Koh Tao
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#5 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
2.3 mi away
View Point Resort
View Point Resort
#3 of 49 in Koh Tao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koh Tao Star Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koh Tao Star Villa

Property: Koh Tao Star Villa
Address: 11/18 Moo 1, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koh Tao Star Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the jungle clad hills above Sairee Beach, Koh Tao Star Villa offers unique accommodation on Koh Tao. spacious, modern, fully furnished apartmens with western standard bathrooms all designed with the ecology of the island in mind. Enjoy beautiful sunsets from your terrace and enjoy free use of our games room and BBQ area. And this very peacful setting, is only 3-4 minutes by bike or ATV from the centre of Sairee Beach - truely a great combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koh Tao Star Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing