We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Ranked #43 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We booked a last minute room at Seashell as it looked nice from the outside compared to most of the other places I passed along the path through Sairee Beach and we weren't disappointed.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was very nice and well decorated with flat screen TV and air-con and a very powerful hot water shower which is quite rare for Koh Tao!!
The swimming pool area had plenty of sun loungers for all of the guests and the pool was clean and clear - again not something you can take for granted on Koh Tao.The resort is located around 2-3 minutes walk from many of Sairee Beach's best restaurants and some great beach bars and at the price we paid it was well worth the little bit extra compared to most of the places around it.

Room Tip: Although we didn't stay in them the pool rooms look very nice and are located next to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 504 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

Spent a lovely 5 days in Sairee at the Seashell. Had lovely room overlooking pool with sea view. All cleaned well and reception staff friendly. They were meant to have picked us up from the ferry, but there was most definitely no one waiting for us at the pier! But no worries as taxi cheap enough. The only disappointment was the breakfast area which had constant building work and drilling adjacent. Also the breakfast was quite poor with lots of flies landing on the food. After a couple of days we went elsewhere for breakfast.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Goa-lover4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed in the hotel block further back from the beech. Nice rooms, just refurbished. The grounds and main pools need maintenance. All the sun beds were broken. There was a nicer small pool near the beach. Building a new restaurant which looks as though it will be nice. We went in low season and maybe all their effort was going into building. Can't recommend it on the basis of our stay, but this hotel seems to be improving.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This resort has an amazing location, close to the action on Sairee beach. However, the accommodations at this resort vary widely, with at least four different levels. First there are the sea side hotel style rooms which are next to the beach. Second there are the pool side villas which are typically two rooms to a building and are near the pool. Third at the villas that are further away from the pool and are older. Finally there are the most basic accommodations which are furthest from the beach and appear to be the oldest. I have and would only stay at the first two levels of accommodation, as the last two are seriously lacking.

Breakfast was included with our stays but it was hardly worth the trip to the buffet when compared to the options available at the cafes nearby for a few dollars more. The staff was friendly but appeared to be mainly Burmese and they did not appear to understand Thai or English. The worst point regarding this resort was the lack of wifi (regardless of whether you paid for it). The best part about this resort was its central location. I might stay here again but it would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calgary_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is poor and dirty. The rooms are small and smells bad, and pool is tiny.
When we said we wanted to leave, they lied to us about their refund policy and said they can't fefund our money at all.
Only after a long argument and after talking to the maneger, they admitted they could let us go with a one night fine.
We left the hotel the same day.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Einatfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We liked this hotel. We paid a bit more to get a pool side villa (which was not actually pool side) which was clean and had good ac and the swimming pool was big and clear.

Staff were very nice, friendly and helpful.

The resturant was next to construction so breakfast wasn't so pleasant as you couldnt hear yourself think.

Great location and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna0000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Took a diving course with seashell, which allowed us to stay in the resort for 1220b per night in an ac room.. This meant a 20% discount. The cheap rooms were 250 per night (fan) and for free (fan, up the hill).

We contour own bungalow. The interior is a bit worn, but it seemed clean. We found it strange that we dis not have sheets, but only some kind of blanket. However, this seemed clean. They cleaned the room daily, but only if you ask and give them the keys. Makes you feel safew but it is also annoying. Towels were then changed as well.

The swimming pool was nice, as were the pool towels. The breakfast, which was included for us, is also very extensive.

All in all: it is a decent accommodation, albeit a bit worn. Don't expect a resort)(although it is resort prices). Breakfast and pool are fine!

T

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank DutchJAWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#8 of 50 in Koh Tao
551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#29 of 50 in Koh Tao
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ban's Diving Resort
Ban's Diving Resort
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashell Resort Koh Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashell Resort Koh Tao

Address: 9/1 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: $32 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seashell Resort Koh Tao 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashell Resort Koh Tao is centrally located in the popular resort area, within easy walk to markets, shops,beach bar, restaurants and Sairee famous beach.The resort is styled around a garden landscaped and swimming pool, with PADI dive center and a spa area. An additional bar and modern restaurant is located on the beach serve Thai Food ,European Food and Seafood ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Seashell Resort Koh Tao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Shell Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing