We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in a room in the separate building for three nights. Room was clean but not to cozy and we found it a little weird that we had to put up a sign to have them clean the room. I mean, its not like you remember to put it there when you go out diving at 0600 AM. My girlfriend also woke up with signs of bedbug bites..
Nice swimming pool, but the water was probably not the cleanest since we both ended up having otitis after using it.. Breakfast buffet included was not very impressive, but with a real nice view. Although we can highly recommend the seashell diving center!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Erlend O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 499 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at sea shell for one night. The room was big, clean and nice. From the balcony we could look down on the pool. We choose to check out after on night because of the lazy unfriendly staff and the unhygienic way the breakfast was served (uncovered food, flies, dirty eating utensils, stray cats begging for food).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ambrin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This place was a lot better than the other two places we stayed at on koh tao but it was vastly overpriced compared to other accommodation in thailand. I think this was reflected in all the accommodation in koh tao. Rooms were well decorated, clean and hotel has a nice pool and a good location. Probably a good place to stay on koh tao if the price suits you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donal94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Seashells is in a great location, and the beachfront rooms are very nice. However it's overpriced compared to other spots, staff aren't all that helpful, renovations are still going on and the food was a bit average. Other than frustrations with Seashells, I really enjoyed Koh Tao, loads of fun and a lovely beach. If you want peace and quiet I suggest staying on the fringes of sairee - the middle is fairly "active".

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms appear to be the only reasonably new ones, and are relatively expensive compare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CareyBenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Five days stay at Seashell was a good experience. OK big clean rooms with aircon and cable tv. Nice smiling staff that actually did speak English. Location close to the action, but not to close and direct at the Beach front. Breakfast in restaurant directly at the Beach where free wifi was available.
Reception was working OK and You got clean towels for the pool every day.
Poolside a littte crowded but ok.
Checking in and out went smoothly. 10 minuttes car ride to the pier.
Diving school at the hotel ( like everywhere at Koh Tao) ;)
All in all value for Money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the new de luxe room, very much comfort for thb 2550 a night which was o.k. Value for money related to the overall relatively high prices on ko tao in this season. Quite swimmingpool, breakfast buffet, clean rooms nearly right to the sairee beach. A little noise can be heared of the nightclubs and other noisy tourist at night, nothing to wory about.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingridvdkruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We arrived at Seashell Resort Koh Tao after pre booking and paying some months prior. We had booked two beachside pool access rooms.

When we arrived we were promptly told that they didn't have our booking before they'd even checked the computer bookings. They said that the website we booked through was a bogus site, that they were currently trying to get the site shut down. I provided the confirmation printout and I told them I wasn't leaving, that we had paid our money and that they needed to give us our room.

They said they'd phone the police so they could explain to me and I told them to go ahead. Needless to say, the police weren't called.

We were asked to take a seat as they were going to try to get intouch with the website owner.

As we waited for some news I went into the website of the alleged bogus site and checked the availability of the rooms at Seashells. Now surely if it were a bogus site, they would be still selling the rooms? All rooms were fully booked.

Then by a miracle, the staff managed to get intouch with the owner of the website who just happened to be on Koh Tao! I spoke with him on the phone and he told us he was coming with the refund on our rooms.

When he turned up the staff paid no mind to him and he came over and did indeed give our money back. Surely if the staff at Seashells were trying to track him down to close the site down, they would have caused some kind of commotion. Nothing.

I believe that they are selling the rooms, then reselling them and telling the customers that its a bogus website. If you read previous reviews its clear we aren't the only people this has happened to. I think because we kicked up a stink and we made it clear we weren't leaving, they refunded our money.

Be careful when booking this hotel.

Stayed: August 2013
3  Thank happydayz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#30 of 50 in Koh Tao
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
0.8 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashell Resort Koh Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashell Resort Koh Tao

Address: 9/1 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: $38 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seashell Resort Koh Tao 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashell Resort Koh Tao is centrally located in the popular resort area, within easy walk to markets, shops,beach bar, restaurants and Sairee famous beach.The resort is styled around a garden landscaped and swimming pool, with PADI dive center and a spa area. An additional bar and modern restaurant is located on the beach serve Thai Food ,European Food and Seafood ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Seashell Resort Koh Tao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Shell Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing