We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice poolside room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Ranked #44 of 50 Hotels in Koh Tao
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed at seashell in January 2012 for 9 days. This is my second stay at seashell. But this time we stayed in the new building with the new pool on the beachside. The room was very nice and we could jump right into the pool directly from our terrace. The restaurant is a bit old but they just got new furnitures and they also just started serving a breakfast buffet instead of just a plate of breakfast. This is included in the room price. The buffet is nothing special but it is okay, eggs, rice, toast, fruit, yoghurt, juice, coffee etc. I'm sure we are going to stay at seashell again

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandraOkholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 499 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed here due to reviews about dive centre which is owned by hotel. Stayed in garden bungalow at rear of property next to main road - noise is a problem. Room is large, spacious, clean and tidy. However, like all of the hotel it is in need of refurbishment - bathroom had been repaired at one time (worked OK) but unpainted walls, bare plaster were still visible. Room advertised hot water - at best only tepid. Pool area is nice until you visit the toilets - remember this place calls itself a resort - overgrown trees barr your path and they do not provide toilet paper - very run down. Breakfast is served in restaurant outside hotel - only 2 metres away - food choice was excellent but the restaurant itself was in really poor condition. Staff not overly friendly - usually they did not make eye contact. Good location on beach front, easy to walk into small town. Overall very over priced for what you actually get.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We have stayed on koh Tao for just over a week and stayed at sea shell, the staff were excellent always happy to help. The we had a fan room which was large with a nice balcony. Breakfast was included and was good was really nice having it on the beach fronted restaurant! We also used the dive school which was excellent, couldn't have asked for more. Great location and good pool area, really couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

It's hard to find a clean and poopable toilet on koh tao. I have particularly high request for toilet. I need it to be clean enough for me to poop. Seaview resort has a lot nice reviews, I'm OK with their room but the bathroom and toilet is horrible. Not auto flush.ac resort also not good. Seashell resort has super nice room and bathroom like at home. Large and stable bed for couple. Definitely a good choice for live a civilization life in koh tao.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicky_Jenslein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed there so often and never really took the time to give it a rating on this site ... so, here it comes!;-)

My boyfriend (Mark) and me we are both working and living on the very nearby island Koh Nangyuan. Each time we come over to the "big rock" (Koh Tao) we check into Seashell Resort, our 2nd home by now... we love the atmosphere over there, the staff is very friendly and the bungalows (we tried different price ranges) are always clean and comfy. The whole resort looks very fancy, located in a beautiful garden setting and the luxury pool area is great to just relax or watching the divers doing their confined sessions. Both of us are dive instructors as well, and worked for Seashell Divers for years and loved it!!

It upsets a bit to read some of these bad reviews the resort got, especially when it comes to the staff ... our own experience as a resort customer is the complete opposite!
During our time working there we did notice though, that a lot of customers approach the resort reception and restaurant staff really rude, so "what comes around goes around", i guess ... we never saw the staff being unfriendly unless the customers were absolutely rude! It is NOT the cheapest Backpacker place you can find on Koh Tao, so our advice is that if it's not your price range, don't be unpleasant trying to bargain too much , just find yourself some different accommodation and everybody will be happy-as!;-)

Overall we would like to highly recommend the Resort as well as the Dive Shop: great location, great set-up, great staff, great standards ... great fun! ;-)

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Nicnac78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

I stayed with this bunch back in March on two different occasions, then again in July, and i will be visiting again. The resort is great, the pool is beautiful, the bungalows are good value, especially if you are diving with their dive centre located right on the beach. This is in my opinion the best part of my trip through Asia, whilst diving with Seashell after 2 days i felt part of the family thier, very friendly people you are invited to drop in each afternoon for a cold beer and a chat. Never wanted to leave this place! I recommend this resort if you are looking for a lasting memorable experience not just because its the best room in thailand, because of the lasting good memories i had in this place, and the real friends i made here. Cannot wait to come back soon!!

P.S Awesome residnt dogs miss you "Mummy" and "Moody"

Room Tip: If you fun dive with the Seashell divers you will get an additional discount during your stay. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trystan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My husband and I and our two children stayed at Sea Shell resort for 3 weeks. We had a wonderful holiday. We loved the location and really enjoyed swimming in the pool everyday. The staff were really nice and great with our kids. Everything was clean and we liked the fact it was right on the beach. It was great being able to get massages at the resort and we ate in the beach side restaurant every night. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 50 in Koh Tao
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#30 of 50 in Koh Tao
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
0.8 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashell Resort Koh Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashell Resort Koh Tao

Address: 9/1 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range: $38 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seashell Resort Koh Tao 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashell Resort Koh Tao is centrally located in the popular resort area, within easy walk to markets, shops,beach bar, restaurants and Sairee famous beach.The resort is styled around a garden landscaped and swimming pool, with PADI dive center and a spa area. An additional bar and modern restaurant is located on the beach serve Thai Food ,European Food and Seafood ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Seashell Resort Koh Tao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Shell Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing