We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (531)
Filter reviews
531 results
Traveler rating
69
132
137
99
94
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
132
137
99
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach sideaccommodationislandnightlifecourses
Filter
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 531 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed there so often and never really took the time to give it a rating on this site ... so, here it comes!;-)

My boyfriend (Mark) and me we are both working and living on the very nearby island Koh Nangyuan. Each time we come over to the "big rock" (Koh Tao) we check into Seashell Resort, our 2nd home by now... we love the atmosphere over there, the staff is very friendly and the bungalows (we tried different price ranges) are always clean and comfy. The whole resort looks very fancy, located in a beautiful garden setting and the luxury pool area is great to just relax or watching the divers doing their confined sessions. Both of us are dive instructors as well, and worked for Seashell Divers for years and loved it!!

It upsets a bit to read some of these bad reviews the resort got, especially when it comes to the staff ... our own experience as a resort customer is the complete opposite!
During our time working there we did notice though, that a lot of customers approach the resort reception and restaurant staff really rude, so "what comes around goes around", i guess ... we never saw the staff being unfriendly unless the customers were absolutely rude! It is NOT the cheapest Backpacker place you can find on Koh Tao, so our advice is that if it's not your price range, don't be unpleasant trying to bargain too much , just find yourself some different accommodation and everybody will be happy-as!;-)

Overall we would like to highly recommend the Resort as well as the Dive Shop: great location, great set-up, great staff, great standards ... great fun! ;-)

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Nicnac78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

I stayed with this bunch back in March on two different occasions, then again in July, and i will be visiting again. The resort is great, the pool is beautiful, the bungalows are good value, especially if you are diving with their dive centre located right on the beach. This is in my opinion the best part of my trip through Asia, whilst diving with Seashell after 2 days i felt part of the family thier, very friendly people you are invited to drop in each afternoon for a cold beer and a chat. Never wanted to leave this place! I recommend this resort if you are looking for a lasting memorable experience not just because its the best room in thailand, because of the lasting good memories i had in this place, and the real friends i made here. Cannot wait to come back soon!!

P.S Awesome residnt dogs miss you "Mummy" and "Moody"

Room Tip: If you fun dive with the Seashell divers you will get an additional discount during your stay. If you sign up for a PADI diving course you will get accomodation for free during the length of your course.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trystan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My husband and I and our two children stayed at Sea Shell resort for 3 weeks. We had a wonderful holiday. We loved the location and really enjoyed swimming in the pool everyday. The staff were really nice and great with our kids. Everything was clean and we liked the fact it was right on the beach. It was great being able to get massages at the resort and we ate in the beach side restaurant every night. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I and our two children stayed at Sea Shell resort for 3 weeks. We had a wonderful holiday. We loved the location and really enjoyed swimming in the pool everyday. The staff were really nice and great with our kids. Everything was clean and we liked the fact it was right on the beach. It was great being able to get massages at the resort and we ate in the beach side restaurant every night. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We walked in from the beach and were shown to a nice room for a reasonable price so were surprised when we later saw the reviews.

The room was big, had TV and good AC. The bathrooms could do with a refresh as they were a bit tired but clean and no suspicious smells.

The pool was nice and there were plenty of loungers, maybe the water was a bit grubby, probably because of the diving lession that were happening there.

Great dive school, really professional.

Restaurant was good.

One issue we had was the free wifi only works in the Lobby, would be better if it worked in the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cattykit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews