We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seashell - our 2nd home;-)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in Koh Tao
Koh Tao
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seashell - our 2nd home;-)”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed there so often and never really took the time to give it a rating on this site ... so, here it comes!;-)

My boyfriend (Mark) and me we are both working and living on the very nearby island Koh Nangyuan. Each time we come over to the "big rock" (Koh Tao) we check into Seashell Resort, our 2nd home by now... we love the atmosphere over there, the staff is very friendly and the bungalows (we tried different price ranges) are always clean and comfy. The whole resort looks very fancy, located in a beautiful garden setting and the luxury pool area is great to just relax or watching the divers doing their confined sessions. Both of us are dive instructors as well, and worked for Seashell Divers for years and loved it!!

It upsets a bit to read some of these bad reviews the resort got, especially when it comes to the staff ... our own experience as a resort customer is the complete opposite!
During our time working there we did notice though, that a lot of customers approach the resort reception and restaurant staff really rude, so "what comes around goes around", i guess ... we never saw the staff being unfriendly unless the customers were absolutely rude! It is NOT the cheapest Backpacker place you can find on Koh Tao, so our advice is that if it's not your price range, don't be unpleasant trying to bargain too much , just find yourself some different accommodation and everybody will be happy-as!;-)

Overall we would like to highly recommend the Resort as well as the Dive Shop: great location, great set-up, great staff, great standards ... great fun! ;-)

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicnac78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    119
    125
    95
    82
See reviews for
65
169
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2011

I stayed with this bunch back in March on two different occasions, then again in July, and i will be visiting again. The resort is great, the pool is beautiful, the bungalows are good value, especially if you are diving with their dive centre located right on the beach. This is in my opinion the best part of my trip through Asia, whilst diving with Seashell after 2 days i felt part of the family thier, very friendly people you are invited to drop in each afternoon for a cold beer and a chat. Never wanted to leave this place! I recommend this resort if you are looking for a lasting memorable experience not just because its the best room in thailand, because of the lasting good memories i had in this place, and the real friends i made here. Cannot wait to come back soon!!

P.S Awesome residnt dogs miss you "Mummy" and "Moody"

Room Tip: If you fun dive with the Seashell divers you will get an additional discount during your stay. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trystan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My husband and I and our two children stayed at Sea Shell resort for 3 weeks. We had a wonderful holiday. We loved the location and really enjoyed swimming in the pool everyday. The staff were really nice and great with our kids. Everything was clean and we liked the fact it was right on the beach. It was great being able to get massages at the resort and we ate in the beach side restaurant every night. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I and our two children stayed at Sea Shell resort for 3 weeks. We had a wonderful holiday. We loved the location and really enjoyed swimming in the pool everyday. The staff were really nice and great with our kids. Everything was clean and we liked the fact it was right on the beach. It was great being able to get massages at the resort and we ate in the beach side restaurant every night. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We walked in from the beach and were shown to a nice room for a reasonable price so were surprised when we later saw the reviews.

The room was big, had TV and good AC. The bathrooms could do with a refresh as they were a bit tired but clean and no suspicious smells.

The pool was nice and there were plenty of loungers, maybe the water was a bit grubby, probably because of the diving lession that were happening there.

Great dive school, really professional.

Restaurant was good.

One issue we had was the free wifi only works in the Lobby, would be better if it worked in the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cattykit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I absolutely cannot understand why this lovely resort is placed on last position for hotels in Koh Tao!
As for Sairee Beach this is probably the best accommodation, considering location, quality, facilities and price.
We like it so much we extended our stay 3 times!

This isn't backpacker pocket friendly resort but it's not too expensive either. We stayed in a Poolside Villa (booked through booking.com) at around 48 euro a night. Of course you can find cheaper places, but we were looking for something nice...

Location Location Location! - I don't think you could get any better! It's just in the middle of all things happening and yet incredibly quiet for a good night sleep. It's almost on the beach (there are no beach hotels in Sairee, as there is hardly any beach at all - very narrow strip), you can see beach and sea from the swimming pool, it's literally few steps away. We thought of Sea Shell as oasis of peace and beauty, but if you don't like parties, loud music and young people having fun you may want to avoid Sairee Beach all together. We loved it.

The hotel grounds are very pretty - palm trees and green shrubs with flowers all over the place. One of the nicest and biggest swimming pools on Sairee (you can actually swim in it, not just take a plunge) - great area to chill out with your book after early morning dives. There is also a jacuzzi beside swimming pool and Spa. All beds have umbrellas so you can put them up if looking for some shade.

The Spa is more of a massage place than a standard European Spa but it's really nice with great staff and well priced - same as street spas. We used it quite few times - the girls were lovely and very caring, doing a Thai massage they would still attend to any burns or wounds or mosquito bites you may have. Be aware - Thai massage is only for those who like pain of being stretched and a strong massage - my hubby wasn't too happy when I booked him one and choose to have oil and aloe vera massages after that, on the other hand I really enjoyed it!

Our room was rather small for Thai standards but it didn't really matter as we weren't spending much time there at all. The bathroom was nice, no mosquitoes, hot water and strong shower pressure. We lost hot water for a day but once informed reception of the problem it was fixed immediately. The villas aren't very private, as each have 2 rooms and (locked) interconnecting doors between them, you also share a terrace. In our case this wasn't any problem as we visited Koh tao in low season and had somebody staying in next room only for 2, maybe 3 nights. The bathrooms are wet rooms – when you take shower don’t leave anything on the floor as it will get wet, the bathroom floor tends to flood. (This isn’t a problem or anything unusual – the rooms are raised higher so water won’t get into your bedroom). The rooms had AC and fan, so you could choose to use both or AC or fan only. The negatives - no safes in the rooms (but you can use safes at the reception) and our room (406) didn't have a wardrobe. Not big issues really.

The breakfast isn't great, but it's not too bad either. I actually enjoyed fresh fruit and yoghurt, besides there are many places to grab a bite around!

We really enjoyed our stay in Seashell and would come back, but everyone looks for something different, therefore I strongly suggest not to book any accommodation for duration of all your stay specially in low season, get yourself something for first night (Seashell!) and then walk, have a look around other hotels, resorts, huts and get what you really like and where you like it! And compare prices with online booking websites - we saved 10 euro a night going with booking.com

Room Tip: just ask staff to show you rooms, they all tend to be slightly different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed at Seashells as part of our tour group and got upgraded from the mutli-storeyed block of rooms to a bungalow near the pool. These are actually duplex rooms with a shared deck and a thin door seperating them. I think we were very lucky with our room as we had comfortable beds, a great bathroom, and noone in the room next door.

Others in our group, however, had beds that were so hard they couldn't sleep; no working hot water; and one bathroom was arranged so that the shower hit the toilet & if you sat on the toilet then the door whacked you hard on the knees if you someone tried to open it from the room.

I will say this for it though - at least you could put a sign on your door saying you wanted your room serviced. We stayed at one place in Koh Pha Ngan that didn't and in the tropical heat you really want that toilet bucket emptied each day!

The pool was nice but was taken up at one end by divers who were using that instead of the dive pool. There was stagnant water as a 'landscaping feature' by the pool that was covered in mosquito larvae. One of our friends sat by the pool for ten minutes in the evening and her back was covered in mosquito bites - very uncomfortable.

There is wifi available in some rooms if you pay for it. There is free wifi in the Common Room/Reception area which is comfortable to sit in.

Breakfast was not included but we found the best place to go was Heaven Bakery/Cafe which is only a few minutes away and opens shortly after 7am.

The beach is okay but there are lots of boats parked on the beach/5-10m out so this was definitely not the best beach I visited on my travels.

There are lots of shops and places to eat/drink near the resort but it seems aimed at the drunken young 20s crowd. The only people that we saw (apart from behind a shop counter) were young white tourists and most places offer extended Happy Hour bargains plus frozen cocktail buckets late into the night. There is no real sense here of being in Thailand and there are certainly no street kitchens and no options to 'eat where the locals eat'.

I'm sure in high season it's a great place to come and party if you're young but it's far from a 'genuine' experience of Thailand.

Room Tip: Check the room first to see if the beds are comfortable and the bathroom has a logical layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NixieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
0.1 mi away
Thalassa Hotel
Thalassa Hotel
#7 of 49 in Koh Tao
505 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koh Tao Simple Life Resort
0.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach
Silver Sands Beach
#33 of 49 in Koh Tao
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Koh Tao Coral Grand Resort
0.8 mi away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#10 of 49 in Koh Tao
1,224 reviews
0.8 mi away
Koh Tao Montra Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seashell Resort Koh Tao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashell Resort Koh Tao

Property: Seashell Resort Koh Tao
Address: 9/1 Sairee Beach, Koh Tao 84360, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Koh Tao
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Koh Tao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seashell Resort Koh Tao 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashell Resort Koh Tao is centrally located in the popular resort area, within easy walk to markets, shops,beach bar, restaurants and Sairee famous beach.The resort is styled around a garden landscaped and swimming pool, with PADI dive center and a spa area. An additional bar and modern restaurant is located on the beach serve Thai Food ,European Food and Seafood ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seashell Resort Koh Tao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Shell Hotel Koh Phangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing