We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - surprisingly good value too”
Review of FIZZ beachlounge

FIZZ beachlounge
Ranked #14 of 191 Restaurants in Koh Tao
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $19
Cuisines: Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Located right on Sairee beach, We have restaurant seating as well as beanbags on the wooden decking and more relaxed beanbags on the sand.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent - surprisingly good value too”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We expected Fizz to be more expensive than the other "same same" type places around the island but were impressed that cocktails were 160b and Chang 60b (plus take 20b off each during happy hour 4-7pm!).

The music and location is awesome. Absolute bliss sitting on a bean bag with a cold beer watching the sun go down.

The food we tried is also surprisingly good. The pork schnitzel burger tasted like it had been battered freshly and was hard to beat at only 180b

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjswlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    698
    405
    90
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best place for sunset cocktails on Koh Tao”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Loved the atmosphere here. We came every evening around sunset for our sunset cocktails. These are some the best cocktails I ever had. The location is perfect, the staff are nice and quick service, the cocktails are excellent and the view at sunset it to die for. Nice lounge music in the background also. I also liked that there were no fire dancers right in the front of this bar, whilst they're fun and impressive to watch, it's nice to have a break. We ate there once and the food was also nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Sand in your toes, candles on the beach kinda place.”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This place has a killer sunset/night time atmosphere. This bar is RIGHT on the beach, their beanbags are on the sand, everything is lit up with candles...tables...sand you name it. The drinks were pretty good - I had the margarita. The food was okay, the steamed fish with lemongrass and chili was yummy, the prawn and avocado salad...bland bland bland. Go for the atmosphere, though!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashley z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere. Great place to sip a cocktail.”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Relaxed atmosphere. Great prices (85b for Pad Thai & 160b for a cocktail), comfy beanbags & chilled out music. Service attentive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank khedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ick”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Ick, ick, ick. After we sat down, we noticed two female employees sitting at a table in the middle of the restaurant - one was behind the other, and was using tweezers to repeatedly pick something (grey hairs? Lice? Who knows) out of the back of the other's hair. In the middle of the restaurant! Then, they went right back and started cooking in the kitchen. Go someplace else with better hygiene.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay G, Manager at FIZZ beachlounge, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
I am extremely disappointed by this, and I sincerely apologise. I can assure you that we take hygiene seriously, we use colour coded chopping boards in the kitchen. Cross contamination and clean hands are something that we take very seriously. Hand soap/ sanitizer is installed beside the sink in the kitchen.
This matter will be raised with the staff when I return from my holiday.
My apologies again.
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FIZZ beachlounge also viewed

Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
Koh Tao, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to FIZZ beachlounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing